We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barchetta

Barchetta
149 Marine Parade, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
08 9385 2411
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 35 Restaurants in Cottesloe
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The site Barchetta now stands on has been serving refreshments to the locals and tourists for almost 50 years. First as a kiosk where children could get ice creams and beach-goers cold drinks and snacks. It then evolved into the North Cott Cafe and was "the" place for breaky by the beach. It became Barchetta in 2002 and now has a flourishing food, wine and coffee trade lasting from dawn until dusk.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Summery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went on a recent Friday and were offered a table in or out- sat outside with lovely views of the beautiful ocean. The sun was out so it was nice and sheltered from the wind. We has chips, the chicken/mushroom/asparagus pizza and a starter of white anchovies/cherry tomatoes/ crackers and stuffed oysters. Smoothie, a glass of sav blanc and a glass of chandon (barely sparkling) were also consumed. Service very efficient and friendly staff.
The pizza was ok, the mushrooms tasted like they had been marinated, but the taste of garlic lingered for hours. Love white anchovies, but the stuffed oysters were served in a tin identical to one you can buy at woolies, in the very same tin (just the lid was missing). I found this astounding.
Saw what others were having, and bruchetta/ whiting main with salad and fries, were big servings- scallops were 5 for $24.
Overall, a very nice setting and pleasant service; wouldn't recommend the food we had but other meals looked good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    66
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great beachside dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

As people that frequent The Blue Duck next door, we also often come to Barchetta - which, providing we can get a balcony table, is fantastic and beats the neighbours for service (not too difficult..), and also variety in terms of menu content. We find dining inside just too noisy and akin to school or work canteens due to the lack of carpeting on the floor. Scrapes of chair legs and noisy chatter may not bother some but we come to the ocean for a more zen like experience than simply a good and busy place to eat.

Pizzas here are superb with a great range and prices are reasonable for rip-off Perth. The overall menu is varied, the food fresh and the service friendly and prompt. Barchetta has always been the clear preference of my partner for this reason. There are however no heaters outside and the balcony, not being as large as The Blue Duck, has fewer tables so if we can't get one on the balcony, we go venture next door..or give up...!

Barchetta is yet to disappoint - even the loos are not too shabby with a great ocean view! Highly recommended and if you don't mind noise, there is little to fault. The restaurant is right on the beach and not across a road as so many are in Perth and surrounds. The hole left in the wallet is fair not shocking and all in all, this is well worth a visit - or several.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great view but poor breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Beautiful view of the Indian ocean and Cottesloe Beach. Pity the food.
My sausages were over cooked and dry. Bacon was dry and hard.
Pity the cook could not pay more attention to his food. This is how you kill a great restaurant!
Service was good.
Needs a better breakfast cook.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On our way to Margaret river from Perth we stopped by this lovely restaurant which has a great view and feel to it. We stopped here for an hour for brunch around 930 am and it was the highlight of our Aust trip - the food was divine - service excellent and the view from the restaurant was so soothing. Clear skies, blue ocean, people walking their dogs , some kite surfers getting on with their craft, great food on the plate - it was perfect.
If you are a tourist or otherwise and happen to be in the area - please do yourself a favor and book a place here for either b'fast lunch or dinner. I am sure you will not be disappointed.
Only dowside is - its not cheap - brunch items were 20-30 range and I think dinner/lunch mains are 35-45 range - AUD ofcourse. BUt thats australia for you - everything is so expensive

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good view but no substance”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Standing on Marine Parade in Cottesloe on a windy day on the 21/APR/2013 we torn between two resturants. The window of the Barcetta Kitchen was open onto the street and the good smells brought us in. Thats were the enjoyment started and ended.

It was reasonably busy and a couple of large tables were in. One table we so loud that no one could hear anything but them. This is not the resturants fault but the small size didnt really help so we decided to brave the winds on balcony. The view from here of the sea is really nice and enjoyable irrespective of weather conditions.

It took ages to get served and once we ordered our meal which was a bit on the pricy side (trout bruschetta was $30) and my husband had the seafood stew (i cant spell the name they used but will call it what it is) which was approx $35. We usually pay what ever is necessary if the food is off a high standard.

The waitress took ages to take our drinks (similiar to taking our food order) and eventually when the drinks and food arrived the food was well below standard. However, i will say this, the poor service was mainly from the female European waitress and not the australian wait staff (i can say this being European myself).

Eventually the food came out. The stew had a base tomato sauce tasting like it was out of the tin with no flavour and the whole thing smelt like dish water with flavouring no where to be found. I had to ask for a second glass of wine which again took ages to come out.

Next time I am in Cottesloe (frequently) i will be going to the resturant next door. As the title says good view of the ocean, but poor service and poor tasting food which is overpriced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barchetta also viewed

Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
Cottesloe, Greater Perth
 

Been to Barchetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barchetta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.