We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip-off, dirty and cold water, bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rip-off, dirty and cold water, bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Where to start.

How about the $30 per night charge for a baby cot which turned out to be (a) broken and unsafe for our baby) and (b) 10 years old. I know Perth well and other hotels charge from $5 per night and many provide it free. After repeated requests to take it away, they finally took it away on the last day. After being told it would not be on our room bill, there it was on our room bill on check out.

We also received someone else´s wake-up call at 5:00am in the morning which woke us all (baby included) up.

No hot water on the last day. When it was finally fixed, the shower spat out dirty water.

$10 per day for parking for hotel guests when the adjacent car park was offering $5 per day.

On checkout there were food items included on our bill from the room fridge which we never consumed.

Thankfully phantom charges and cot charges were removed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Chris_78Oz

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. Firstly let me apologize that you did not feel your cot was safe for your child, this is something that we take very seriously and I have asked my housekeeping team to arrange for the immediate replacement of any broken cots as the well-being of our guests (particularly children) is paramount.

It does appear that there were some issues with your account during your stay and I am glad that any incorrect charges were removed at the time of checkout and that this was able to be resolved.

Finally let me apologize for any inconvenience caused with the hot water system being temporarily unavailable on your last day, unfortunately a burst pipe overnight did result in an outage of about 4 hours whilst the team worked to resolve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    543
    306
    154
    121
See reviews for
213
612
80
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Was expecting an ageing 70's hotel with backpackers allegedly manning the front desk and cleanliness issues with the room. Instead I got a newly refurbished hotel with some staff who actually seemed to care about their jobs and the room was clean. I booked the room thru work so I was a little surprised to get a bath tub and two queen sized beds. More pillows and floor space for me. Yay. I even asked for and got a quiet room. The only down side was no tea or coffee making facilities, I had to buy downstairs once the food places opened up.

Only two things that weren't good with the stay
*literally nothing in walking distance open for breakfast until six thirty am and nothing in the hotel until seven. I normally get up at five thirty and we left for work at half past seven. This meant instead of a leisurely stroll and breakfast i got a breakfast shake from coles and rushed take away coffee. Pretty bloody ordinary.
* Construction work at the back of the hotel meant everytime I went into the coffee shop I could hear jack hammers and drills constantly.

Overall better than anticipated but mornings were very disappointing

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear RXH2,

I am so pleased to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations.
The entire Hotel has just been renovated so it is a delight to know that you enjoyed your refurbished room and that our staff catered to your needs. All of our rooms have kettles and tea and coffee amenities which are placed in the television cabinet.

Our restaurant, Straits Cafe opens at 6:30am and so I am not quite sure why this was mis-communicated to you. I apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you, it shall be discussed with the department in question. Our Lobby Bar also offers a “Breakfast on the Go” special from 7:00am, for anyone who is in a rush.
The Esplanade in-front of the Hotel is currently in the final stages of creating a new retail and dining precinct that will also provide more options for guests. The renovations for this area in their final stages and we try to keep the disturbances to a minimum, sometimes this is out of our control.

We have taken all of your feedback into consideration and shall endeavor to improve the all-round experience our customers receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitcham, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Beautiful views from this iconic hotel are just part of the appeal. The staff were very friendly and courteous, we felt special for the whole 5 night stay. Breakfast was one of the best buffets of any experienced with an expansive fruit and cereal selection, stunning array of hot offerings and café style coffee. We were working during our stay and after a day's work were refreshed after relaxing in the lounge or by the pool. Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had our door blown off in a storm. Our replacement offered was a room that hadn't been cleaned. Disgusting!! We had to ask for sheets to change our own bed which had blood spots - on our wedding night!! All we got offered was 1 free nights stay (which isn't free cause we didn't get what we paid for) in check out everyone even the guests knew about "the bride and groom who's door blew off" totally humiliated!! No respect for privacy. Staff rude. Finally got reply and refund after 2 weeks. Our wedding night was ruined.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had a great stay. Room fantastic and service excellent. Quick check-in and no issues at all. Definitely one of my favourite hotels.

Still miss the sausages for breakfast and would really like to see some fried rice dish for breakfast.

Cant wait to see when everything is done on the beach front. Every trip to Perth is a discovery of progress at this amazing hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear BeegMelbourne,

I am delighted to read of your great experience whilst staying with us, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback.

Our renovations are in their final stages, with our beach entrance receiving the finishing touches now. We look forward to having you back with us so that you can see the finished product.

I shall pass on your compliments to the staff, thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANDAMOOKA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a great spot for summer as right on the beach. Unfortunately it rained and was windy so didn't get much beach time.
Stay was ok but linen at the back of hotel different to beach side rooms, which I remember having the softest puffy pillows and a doona that made the bed feel like a cloud. Not sure why I had a wafer thin one on my room but did get brought a blanket when requested.
Try and get a front room when you book. Good service and staff.

Room Tip: Choose beach facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear icemaiden69,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay. I am glad to hear you appreciated the stunning coastal location of the Hotel.

I apologize that the linen in the room was not what you expected. The dressings of the room differ from room type to room type, and the light blanket may have been a summer bed cover, as we are slowly shifting seasons. However this is no excuse for a decline in quality and I shall look into this matter for you, to ensure we are maintaining a high standard in guest experience.

Thank you for your compliments to our staff and their service, I shall pass on your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Best Parts about the hotel:
-Breakfast- we had the continental and everything was fresh and tasty
-Housekeeping, rooms were kept lovely and clean
-Room were lovely and modern

Needs work
-the pool area needs a clean up i.e turning on the waterfall
-The lobby will be great once the construction has finished
-Front office service could have been better, at check in we felt we were bothering the staff by arriving late and later we asked about attractions in the area, the reception person didn't seem to have a clue. However, check out was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear RenayeLovesMike,

It is such a delight to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated your newly refurbished room. I shall pass on your kind words to our Restaurant staff as well as Housekeeping who will be just as happy to hear their efforts have been noticed.

I apologize for any negative experiences you may have had at front desk, and I shall take this up with the department; it is certainly not our intention for guests to feel as though they are a burden to us, quite the contrary.

Our pool area does have a refurbishment planned in the near future but with Summer approaching we are waiting for the colder seasons to set in before we commence with this, so as not to disadvantage our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.