We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good in the piccies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean View Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean View Motel to your Saves list
Ocean View Motel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 Lawley St, North Beach, Stirling, Western Australia 6020, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Beach
Tasmania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Looks good in the piccies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights during business trip. I should have checked Tripadviser first. Firstly the 'oceanview' is fast dissapearing as a place is built in front. The glass sliding door to the balcony was filthy. Inside it looked ok a first glance but the fridge freezer was iced up, the water in the fridge tasted disgusting and the two little containers of milk were not replaced on my second day. There were bugs crawling across the floor. Bathroom was clean but some of the fittings were chipped and glued back together. My aircondition worked (it was in the high 30's outside) but when checking in one other guest was complaining of her aircon not working and the response was "the maintenance person was not available".

On the upsided, the bed was comfortable and the tv worked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking to time to write this review following your stay at the Ocean View Motel.

We can offer our personal assurance to you that we have improved since your stay. Please accept my apologies should your stay not have gone as well as we would have hoped.

We have invested in fresh painting across all bedrooms, a soft furnishing update, various maintenance initiatives and of course an engaged team since your last visit so I hope that you might consider staying at some stage in the future.

We would welcome the opportunity to look after you again, if you should happen to stay please do contact me, it would be lovely to meet you in person and look after your requirements.

Kind Regards

Michael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
17
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Ocean view motel after we had driven along West Australia. Hotel is ideal for relaxing. Nice sandy beach is just few metres away, sea is safe for swimming and you can see dolphins and sting rays... There is also walkway along the beach with many lookouts where you can watch sea animals, birds and sunsets.
Internet is comparing to other hotels in Australia extremely cheap – 15 AUD/week.
Hotel is a little bit remote from Perth but public transport is easy accessible.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Ocean View Motel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some months after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand and collection of accommodation choices. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409

Michael
Arcadia Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scone, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

The Ocean View Motel is an unpretentious, comfortable, economical motel that is in a fantastic location.

One hundred meters down the road is the West Coast Highway with the gorgeous Sunset Coast. The beaches are small and surrounded by rocks but great for a quick dip or foot paddle to explore. A paved track runs along side the coastal strip between Hillary's and Fremantle for those wishing to venture out by foot or bicycle.

The motel has a choice of rooms to suit the smaller family, couples and those wanting a view or spa bath to relax. We have stayed here several times over the last few years. The rates are reasonable and the location suits our needs. It is our first choice for accommodation whenever we are in Perth. We last stayed here in October, 2011. The rooms look like they have had a renovation since the previous time we were there.

Ocean View Motel is close to beaches, Hillarys Boat Harbour (and thus the ferry to Rottnest Island), major shopping centres (by car) at Karrinyup or Whitfords and a reasonable distance from the city centre (approx 20-30 min).

There is also the option to self cater should you choose a room type with a kitchenette. The kitchen facilities are basic - hence the term kitchenette. Don't expect to be able to cook a roast dinner. If your not inclined to do this or feel like a night out, there is several restaurants within 300m to choose from (head up the hill and turn right). There is a very reasonable Italian restaurant that does takeaway or the highly awarded Clarke's if you feel like something a little more upmarket (make a booking). A short distance down the highway is the Wild Fig Cafe - a fab, scenic place for coffee, breakfast or lunch.

There was some contruction going on next door whilst we were there but this didn't bother us because we were out and about most days. Parking was easy - the choices are the quadrangle outside the rooms, the footpath or there is also a couple of parking spots alongside the motel down a lane way.

This is not a flash motel - the rooms are simple, clean with basic facilities. It is the price of the rooms and the location makes it a place we keep coming back to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Ocean View Motel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some months after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand and collection of accommodation choices. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409

Michael
Arcadia Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We were at the Motel for 10 days - the room was exactly what you'd expect for the price, staff were friendly and facilities were good. The location was good for where we wanted to be, and was quiet at night yet easy to get to places in the day.

Room Tip: 'Ocean view' may be spoilt by nearby building soon, so ask in advance. Balconies vary from s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Ocean View Motel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some months after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand and collection of accommodation choices. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409

Michael
Arcadia Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This is a middle range priced motel. We had an Ocean View room. It was a little cramped but fine for a 6 night stay. It has a microwave oven, toaster, electric jus but no other cooking facilities. All crockery etc is supplied but not a lot of space to prepare anything. The view overlooked a building site next door, no fault of the owners it was just unfortunate. I am not sure if the building beig erected will hinder the view of the Indian Ocean which was divine!!! best to ask the owners about that. OParking was available and we had no trouble at all with that. The owners are friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and adequate and was obviously having renovations done to the bathroom. new tiles in one area. We could dhear the peopl next door on one night talking loudly but that lady waas VERY loud anyway and never had trouble after that even though the place was fully booked out. There are some nice earting places in a back street and you can walk to the supermarket no problems. Across the road is a lovely esplanade that you can walk anytime. Road traffic doesn't seem terribly fierce at all. it is about 1o min drive to Hillary's Boat Hasrbour where you cana get a ferry to Rottnest Island. Parking is a Breeze there and the Aquarium is good value as well.
We loved our time there ans were very sorry to leave. The area has a nice feel to it, relaxed and calm. Just beautiful to visit. We stayed there and drove into Perth, New Norcia, Freemantle and did the Rottnest trip. Easy drives to all palces as it is not far to freeways and Highways. it is a really good quiet spot to base yourself.

Room Tip: Ask about the views now as buiding is happening next door. Ocean views will still be possible form t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Ocean View Motel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some months after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand and collection of accommodation choices. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409

Michael
Arcadia Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We spent an enjoyable 5 days at this motel - our room was large and comfortable with a kitchen. We also appreciated the small balcony to enjoy the ocean view and sunsets.
The location was good with restaurants close by and shops with a supermarket a short walk away. We were able to find available parking for our car at all times.
Will look forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to review the Ocean View Motel following your stay. Whilst I do not propose to offer a reply to your comments some months after you published them, I do wish to express our gratitude for your feedback.

Upon commencement at the Hotel this January 2013, the team and I have set about on a number of new and very exciting initiatives all aimed at ultimately increasing guest satisfaction and loyalty to our brand and collection of accommodation choices. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short stay with us!

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again, and I am delighted to act as your point of contact for any future stay.

Once again thank you very much for your feedback, should you wish to discuss any aspect of our reply please call me on 08 9245 8000 extension 409

Michael
Arcadia Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Its cosy clean and very charming....not 5 star but really is value for money in a great location. We are regulars there and LOVE IT....not if you are looking for 5 star accommodation with the facilities....but we love it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, General Manager at Ocean View Motel, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide this review, we are pleased that you enjoy staying with us and do pop in and say hello on your next stay, it would be nice to put a face to the name! Once again thanks and look forward to meeting you soon.

Yours sincerely
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Motel

Address: 10 Lawley St, North Beach, Stirling, Western Australia 6020, Australia (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Stirling > North Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean View Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Ocean View Hotel North Beach
Comfort Inn North Beach
North Beach Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean View Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.