We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap room, not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Observation Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scarborough Observation Resort to your Saves list
Scarborough Observation Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cheap room, not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

If you're not fussy, then this will do. These are budget rooms with COMMUNAL BATHROOMS.

You'll get a Queen bed, reverse cycle air-conditioning, flat-screen TV and mini-fridge.

There's no phone in the room. Wireless internet is available for a fee.

The beach is just across the street, around 80 meters walk. There are nearby supermarket and fast food. City bus stop is near Rendezvouz Hotel.

We booked directly online via their website. You'll have to check-in through their sister hotel: Sun Moon which is at the main road.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second floor and far from the common bathrooms/toilets, less traffic, less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, General Manager at Scarborough Observation Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Many thanks for taking time to review the motel following your recent stay with us. The Motel has 4 separate categories of accommodation and the budget bedrooms are by far the most economical option.

We appreciate your candid feedback, these rooms are not for everyone and so research pre arrival is important, think back packers hostel style bedrooms and you are on the right track, that said the fresh crisp bed linens, fluffy towels, proximity to the world renowned beach' and the village, reverse cycle AC etc. all help for a comfortable stay. The budget bedrooms only have communal WC's, showers and wash basins, again not to everyone's taste and so we absolutely encourage readers to do their research before booking these rooms.

The next category up from budget bedrooms, we call them motel bedrooms and these are furnished with in-room safes, AC, Plasma TV, private bathrooms, complimentary car space, mini fridge stocked with chargeable goodies, desk, wardrobe, ironing board etc.. The motel rooms are very popular for driving holidays or indeed an economical option for companies on lower accommodation budgets.

We look forward to seeing you soon back in beautiful WA.

Best Wishes
Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    17
    20
    17
See reviews for
18
19
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

this is no resort, think more grubby $50, 70's motel room with a $130 a night Perth surcharge habit and you getting more the picture, sure I have stayed in worse but not for more than $20 a night. Good location close to the beach but a bit more than the 80 meters quoted on the website.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Front Office Manager at Scarborough Observation Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear lowflyer2232,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy staying in our motel rooms. For the benefit of other readers it would be worth reiterating that the motel rooms are two star in nature, and whilst basic offer great value for money and an excellent location, beneficial also for those who are on a budget!

We do appreciate your feedback and take this all on board, and although this is not the style of accommodation you would normally opt for; we hope that you might try one of the rooms at our sister properties on a future stay.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and best wishes.

Romina
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in 2bedroom apartment that was a bit dated..but after reading previous reviews I thought this place was going to be terrible. But it wasn't that bad. Certainly not a resort and it's a bit confusing checking in as you have to check in at the Sunmoon and then drive a block over to the apartments. Also The pic above is one of the villa not the apartments. Yes they were old but big enough,had air con, clean linen, mini bar, comfy beds, nice shower if you turned it on the right way...that's all we needed. Bit noisy traffic wise and would have been good to have the towels changed over (we stayed for a week) but that's about it. If your expecting a lavish place don't stay there..but for a family that basically slept and ate there it was fine. Would get a lot more for your money per night say on the Gold Coast but it is Scarborough and the location was great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Scarborough Observation Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Reviewer

We are very grateful for your feedback following your recent stay at the Scarborough resort – budget apartments, delighted that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay here with us.

We look forward to the pleasure of your company again soon, please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance with future bookings.

Yours sincerely
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment...
Disappointed with presentation of building - rust stained walls, dirty linen trolleys at entrance, an empty pool... definately not what was advertised.
Inside was comfortable enough, also the kitchen did not match the photos, it is very small and dated, as is the bathroom.
On the upside, it's just across the road from the beach. Downside - very busy, noisy road.
Good for a group of friends, not ideal for a family.

Room Tip: The villas are more nicely presented than the apartments, or it might be worth spending that extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Scarborough Observation Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Ally

We are very grateful that you have taken time to review us on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to learn that you did not enjoy staying in the apartments. For the benefit of other readers it would be worth reiterating that the apartments are two star in nature, and whilst basic offer great value for money and an excellent location so beneficial also for families or for friends who are on a budget!

We do appreciate your feedback and feel it is worth letting you know that improvements are on the horizon for this particular block of accommodation in 2014. These include replacement of railings, fresh interior painting and the painting of the exterior. We have no plans at this stage to re-install the swimming pool but equally we feel we do not advertise this as a facility available for guests to use?

Once again thank you for your feedback, should you be returning please do not hesitate to ask for me and I will be delighted to assist with your reservations needs either here or at our 3 & 4 Star properties.

Yours sincerely
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

the double room was a horrible little box, flimsy walls so you have to listen to everything that happens around you. Scarborough although nice beach is full of kids and the location of the place is right on the highway so it's not convenient. you can get much better and cheaper down the beach at Cottesloe Ocean back packers

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

walls paper thin,could hear every conversation had between adjoining rooms. The doors are really squeaky and need to be slammed to close. Woken up on Saturday and Sunday morning at 6am due to these factors. Do not stay in this place if u want to sleep!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here in early October 2013, Villa 9 in Scarborough Observation Resort. I was initially worried after reading all the bad reviews online, however I quickly discovered most of the poor reviews are for the budget accommodation which is in a rusted, run-down property across the road.

The 2-bedroom villa we stayed in was well maintained, had plenty of room, and wasn't overly pricey when shared amongst four people. Location was reasonable, as we were a short walk from the beach and some places to eat. The reception staff at SunMoon Resort (where you check-in) around the corner were helpful and friendly as we frequently asked them to order us taxi's. The only real downside was the amount of road noise we could hear as villa 9 was closest to the West Coast highway, so maybe one of the other Villa's wouldn't be as noisy.

I would recommend staying there, perfect for 2 couples or a couple with a small family.

Room Tip: Avoid the budget accommodation. If getting a villa, try one of the lower numbered ones to get away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Scarborough Observation Resort, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Mick

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Motel following your stay. We are very grateful for your feedback which is both balanced and welcomed.

I am sorry that you experienced issues with regards to noise although overall I am pleased to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us and found the villas to be clean, comfortable and to offer great value for money. These Villas are especially popular with families who are on the north/south driving tours and vice versa and act as a great location for all those must see tourist hotspots along the Sunset Coast.

Thank you for your kind feedback about our reception team. It is of course correct that check in and check out for this motel is located at the adjacent sister property.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409

Michael
Arcadia Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarborough Observation Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Observation Resort

Address: 200 West Coast Hwy, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Scarborough Observation Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld and Travelocity so you can book your Scarborough Observation Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Observation Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Observation Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.