We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hostel close to the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Beach Backpackers to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Backpackers
1 Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Goreme
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome hostel close to the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is an awesome hostel to stay in whilst in Perth. I've stayed here a couple of times and will definitely be back next time I'm in Perth.

The beach is literally across the road and it is a close walk to the shops in Cottesloe. The staff are very helpful and friendly and it is a great place to meet new people. Rooms and kitchen are kept clean so is definitely value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    11
    7
    8
See reviews for
1
17
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melaka, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My recent holiday in Perth saw me returning to Ocean Beach Backpackers. The first time was three years ago and when I decided to visit Perth again last month, Ocean Beachpackers was the obvious choice. Clean and quiet accommodation, it is good value for money considering that cost of accommodation has gone up significantly since my first visit. The twin room with attached bathroom was spacious compared to another backpackers accommodation in the city. Easy to get around with a bus stop close by and a 15 minute walk to the train station or 5 minutes walk to the neighborhood supermarket. Lots of eateries nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This is by far the best hostel to stay in in Perth. When first arrived here my friend and I spent hours looking at other hostel that were all dirty and overpriced. We were so happy to get a room here, such a lovely place. Rooms were clean and with own fridge & bathroom, internet is not cheap but the cafe next door has free internet which can be picked up in reception and some dorms. Kitchen could be better, but is generally similar to other hostel kitchens, they do a free BBQ on a wednesday and staff are really helpful, especially Alex. It can be noisy on a Sunday night when the bar next door gets busy, but it closes at 10pm, so you are not kept awake too late. I am going to stay here again when visiting Perth and would tell all my friends to come here, after 11 months of travel its the best hostel i've stayed in.

Room Tip: If you can handle the noise of the road, get a room over looking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

At a hostel this place is ok. Its clean and its right near a beautiful beach. However its noisy and I mean really noisy!!! I would avoid, I wouldnt recommend to a friend nor would i return....I value my sleep!

Good bits
We had a triple room, which consisted of a double and two singles. The beds were made on arrival which was great. It was also nice to have a quilt rather than blankets. The room was clean and we had an en-suite - shower, loo and sink. The shower dripped all night but as soon as we reported it they fixed it. Towels were included. free parking. Tv rooms

bad bits
I had informed the hostel of our arrival time by email yet there was no one there to let us in. After 30 hours of travelling from London this was annoying. He then moaned at us about how late we were and how he was working a double shift.
You have to pay $20 per key refundable deposit.
Internet is $4 per hour
to rent a bike is $27 per day. I rented a car locally for the same!!
Security isnt great - although there are people working, there are so many different shofts they have no idea who is resident or not.
private rooms only get cleaned every four days. dorms daily.

THIS IS THE NOISEST PLACE IVE EVER EVER STAYED. THE RESIDENTS HAVE NO RESPECT FOR PEOPLE TRYING TO SLEEP. This was consistent throughout our stay from the sat night to wed night. Every night there was no silence until about 3am (none at all on the sat night) and would then start again about 5am!! High heels walking on the wooden floor, screaming, talking so loudly on the phone they could probably hear in europe, making dinner at 4am in the microwave....the list goes on.


Its about 10 mins walk to either Grant street or Cottesloe station (about $3 into perth or freemantle which both take about 20-30 mins), there are lots of local buses.
There is an IGA supermarket about 3 mins walk, a bottle shop right next door, as well as a pub (which was always dead!!) and a number of restaurants within a few minutes walk.

The area in general is expensive. A full breakfast about $20-25. Dinner without wine $50pp.

the beach is lovely and definately worth a visit.

Stay here is you want to be near the beach, otherwise stay in Perth and get the train out for a day trip!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

Right on the beach, 35 bus right into the city and great rooms certainly compared to hostels in perth!

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onslow, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was the first place I stayed in Oz and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was good with tea/coffee facilites, lockers and a fridge. Location was amazing, right on the beach. Atmosphere could be better as there are a lot of people who have been there for a few months and have already made their groups of friends. The biggest problem I had was lack of air con as it was over 40 degrees when we stayed, but hey you can't have everything. Internet may seem expensive but it is about the same price throughout Perth from what I have seen. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We booked with my wife mixed dorm for 6 nights. First problem : the crew is really rude and unhelpful. When i asked about public transportation i've heard "I have got a car, i don't give a damn a about public transport". Every question which i asked were too hard for them. Next thing we booked mixed dorm, but they put us in male dorm. The room was really dirty and small, with all stuff around on the floor. A lot of cacroches, be careful. People staying in the hostel mostly are people who live there, not so many tourist around, just people who live there for couple of months. No internet connection from the hostel, you can have a free wi fi from the cafe next to the hostel from 9am to 14pm.
Only one thing for plus - location, the rest is terrible, totally NOT reccommend come there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Backpackers

Address: 1 Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Backpackers Hotel Cottesloe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.