We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quite expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth to your Saves list
Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth
196 The Esplanade | Scarborough Beach, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Contact B&B - best price
Ranked #1 of 2 Scarborough B&B and Inns
sparklykendall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location, quite expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2008

When we arrived, we were really impressed by the location -literally right on the beach which was fab. We were slightly bemused by the fact that we didn't get to meet any staff, just our key selotaped to the door, which was a bit odd. It had quite extensive notes with the key so I presume this was quite normal. Our room was not massive (we went for the ocean room to get the balcony), but had a lovely four poster bed but then realised that are sea view was partial (a bit of the house is actually in the way) and the balcony is shared with the next door room. Bearing in mind that there was only one table with two chairs (and the balcony was only big enough for that) we felt really disappointed and a bit mislead by their website as we had paid extra for it. The first night we did get to use it (which meant our neighbours didn;t) but unfortunately for us (and the B&B owners) we had a very unusual couple their the second night who decided to sit out there with just towels on and smoking, ensuring that we were trapped in our room.

On the plus side, the bathroom was nice and the pool downstairs is lovely. Breakfast was ok, nothing massive or amazing. Again with other experiences of other hotels in Australia we realised this had been very expensive in comparison but we presumed we were paying for location.
There are some lovely restaurants just 5 mins walk away, but this is at least 15/20 min drive out of the city with no traffic.

  • Liked — the location, the bed
  • Disliked — no sight of owners or staff, size of room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet-Perth, Manager at Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth, responded to this review, April 20, 2008
Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately this guest didn't arrive at the time she promised, causing an envelope to be left out.
An ocean view room for $189 including gourmet cooked breakfast (see inclusions below) is the best deal along this coast. Perhaps if they'd turned up at breakfast time they would have seen how big it was.
The ocean room is 8.5 metres x 3 metres - very generous by B&B standards, so "size of room" is big.
The balcony with ocean views is also large and has extra chairs right there (if she had only looked). Sorry that we can't hand-pick fellow guests to your liking.
As for breakfast, other reviews show the truth - premium bacon, free range eggs, Margaret River yoghurt, fresh baked bread, fresh fruit salad, pure juices, Margaret River muesli, 6 cereals etc.
This alone is worth $50 a couple, so to suggest it's expensive for what's effectively $139 a night in a spacious room with an ocean view and four poster bed just isn't true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    26
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
168
25
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Beach Manor's comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Friendly, helpful and generous hosts made our first visit to Perth very special. We will certainly be recommending this B & B to family and friends and hope to return in the not too distant future.

Our sincere thanks and best wishes to Erin, Rick, Jan and Staff.

PS - Great breakfasts!

  • Liked — Friendly, relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to dislike
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2008

We loved our stay at Beach manor. From the moment we arrived we felt at home. The beautiful, tropical pool area with sun beds to relax on was perfect! We were able to relax by the pool and then head to beautiful Scarborough beach just across the road! Perfect location.

Our room was lovely with a comfy bed and ocean view balcony! We were able to relax on the balcony or by the pool or watch a dvd in our room or in the large screen tv in the guest area.

Breakfast was soo yummy! Each day we loved the Margaret River yoghurt and muesli with fresh fruit salad, topped off with homemade bacon, eggs and tomato!

Our hosts were so welcoming and helpful. We not only enjoyed chatting to them but also the other lovely guests staying there too. We loved the fact that it wasn't a big resort as the pool was never overcrowded and it was a lot more relaxing. We will definitely return and recommend to all our friends. We had the best time. Thanks so much Rick and Erin!

Chelsea Dietrich and Chris Ross
Melbourne, Australia

  • Liked — The relaxing pool area and proximity to the beach.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chips_8
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2008

Our three day stay was first class, the rooms were excellent, comfortable, clean and homely. The pool was superb a super retreat when the beach was to hot. This accomadation is a must if you are looking for e relaxing holiday.

Pat & Dot Bellew (England)

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

Beach Manor is a magnificent little bnb right across from the beach in Scarborough! The decor and character of the place is second to none. This is warmly supported by fantastic owner Erin and her friendly staff. The rooms are just beautiful, we stayed in the bella vista room, unique with its own michaelangelo print on the rooftop, got to be seen to be believed!

The atmosphere at beach manor is very relaxed, calm and friendly. I highly recommend this place to anyone wanting this type of stay while in Perth. Great restaurants and the awesome brighton beach are just footseps away. Perth has it all, so does Beach Manor.
We will be back, sooner rather than later I hope.

  • Liked — location and rooms
  • Disliked — no beach view in our room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Just returned from a 3 week trip around Australia and our Perth accomodation for 6 nights was Beach Manor.

The rooms (we stayed in) are clean and very good sizes with shower/toilet facilities and TV + DVD player. The pool area is great too.

The hosts are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful and we appricated them allowing us to arrive at 4am!!.

The beach (and BBQ area) is just 1 minute away with restaurants, cafes and shops just 2-3 minutes walk away. Transport to Perth or Hilary’s Boat Yard is frequent and reliable.

We would recommend this place to everyone staying in/near Scarborough Beach.

  • Liked — Location, Views, Pool Area, Breakfasts!!
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2007

We stayed at the Beach Manor B&B for two nights in November. We wished we were staying longer!
Not normally frequenters of B&B's we were delighted at the easy going experience provided by the hosts.
Breakfast was a gourmet treat every morning with no request too difficult.
Our late arrival at 11pm also caused no problems and the Beach room we stayed in had a private terrace overlooking the ocean.
The decor of the entire place was magnificent.
On our departure Erin & Rick provided us with great tips for our trip down to the Margaret River region which came in very handy.
This will be our first port of call for future trips to Perth.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth

Address: 196 The Esplanade | Scarborough Beach, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closest accommodation to the beach in Perth with free wifi, just 12km from Perth city on Perth's best beach. Beautiful rooms with four poster beds include the Ocean room and the romantic Seaview French Boudoir with ocean views. The big Indian Ocean suite is a special experience with panoramic ocean views. Cooked breakfast included overlooking Perth's most beautiful beach. Resort-style pool with thatched Bali daybeds, just a short stroll to beach cafes and shops. The solar-heated pool has invigorating potassium and magnesium minerals, the only one on the west coast. Rediscover yourself at Beach Manor B and B, Perth's boutique bed and breakfast including cooked breakfast and better value than anywhere else on Perth's expensive beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Manor Hotel Scarborough
Beach Manor Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Manor Bed and Breakfast Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.