We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week end treat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Perth W.A
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Week end treat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

My Wife & I booked a weekend away to celebrate our 25 wedding anniversary. We used an online booking website ( name with held) offering a pretty good deal that included breakfast.
On arriving at the hotel we parked in the under ground car park just in the closest bay to the lifts. At Reception there was confusion over our room as we thought we had a spa. If we wanted a spa we would have to upgrade. Check your bookings if using a site offering discount accommodation. They do not care which parking bay you use so do not worry about the numbers on them 1st come 1st served. When we got to the room it was pretty good,Great view, Good bed & TV, Nice and clean. For Dinner (tea) we chose a little Italian restaurant on the outside of the hotel. We had a seafood platter for 2 The food was good, a tad dear and a fondness with the chillies. The cooks are Sicilian and the owner Italian, whom we met and had a drink with. Complimentary. with good views of the sun setting over the ocean. Service was good. There are plenty of other dining options there with in easy strolling distance from fish & chips to Brazilian to a Jimmy Deans & a Dome, to name a couple.
Buffet Breakfast next morning, disappointing, though not busy service was slack, dishes left on tables, food selection though fresh was small and topped up irregularly and often not hot. Check out was smooth & fast. Over all not bad. Not 5 star by a long shot.

Room Tip: Shop online for some gooddeals & take a copy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    377
    232
    124
    102
See reviews for
140
423
63
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

When every I go to Perth, the Rendezvous is the first choice on my list. Great service, great location, always quite. Always make me feel like moving to Perth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

The views are spectacular down the coast from the rooms which include a balcony and the rendezvous rooms are quite spacious although the bathrooms are looking a bit tired. The concierge was really helpful and the beach location was fantastic. You will need a hire car as its a fair way out of Perth and to get up and down the coast. Public transport is a bus and train to get to town. Highly recommend the Blue duck restaurant and Indianna tea house at Cottesloe

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We booked a night away as a last hurrah before the birth of our first baby. We booked a club room with access to the club lounge and I am glad we did this.

The room was located on one of the top floors, with an ocean view, so it was very pretty. The room was large and pleasant enough. The club room was good, we enjoyed afternoon tea, pre dinner drinks and breakfast there. I am certainly glad that we avoided the hotel restaurant as it did not have a good atmosphere to it. Actually, the whole exterior, carpark, reception and surrounds did not have a good atmosphere to it. It all seemed outdated and dirty.

So overall, the hotel was what we were after. I probably would have been disappointed if I were a tourist (I am from the area) and didn't know what to expect. I think it doesn't deserve the star rating it has. We still had an enjoyable time though.

One thing I will complain about was the fact it took half an hour to check in as there were not enough staff on! Being 39 weeks pregnant, I did not appreciate this! Also, when we tried to call reception about a couple in the neighbouring room (there was a door joining the two rooms) having a massive domestic fight nobody picked up. My husband had to go down and wait around for somebody to attend to him! That was annoying.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

We stayed for two nights during Easter and it was satisfactory. Most of the other reviews are bang on, it needs updating, etc. However, its in a great location with uninterupted views. We used the gym (very big and modern), sauna and played tennis. For the value its a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

The location of this hotel is fantastic, close to the beach and surrounded by cafes, restaurants, bars and pubs. But I found the room to be mediocre considering the price.

The pool was lovely but got quite busy and had a lot of young and irritating teens hanging around, and was not very relaxing.

I did enjoy the buffet breakfast which was very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We LOVED the Rendezvous in Perth! From the moment we walked through the door into the spacious lobby, we began regretting that we had booked only 6 nights. The people at the front desk were totally accomodating (especially the assistant manager Wayne!) and everything about the place was terrific. I would highly recommend if possible to stay on the top 3 floors, called the Plaza Club. It includes not only a delectable breakfast served over looking the ocean on the 23rd floor, but an incredibly fabulous "happy hour" that was more than enough for dinner. We are definite fans of great food, and found ourselves each day looking forward to the chef's next fabulous creationl! Also included was unlimited wine, beer, and many alcoholic drinks. The service of the totally pleasant waiters and waitresses was as first rate as the food!

The location was spectacular and we could not believe the natural beauty. Our room was wonderful and very comfortable. The bathrooms were marble and really gorgeous. We loved every single moment at the Rendezvous, and did end up extending our stay... Not once but twice. It was worth every penny of the airline change and new booking fees, and we cannot WAIT to return to the Rendezvous. Of all the beach vacations we have taken and loved, this one without question tops the list!

Room Tip: Stay on the top 3 floors!!! Amazing!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough

Address: The Esplanade, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia (Formerly Rendezvous Observation City Hotel)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough 4.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Perth is the essential beachside destination overlooking the sparkling blue Indian Ocean and beautiful Scarborough Beach with fully renovated guest rooms and suites. Only 30 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Perth’s central business district, you have the beach at your doorstep and easy access to the area’s main attractions. Enjoy one of the 336 luxuriously renovated rooms and suites featuring smart design and modern technology. Our first-rate facilities include wining and dining options in the hotel's restaurant and bar, plus quality leisure facilities including a lagoon-style heated pool, fully equipped gymnasium and Vanilla face+body spa. If you are planning an event, Rendezvous Hotel Perth provides tailor-made packages for up to 680 guests in facilities including 26 event spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TravelClick, Booking.com, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Observation City Scarborough
Hotel Rendezvous Observation City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.