We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money with good views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seashells Scarborough

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Seashells Scarborough to your Saves list
Seashells Scarborough
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   178 The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
darwin
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“excellent value for money with good views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

we were after a 2 bedroom aprtment but got a 3 bedroom for the same price, it was excellent value for money for the 3 of us all from interstate, the views were good as well, as for the construction i didnt hear it at all, conveniently close to shops and the city centre too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    65
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
73
33
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
sunshine, melbourne, vic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights in a superior 2 bedroom apartment and it was perfect, everything you require is in the apartment, staff very friendly, bus stop at the corner, very quiet and peaceful location. The view of the Indian Ocean from the balcony is fabulous, I can only imagine how great it would be when the weather is warmer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

I was unimpressed with my stay. I paid extra for the 2 bedroom superior apartment despite traveling alone. My overriding concern was a full on view of the beach. I went so far as to directly contact the property for my request. On check-in all my reservation request were ignored. On viewing my room I immediately returned to the front desk and ask for a room change which was denied. I would have walked away from the property but for the extremely restrictive cancelation policy "cancellations will incur a $50.00 processing fee, to be deducted from your refund. If less than 21 days notice is given, your deposit will be forfeited". Apartment was furnished fine but building repair was lagging. The lock on my patio was broken and it would have been very easy for someone to break in. During my stay building construction next door started promptly at 7 AM every morning.
Internet service was terribly expensive as well, it's about $25 to start and there are extra changes for any data above 150mb and usage beyond 24 hours.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed here while attending a wedding/reception down the road. We stayed in a comfortable 2 bedroom executive apartment... The one thing that lets this place down is the location. Two doors down from a building under construction... Right across the road from a feral carpark where the local's decide use nearby cars as urinals & a place where they also decide to do burnout's in the middle of the night.

Other than these items, the place isn't too bad... It has all the amenities you would utilise at home (ie stove top, microwave, large fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, inhouse movies & broadband). Even has two toilets!!! Great view of the sunset too...

Apart from a few minor maintenance issues, the place is fairly reasonable.... Though like I said previously, if the apartments were ripped out of the ground and relocated to a different, more beachfront location, I would be more inclined to give Seashells a better review. My advice is to stay Monday to Thursday, in order not to get the local riff raff being a disturbing menace from the beach carpark below.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
575 reviews 575 reviews
294 hotel reviews
Reviews in 226 cities Reviews in 226 cities
2,707 helpful votes 2,707 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

The seashells Apartments are located directly opposite Scarborough Beach on the Sunset Coast, just 15 – 20mins drive from Perth city. Most apartments have balconies and beautiful ocean views.

The Seashell Apartments are actually housed in 3 different apartment blocks; the Sandcastle Apartments / Seashells Apartments and the Collection Apartments.

Our 3 bedroom apartment 0107 was located in the Sandcastle complex which is beautifully located next door to the shopping centre and across the road from the beach.

Apartment: The unit was very spacious with 3 bedrooms, with 2 having double beds. An open plan kitchen / lounge / dining with doors leading outside to a very spacious balcony with ocean views. Our apartment was on the ground floor which was good if you wanted quick access to the outdoor swimming pool. (Excellent for kids).

The kitchen was large and fully equipped for self catering. The main bathroom was again very spacious with separate shower / toilet with laundry facilities. The main bedroom had its own en-suite with shower over a spa bath.

The apartment was adequately furnished with large TV / CD player. The apartment could do with a new face lift as it’s a little worn. It’s basically a 3.5 star however it’s incredibly comfortable with everything you need for a beach holiday.

Overall : We enjoyed having the spacious apartment and its located in a prime position for those who love the beach. There is a small shopping complex next door with Coles supermarket / chemist / newsagent and across the road in the Rendezvous Observation Hotel there is a very good grog shop.

A bus stop can be found outside the shopping centre which takes you into Perth City. A bike hire shop can also be found at the back of ROC Hotel. There is an excellent cycle track that goes for miles along the beach which is a fab way to explore this region with its lovely coastline.

Tip: There is a new development happening next door to the Seashell Apartments, until they are finished I would ask for an apartment in either the Sandcastle or collection apartment complex.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2008

We were a party of 3 adults plus baby so we booked a 2 bed executive apartment with Ocean views through wotif. A cot and highchair were available. We were very happy with the rooms for the (discounted) price we paid and we liked being walking distance from Coles and a dozen or so restaurants etc.

One thing to watch out for is the reception hours (closes at 5pm in winter). Ring them if there is the slightest chance that you will be late and they will put our key/info in the safe at the front of the block and tell you the combination to use.

I suspect each apartment varies (some seem to be privately owned/long-term lets), but ours was repainted beige throughout with dark blue furnishings and white shutters. Everything was clean and in good condition. Not flashy, but perfectly adequate.

Try to avoid the 1st floor if you are a light sleeper (as you will hear the metal doors go up and down on the secure parking). Also, beware of the building work next door - there seems to be a similar-sized block of apartnents going in. We weren't disturbed as we were the other side of the block (and it was v windy), but it might be annoying during the summer.

  • Liked — Ocean view
  • Disliked — Expensive internet tariffs, but no broadband (reception has cables)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM, ENGLAND
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

We had a two bedroomed apartment with 1.5 bath and stayed for 5 days after a week in Perth to relax and soak up the sun. We weren't disappointed. The location is great for surfing and nice and quiet with a few bars and restaurants a short stoll away. There's a large supermarket at the end of the street which is great for self catering (Tip - if you leave your shopping trolley in the parking garage the store collect them back - no need to carry heavy bags, fantastic service from the store and front desk). The apartments are clean and well equipped and the view from the living room, bedroom and balcony is breathtaking. Seeing the sun set over the Indian Ocean every evening will be something I'll never forget :)

  • Liked — Fantastic views
  • Disliked — No wifi - (this was my husbands comment) how did we cope???
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seashells Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seashells Scarborough

Address: 178 The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Seashells Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seashells Scarborough is located on Western Australia’s Sunset Coast, only a short 15 minute drive from Perth city centre, Fremantle, Hillary’s Harbour and Challenge Stadium. Directly overlooking Scarborough Beach, each Seashells apartment enjoys stunning ocean views from individual and spacious balconies. Whether you’re watching yachts sail by, or simply enjoying the surf and beach – it’s the ultimate place to relax as the sun slowly sets over the Indian Ocean. A short stroll away there are plenty of shops to explore, beachfront cafes, restaurants and lively bars. Our apartments have been renovated in 2011 to create even more unspoilt beach views and up market furnishings, fixtures and fittings. Seashells Scarborough is the national winner of the 2003/04 Australian Tourism Awards, in the category Deluxe Accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Seashells Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seashells Scarborough Hotel Scarborough
Seashells Serviced Apartments Hotel Scarborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seashells Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.