We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food.... Great staff..... Good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Vela Restaurant

La Vela Restaurant
78 Scarborough Beach Road | Post Code 6019, Scarborough, Stirling, Western Australia 6019, Australia
0893412362
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Scarborough
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good food.... Great staff..... Good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Having eaten at this restaurant a couple of time I, nor anyone who has dined with me, has ever had a single complaint. The meals have always been delicious and the staff friendly and attentive. I would have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to all of my friends in fact I already have. We will definantley be back. Thanks

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    26
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst service ever and very average food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went here with our children and partners to celebrate a birthday. We were completely ignored! We actually had to ask to order after 45 minutes. The restaurant was busy but not full. There was no excuse for the lack of service. Staff were cool and distant in attitude. The food was ordinary. Gnocchi was recommended. Don't bother. It was like floury glue. No attempts to ask if we enjoyed our food or if anything was needed. Nor were we asked if we'd like coffee or dessert. All together a very unsatisfactory experience. We will not be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Italian ??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This restaurant was so good we visited it two nights running on our short stay in Scarborough, not an Italian in sight and the Proprietor was named Paul Wheadon not Luigi, nor anything within the place looked Italian so don't be expecting a quintessential Italian restaurant. That aside, make sure you book in advance this is a very popular place, expect great food and excellent service, bring a bottle of your favourite wine if you wish, they only charge a small fee for corkage and prepare to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“La Vela exceptional service & fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have been here twice in the last few months. It is a local Italian Restaurant, licensed but you can take your own wine with a small corkage charge.All staff are very friendly and the food is beautifully presented.

Prices are good. Will definitely frequent more often.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our new family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was the perfect venue for a quiet family dinner. The food was delicious and all 8 diners on the table were more than pleased with their main meals. The service was excellent and I think this restaurant will become one of our favourites.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vela Restaurant also viewed

Scarborough, Stirling
 
Scarborough, Stirling
Scarborough, Stirling
 

Been to La Vela Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vela Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.