We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay there.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Beach Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ocean Beach Backpackers to your Saves list
Ocean Beach Backpackers
1 Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Stay there.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Right on the beach, 35 bus right into the city and great rooms certainly compared to hostels in perth!

Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    12
    7
    9
See reviews for
1
17
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Onslow, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was the first place I stayed in Oz and I was pleasantly surprised. The room was good with tea/coffee facilites, lockers and a fridge. Location was amazing, right on the beach. Atmosphere could be better as there are a lot of people who have been there for a few months and have already made their groups of friends. The biggest problem I had was lack of air con as it was over 40 degrees when we stayed, but hey you can't have everything. Internet may seem expensive but it is about the same price throughout Perth from what I have seen. Would definately go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bialystok, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We booked with my wife mixed dorm for 6 nights. First problem : the crew is really rude and unhelpful. When i asked about public transportation i've heard "I have got a car, i don't give a damn a about public transport". Every question which i asked were too hard for them. Next thing we booked mixed dorm, but they put us in male dorm. The room was really dirty and small, with all stuff around on the floor. A lot of cacroches, be careful. People staying in the hostel mostly are people who live there, not so many tourist around, just people who live there for couple of months. No internet connection from the hostel, you can have a free wi fi from the cafe next to the hostel from 9am to 14pm.
Only one thing for plus - location, the rest is terrible, totally NOT reccommend come there.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here in Jan for 2 nights in a private room. The room was quite big and quite clean with a private bathroom. The hostel itself is quite big but I imagine as a result of this it could get quite busy in the kitchens at peak times. You had to pay a refundable deposit to hire crockery and the internet was quite pricey.
The location of the hostel was great, right on the beach front but about a half hour bus ride to the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

This hostel is right on Cottesloe beach which is absolutely beautiful. There were also lots of jobs available in the hostel and the local area which were always advertised on the notice board. We were in a private room and our room was thoroughly cleaned and our bedding changed every 4 days and our towels were replaced and very clean every 2 days. The bike hire was fairly expensive however you can hire body boards snorkels etc for free which was a big bonus for us. Laundry facillities were also good value. Only downside is that our bedroom was facing the courtyard and this was very noisy at night, especially if staff had the left the light on as it meant as soon as they had gone home the drinking circles started up (despite this being an alcohol free hostel).

Room Tip: Rooms away from the courtyard will probably be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Ocean Beach Hostel is brilliant.

Very clean throughout, friendly staff, great all rounder!

The place is literally a minutes walk from the beach and you get the proper Australian feel for the place.

Being close to the beach does seem to attract a few undesirables to the place - but they are dealt with the correct way and evicted swiftly!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We arrived at this beach front backing hostel following a 17 hour flight and were exhausted.
Found the staff to be precise and to the point but not especially welcoming or friendly. Our room was pretty good for a hostel having a mini fridge and en-suite.
Excellent location being 50 metres from the sea-wonderful walking and views to be had.
A real negative was the extremely poor sleep quality whilst staying at this hostel. Notices were placed all over the hostel requesting that guests were respectful of others and quiet after 10pm-unfortunately this was not the case. Every night was like a Saturday night with guests drinking/shouting/fighting into the wee hours.
We are all for partying and enjoying life, but it is a basic requirement of human functioning to have adequate sleep!!!-and not 2-3 hours per night! If you are young and/or a party animal then this place is ideal for you. However, if you do like to sleep for more than a few hours, I suggest that you look elsewhere-you may end up grouchy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Backpackers

Address: 1 Eric St, Cottesloe, Western Australia 6011, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Cottesloe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Cottesloe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Beach Backpackers Hotel Cottesloe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Beach Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.