We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eight nights full occupancy - no problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indian Ocean Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Indian Ocean Hotel to your Saves list
Indian Ocean Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   23 Hastings St | Zero8 Nine341 One122, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
new zealand
1 review
“Eight nights full occupancy - no problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

I stayed at the Indian Ocean with a group of 135 people from New Zealand. The hotel provided good location, close to ammenities, friendly and helpful staff ( and tolerant as our group was all ages from kids to adults.) Rooms were clean, restaurant staff were helpful and the bar bands didn't cause too much noise issue. Pool was well utilised, parking was no problem with 21 hired vehicles to park each day. Wireless was expensive ( but thats about the only gripe!) Food was good, with ample portions and staff were agreeable to change timing to suit our schedules. Older style hotel but who cares, cost was acceptable - can't imagine why anyone would complain.... Provided all we needed... Good access to main highways and although on the coast not too far from the city. Scarborough was clean, beach was great with many food outlets etc. West Australia should look at increasing their retail opening hours!

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    40
    45
    14
    27
See reviews for
14
55
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

you cannot see the indian ocean
the room we had booked was to have a pool view it did but unsightly
the pool was unable to use due to the debris at the bottom
the tables and chairs were stacked in a corner broken
the noise from the bar (live music 4 nights a week) was incredible
the noise from the late night revelers was also incredible
although clean towels were left daily there was no cleaning of the room
we never ate a evening meal here but had a good name localy
we did pop in once for a refreshment at night and soon left as our (shoes, no flippies allowed) were stuck to the threadbare carpet that was saturated with alcahol
this place needs refurbished or knocked down and rebuilt

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberly
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2009

Im a Geo with Blina Diamonds in the Kimberley,and work 5 and 1 and travel all over on my time off.Found the Indian Ocean Hotel on Wotif at $95 per night which included breakfast.This was great value,with good service and great Restauraunt and bar. The bar always had something happening and was a great place to meet people,and enjoyed some cracker bands.The Car park has lock up gates and plenty of free parking and wireless internet is available.I will use the Indi as my Perth stopping point.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

My Girl friend and I stayed in a Deluxe Room looking towards Scarborough Beach in the peak of the Perth summer and we had a great time.The hotel is a older style hotel but had all the amenites we needed.Pool Spa great Restauraunt and great Bar with some good live music.Met some cool people down the Bar and its a 400m walk to the beach.Overall great value.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

Only stayed here one night. When i rang and booked it was suggested that we have an renovated spa room 302. I have no complaints about the room as it was adequate. Worth $180? No. The Hotel itself is a dump. It needs to be torn down. Its a relic from the 70's The pool and spa, if you dont mind being ogled at by the people who frequent the pub, by all means use it! On booking the lady who I spoke to told me that we would receive a welcome basket, yep, still waiting for that one. The staff at the front desk clearly need to be given'hospitality' training. Worst place I have ever stayed within Australia or Overseas. Its a disgrace.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

The reason I stayed there was that everything else in Perth was fully booked and had no choice. It is far away from everything else if you need to be in a city it is not a good choice. Room was dirty and staff especially in the pub on the first floor was not helpful or smiling at all. Also saw a corpulent lady in her thirties yelling at two staff at the car park :O
Room was not worth it`s price at all, avoid staying there!!!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oamaru, New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2009

This hotel is without doubt the worst we have ever stayed in. We were bitterly diassapointed at the travel agent (Discover West) who booked us in here. I am in agreement with another reviewer, demolish this beast of a monstrosity!

Do not stay here if you want peace and quiet, comfort and a decor that is restful, as all the above are the worst you could imagine. The hotel rating on the old delapidated sign that sits above the 5th storey says 3 1/2 stars. Even back in the 70s when it was built, that would have been hard to imagine. We had 2 very unpleasant nights here, fortunately it was the only two of our 3 week trip.

The rusty old air conditioner was louder than the jet engine on the plane we arrived on and I am not exaggerating!! The bar below was more than noisey, it was extremely loud. I could go on for ages.....

What a dump! This hotel is an embarresment to West Australia and the tourist industry as a whole.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Indian Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indian Ocean Hotel

Address: 23 Hastings St | Zero8 Nine341 One122, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indian Ocean Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Call us on zero8 nine341 one122 for the best price (quote: 98special when you ring!) Free Wifi. Free secure parking. Free continental breakfast, with delicious hot cooked available. Free Movie Channels. 24/7 Reception. Drinks available 24/7 from Reception. Swimming Pool & Spa. Pool Room. Bar & Bistro.The Indian Ocean Hotel, is a Great little place, a street back from the Waterfront. We believe in form over function & getting good value - And we are one of the best priced hotels in Perth & have excellent services and work hard to keep it clean, tidy and comfortable, to allow guest that stay here, to enjoy there time spent here & make everything as simple and easy as possible.As of the 1/1/14, you can expect a lot more from the Indian Ocean Hotel, as John Grove, Brother of Andrew, will be taking over the overall Management & will move the hotel forward. We have Free WiFi in our Bar, Bistro and in Reception areas, with, recently upgraded free wifi in rooms also. (Password & add free wifi!) Swimming Pool and Spa. Deluxe rooms have better Ocean Views and some self contained rooms. 24 Hour reception and room service, security car parking , Bar and Restaurant and free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Indian Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indian Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indian Ocean Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.