We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal, good service and fantastic views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ocean Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Beach Hotel
cnr Marine Parade and Eric Street, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cottesloe
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Great Meal, good service and fantastic views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had lunch at the Ocean Beach Hotel , Cottesloe , last Tuesday. Apart from the fantastic uninterrupted views looking towards Rottnest . Lunch consisted of a Steak Sandwich, consisting of Turkish bread wrapped around the perfectly cooked steak with salad and chips. The sandwich did not collapse when picked up. Juicy hey! (like other sandwiches.) The young Bride had the Wagyu Beef Burger which she indicated was great. Plenty of beef, salad and chips. We both agreed that the chips were magic , had a crunchy consistency and tasty flavour. The service was good. Definitely will return. Alan Scott, Kingsley, W. Aust.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    31
    27
    11
    14
See reviews for
8
30
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not much good to say about this facility besides the location. The hotel is located literally steps away from beautiful Cottesloe beach. There are several nice restaurants and small bars nearby. The hotel could be a choice for a short weekend holiday but definitely not meant for business traveler.

OBH has seen its best days long time ago an very little has been done to keep the premises up to date. Chipped paint and worn out surfaces everywhere and furniture you typically see in cheap highway motels. The walls are paper thin so you can hear _everything_ what's happening in your neighbor and on windy days there's a strong draft from the windows.

The Internet connection is a bad joke. You have to pay 20 AUD for 24 hours with limited data transfer only to find out that the wifi connection is so poor that you can't even download your e-mails. When I asked about this from the staff the response was that they take no responsibility of the Internet since the service has been outsourced to an external service provider. Ridiculous! In theory I could have asked for my money back if I had the will and the energy to contact the local service provider and queue for the customer service agent.

Also I'd recommend avoiding the hotel restaurant. The service is slow and truly unprofessional. After placing the order nothing happened for 20 minutes until the same person comes and asks if I'd like to place my order? I saw many customer turning back from the door since they couldn't find a waitress to take their order.

This place needs a serious facelift and new management for both hotel and the restaurant. In current state it doesn't live up to the expectations and completely wastes the potential of its great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

On arguably Perths best beach, this hotel offers a large room, comfortable bed and an enviable location. The building is old, but rooms are big and adequate if you don't intend to stay in your room all day. There is a good pub & restaurant next door as well as shops, laundromat & restaurants nearby. With the beach right across the road, the OBH is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown WA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Good hotel for the price. Huge room, clean, comfy bed, hot shower, quiet, all the things one needs! Bonus of secure parking, the hotel is right on the beach, lovely views, the girls on the desk were lovely and my dinner via room service was well priced and delicious. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

For a beachfront place, the rates are cheap and the rooms big. Might look a little old and dated on the outside, but I really enjoyed my stay. So close to all the action in Cottesloe, and friendly staff.

Room Tip: I had a room on the north side, near the front, level 4. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from lunch and very disappointed with the overall service and food.
We arrived around 1.30pm, only 2 tables taken 4 people total. Seated quickly but then forgotten.
We had to wave the waitress down and call her over to place a drink order. Ages later the drinks arrived the red wine was 1/3 full as per the usual now days in a lot of places but the white wine in a much smaller glass was less than a 1/3 full, I have never seen such a small serving of wine anywhere before. I don't mind paying $8 but I want more than 2 sips. We ordered the food after another extremely long wait. ( we also noticed the couple next to us went to the bar next door and bought their 2nd drink and took it back to their table obviously not willing to wait any longer).
We ordered garlic bread to have with the meal , 1 Barramundi with grilled prawns $34 and 1 Seared Chicken with grillled prawns which both included mash and vege. We waited and waited finally the bread arrived. 1/2 hr later still no food (SHOULD HAVE LEFT).We called the waitress once again, she said she was waiting for us to finish our entree's before she ordered our main meal.Entree's???????????
1/2 hr later our meal arrived watery grey fish and certainly not 250grm as advertised, dry chicken, watery mash frozen vege (hot) on the side and 2 small prawns each. We were starving so ate what we could. Had to flag down another waitress as ours had disappeared into thin air so we could get another drink to wash it down, this thankfully didn't take as long as the previous ones did and the white wine was slightly fuller(maybe 1/3rd).
I love dessert but couldn't handle going through the wait it would obviously have taken so we left.
Never again, no wonder it was empty and it is such a pity as the location is beautiful with ocean views.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I often stay here. The staff are always friendly, the rooms are basic but a good size. They have everything you need and some good views of the beach, which is just across the road. I find this hotel good value for money. Additionally it's across the road from the beach with a range of restaurants nearby

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel

Address: cnr Marine Parade and Eric Street, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.