We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Creek

Hippo Creek
Hillary's Boat Harbour, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia, Australia
9447 2388
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Scarborough
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Poor Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our first time at this resturant and we wanted an earliyish dinner. We walked in and was greeted rudely by a waiter and bluntly said "we're not open" we booked a table and was served by the same waiter who clearly didn't want to be there. We ordered the game platter which had croc, venison, ostrich and another meat which I can't remember. It was delicious and was plenty between 3 of us. For a main I ordered the Chicken in peanut sauce with mash potato that too was amazing! My mum ordered the ribs but she found them pretty fatty so she wasn't too keen. It started to rain (we were sat outside) and the staff did very little to see to the customers outside. Spent about 10 minutes deciding what to do then decided to bring out one umbrella for the whole area. In the end we decided to pay our bill and enjoy a dessert elsewhere. The food was great it was just a shame about the service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joondalup, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Son in law's treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Atmosphere and service. Potions large so do not have a starter. If you do - try the stuffed mushrooms! had to share with other table guests.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great meat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

fantastic Mon to Thurs lunchtime special....delicious small burger, excellent chips and a beer for $10...superb value

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've been here twice with friends & family. Their food is always absolutely spot on, always delicious! The staff are very friendly and helpful, excellent service, the resaurant itself has a nice atmosphere & very lovely clean restrooms!

It can be a little pricey, but the for the quality of food you get it's worth every penny, you wont be disappointed! :)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“A really great meal at Hippo Creek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Hippo Creek is a very nice place for dinner.

I had duck as an entree and it was just wonderful. My main course of fillet steak was just perfectly cooked.

Service and atmosphere were fantastic and my server was attentive and good humoured.
It's a bit pricey but I had a really nice evening and wouldn't hesitate to eat here again if I was keen on a hearty, meaty meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Creek also viewed

 
Scarborough, Stirling
Scarborough, Stirling
 

Been to Hippo Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.