We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million dollar sea views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Duck

The Blue Duck
Marine Parade, cnr Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia, Australia
61 8 9385 2499
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Cottesloe
Price range: $13 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Perched above the sand dunes of the famous Cottesloe Beach, The Blue Duck is an Iconic restaurant that has uninterrupted, panoramic views over Rottnest Island and the Indian Ocean. This busy restaurant is the heart of the local community and the place to go for those in the know. With its relaxed atmosphere and friendly professional service, it’s the place to catch up with friends over a coffee, watching a glorious sunset over a turquoise ocean or enjoying dinner with a beer or bottle of wine.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Million dollar sea views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Five of us Ladies had a birthday lunch last Friday and we were all very impressed. We had read mixed reviews - however - decided that the venue location right on the beach would be a great place to celebrate. We started with the mixed platter to share and it was divine. Quite adequate as sometimes there is not much to choose from - with plenty of bread for the lovely dips (Beetroot dip was divine). We all opted for the Thai Chicken Curry and we all enjoyed it. It was a lovely afternoon and the service was excellent with ensuring our water and drinks were topped up. Espresso Martinis were lovely too. Thanks for a great afternoon - well be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    39
    17
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Having seen some rather poor reviews, we were a little concerned. But, in the event, had a superb meal on the balcony watching the sunset. Really nothing to complain about!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Low, Low Marks for bad coffee and sweets”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

What a disappointment! Warm milkshake, terrible quality coffee and rotten tasting garnishes for cakes were not what we expected to experience at the Blue Duck or any eateries for that matter. Service was middling, seemingly impatient and indifferent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalbarri, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Caught up with friends here for dinner and we all had lovely food and a great night. I live in the country and for many of us it was our first visit, we all left happy with the food, the staff and the service.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great views and food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Visited the blue duck last night for my mums 65th along with friends we are staying with. We were late for our table booking although as it was Tuesday this wasn't a problem.
Our food was great - fish and chips looked fab, as did the steak. There was only one vege option but it was really good. Dessert was also great although there is lots of mint in the Eton mess!! We had ventured out to the balcony between courses and our waitress sat us out there for dessert so we could hear the waves crashing which was great!
Overall I'm not sure it deserves the bad reviews however we went on a quiet night so maybe we got lucky! If you're in the area then go during the day or late afternoon so you get the outside views!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Duck also viewed

Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 

Been to The Blue Duck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Duck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.