We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, but ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of the best, but ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location, with spectacular views and close to the beach. Well actually it is right on the beach. Anyway, the rooms on most of the top floors have been renovated, well appointed and luxurious. The staff are a little average and easily distracted. The lower floors and associated plaza are run down and mostly a ghost town. The only downside is the distance back into Perth CBD if you need to get there. Oh yeah, they architects decided to renovate and include lots of electrical switches with blue LED lights in them, so at night time your room is lit up like you have been swarmed by lighting bugs. Take a roll of electrical tape with you to cover up the lights and it is a sweet sleep.

Room Tip: Get a west facing room for a great sunset view over the Indian Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    543
    306
    154
    121
See reviews for
213
612
80
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This has to be the most disorganised and over rated hotel in Perth. We had to queue for 30 minutes just to check in, and we were served by impolite and uninterested staff.
Our room was an absolute disgrace! We booked a clubroom, supposedly an upmarket room which offered exclusive club privileges. There were none. The open bathroom was badly designed. My partner and I had to take turns standing outside in the hallway just so we could each use the toilet in private – yes, the WC is on view to the bedroom! - a backpackers hostel offers more privacy than this! The spa bath had broken jets, and the shower is a bath/shower combination. This is a clubroom??!!
We were not able to use the restaurant as they were fully booked, despite the empty tables, so we were forced to order an in-room meal. Unfortunately, there being no table in our ‘upmarket’ club room, we ate our meal crouched over the bed!
Supposedly, breakfast for club room guests is served in the club lounge area. No, we were told to use the main dining area, but at only 8am, the food on offer was running out and what was left was cold. No staff were available to help us.
This is a shocking hotel. We will not be returning and, based on our experience, we will not recommend it to others.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Ms Wh0,
Thank you for your feedback and our apologies that we did not live up to your expectations at all on this visit.

Unfortunately there will be peak times when a number of guests arrive as well as operational issues which will sometimes cause delays when checking in however we are working with our team to look at ways to speed this process up for all.

It is certainly regrettable that the design of our club rooms was not to your liking and that the privacy blind in the bathroom was not sufficient and I will ask my maintenance team to see what can be done in this regard.

In relation to the fact that the restaurant was fully booked at the time you wished to dine I can only offer you my apologies however as with almost all restaurants we do manage our reservations to ensure that we are able to offer the best possible service to our diners.

I am disappointed that you have indicated you are unwilling to consider a return to the hotel, however should you reconsider this decision I would be happy to discuss this with you directly. Please contact me via email on j.philip@rendezvoushotels.com

Thank you again for your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

When booking a room select an ocean view room. It's a must. The views are spectacular.
Although the hotel is going through a refurbishment a lot still needs to be done. Bedroom was renovated but the bathroom still needed work. Big chips and cracks in the bathroom sink are not a good look. No extra pillows in the room.
Check in was very slow and staff seemed indifferent.
The only person who showed any interest in us was the valet parking guy and he couldn't do enough for us.
Good place to stay but definitely overpriced for what you get.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the newly refurbished hotel and found the service absolutely terrible while the room was just okay (air conditioner does rattle and bath is dangerous with no step and taps out of reach). We booked a room with a bath, and when I arrived ahead of my husband was allocated a room without. My husband contacted the hotel and was assured this would be sorted-I waited two hours until he arrived. He was then told by staff they did not know what rooms had baths!! Got this sorted eventually by moving to the room next door. Later that evening we contacted reception to get connection to the internet - they were busy and advised they would rings us back - we are still waiting! Contacted reception next morning to advise the in house movies were not working. They said they would fix it...and they did when I rang 12 hours later and demanded somebody fix it. We were asked by the hotel in their feedback form how we would rate the concierge - we didn't know there was one - this service wasn't offered or sighted and we saw numerous guest carrying their own luggage!!! The downstairs restaurant is overpriced and a big barn We were there for our wedding anniversary and booked ahead requesting a nice table - we were allocated a four seater amongst the hustle and bustle traffic! Drinks were very slow to arrive and the food just average. We filled in the hotel customer feedback form and the hotel manager rang about a week later and offered us an upgrade the next time we stayed there - but we are not going back. He wasn't interested in any of our issues (and we didn't want anything free). We went on the Rendezvous website and filled in the "Talk to the CEO" - the same manager rang me a couple of days later and left a message for me to call him - we didn't bother. Stay elsewhere folks...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location is good, and the makeover has been done well. It's a good hotel of its class - large, efficient, no major issues. The views are certainly excellent. Staff courteous and cheerful.

Scarborough is a bit too far from the CBD for really convenient business access, especially as Scarborough Beach Road carries very heavy traffic at times. Not the hotel's fault, but bear it in mind. I got a very much better price than CBD hotels (which are ridiculous), so I decided to cop it sweet with regard to road travel. Just be prepared, if you make the same decision.

A couple of minor (to me) issues:
Checkin and checkout are indeed cumbersome processes, and some of the front of house staff need to spend less time looking into their computer screens and more looking out at the customers awaiting attention. Use the express checkout envelope they put under your door, is my advice.
A common 4WD won't fit in the hotel carpark (height), and I had to leave it in a nearby service station forecourt. This is not a family sedan, but nor is it a large vehicle by 4WD standards. Bad design, and there should be a better answer.
Room service phone went through to front reception, after a long delay. Got my order OK, but they need a better system of peak load shedding.

Room Tip: I'd go for a view north or south along the coast, not west and straight out to sea. The west-fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Taxidhi,

Thank you so much for your invaluable feedback, I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.

We are very aware of the commute between the Hotel and the CBD, and so we offer a corporate shuttle every morning and late afternoon to drop off and collect our guests. I apologize if you were unaware of this, perhaps it is a service you can utilise in the future.

Our parking lot is a work in progress at the moment and we are aiming at having it finished and better able to service our guests in the near future.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a very good location to a good beach with ocean views. Conveniently located near many cafes and restaurants and not too far from good shopping centres either.
The hotel is currently being refurbished but does not have an adverse noise impact.
Good value for money and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tony J,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and kind words about the Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service met your expectations.

Kind Regards
Justin Philip
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narrogin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Where to start? Over a 45 minute cue to check in only to to be checked into the wrong room and to wait a further 10mins to be corrected, holding up the cue even more. Another 45 minute wait to use the elevator. We were attending an event at the venue, food left much to be desired for...... Dry chicken, over cooked steak (from the person sitting next to me) and hard gelatin balls in the moose for desert. We were not given enough towels and I had to call Room service 3 times (over an extended time frame) in order for me to have a shower.... which by the way had a mind of its own and sprayed from eveywhere but the shower head. I would expect this level of service from a low rate hotel/motel and let me tell you the rate we paid did not reflect on the service we received.

On a positive note, the young lady in the valet parking was sensational. The only smile I saw on a staff member and the only one that seemed to have a clue about what was happening, very apologetic about our wait and even though she was running around trying to assist everyone she still offered to take our bags to our room.

Over all I was appalled. Lucky staff don't rely on tips in Australia.

Room Tip: We had a nice view from level 14.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin P, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Carliel87,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay so that we can work on improving our service.

I am very disappointed to hear that your experience was below the standards we endeavour to uphold for our guests. One of our elevators is being upgraded at the moment and so the other two are bearing the brunt of the traffic. Your wait at the front desk may vary according to how busy it is but we are always trying to improve the efficiency of our team; they do try their hardest.

All of the issues you have raised shall be looked into in the relevant departments, I can assure you.

Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth's central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area's main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Toga Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.