We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yering Gorge Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Yering Gorge Cottages to your Saves list
Yering Gorge Cottages
4.5 of 5 Cottage   |   215 Victoria Road, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Romance Mini Break
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at yering gorge for our wedding along with the wedding party. The cottages were just beautiful. Ross and Sharon could not have been more helpful in the lead up and on the weekend itself.

The place was lovely, relaxing and tranquil. Being able to view kangaroos on your front lawn, wombats and all the other wildlife was excellent. We felt like we were hours out of Melbourne even though we were not that far from home.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Loz04,

Thank you for such a great review. It is extremely rewarding for all of us here to get such positive feedback, especially when it involves your special wedding weekend.

I am so glad you and your guests all enjoyed themselves and most importantly I am so pleased that Yering Gorge played it's part in such an important time in your life.

I hope we can see you back here soon, perhaps for your anniversary.

Best Wishes,
Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    13
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
71
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Papua New Guinea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The complex consists of modern and very well maintained cottages of one and two bedrooms located in the Yarra Valley. Sharon and Ross provided the perfect amount of support and ensured that our accommodation needs were fully met during our daughters wedding weekend. Whilst 2 reports have mentioned the golf links currently under construction in the near vicinity, work did not start early nor continue late on the Friday and the construction was far enough distant that it was not disturbing. No construction activities were underway over the weekend and it is obvious that completion of the golf course will provide a fantastic view over the course to the far hills. The local area provided many activities including wineries, great restaurants (including The Stones), craft and local produce shops and the Healesville wildlife sanctuary. Great bush walks along the Yarra River provided opportunities to see lots of kangaroos, kookaburras, wombats etc. Highly recommended for both Australian and Overseas visitors.

Room Tip: All cottages were the same style. Some looked over the river areas whilst some overlooked the new g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hello Sharri,

Your review of Yering Gorge and the whole Yarra Valley is terrific, I am so pleased you were able to enjoy not only us here at Yering Gorge, but a lot of the other great places and attractions the Yarra Valley has to offer.

We do always promote (especially to our overseas visitors) the myriad of wineries, restaurants and natural attractions that we have here in the valley.

Sharri the most pleasing aspect of your review is that you were able to really enjoy our native wildlife, I personally feel this should be a real highlight for any visitor as there is nothing as special than seeing native animals in the wild.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Sharon and Ross very helpful and accommodating. Cottages are quality and well designed for the space. Clean, peaceful and a great space to relax with all the amenities like your own home. Thank you for an amazing stay, will be interesting to see after the golf course has been completed.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Hi Jeffrey,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post a review about Yering Gorge Cottages.

It is pleasing to see that you appreciated the design of the cottages and that you felt relaxed and enjoyed your stay. I am looking forward to welcoming you back, maybe even for a game of golf.

Best Regards,
Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I must agree with LovelyLadyLondon - a great location has been destroyed! The Cottages are now on the boundary of a very large construction site as they become incorporated into a golf course. Our stay was interrupted by the constant sound of earth moving equipment, dust and beeping sounds which shattered any illusions of tranquility.

Any accommodations site is subject to change and modernisation but in my experience of travelling, good venues advise that such work is or will be underway when a booking is made, recognises the impact at reception when you arrive and makes a reduction in their fees to make up for any loss of amenity. But not at Yering Gorge Cottages - no pre warning, no comment at reception and no reduction in fees.

If you are want to stay at a golf course then Yering Gorge Cottages would be perfect - but I would wait till the construction is finished.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hi PetersTravels,

I am truly sorry that your recent stay with us was not totally satisfactory as we do endeavor to give our guests the very best of experience when they stay with us at Yering Gorge Cottages.

Once this particular section of the course is completed all of the future works will not be adjacent to the cottages and nature reserve and therefore there will be very little impact, if any, on our guests. We do try to explain the new Greg Norman designed course to all of our guests when they arrive, however on this occasion a crack in our communication processes has occurred, and for that, I do apologise.

PetersTravels we would like to thank you for your comments from your recent stay and should you wish to discuss in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Yering Gorge Cottages office.

I sincerely hope that we do get another opportunity to win you over once the the course is complete next year.

Best Regards,

Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is my second time here, you can read my previous review. I love it here, the accommodation is faultless, the outlook is spectacular and it's just a great place to base yourself for a trip to the Yarra valley. We loved sitting on the veranda and watching the sunset, with wildlife all around. Wifi and amenities are all excellent. Everything about the cottage is first class.

Unfortunately something awful has happened. A monsterous golf course is being constructed on the land immediately next to the cottages, it was a bit of a shock to see this as we approached. We arrived on the Sunday and all was quiet so it didn't really affect us to much. Monday morning the diggers started up at 7am. Sitting outside the cottage with the beep beep of reversing hgvs and diggers was not the quiet bliss normally experienced, partly down to the fact it is so quiet the sound really travels. We left around 11am to explore and diggers blocking the route caused minor irritations as we had to wait several times while they cleared the route. Same thing happened when we returned. Which annoyed all our party... The cars from the site also used the cottage tracks to turn around, which didn't annoy me but I did think it wasn't ideal. The diggers kept going until around 6/6.30pm, which did annoy us slightly. Next morning the same, including trying to leave the property and driving up a verge to accommodate the parked trucks.

My dad hit the nail on the head, it no longer feels like you are in the middle of nowhere, which was the best part of this place.

I haven't decided if I would visit again, If I did I would only go at the weekend to avoid the drone of the construction. The cottages are now part of the eastern golf course group as well.

Staff are great, as was the case last time

Room Tip: Come at the weekend!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross3838, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi “LovelyLadyLondon”
Thank you for posting another review about Yering Gorge Cottages.
Firstly please accept my sincerest apologies for any inconvenience you and your family encountered during your recent stay with us. Unfortunately we did have some disruption during the early part of that week whilst the optic fibre cabling for our new broad band internet was being installed along with an electrical upgrade. Although we were assured by the contractor there would be no disruption or inconvenience to our guests, this unfortunately was not the case, as they did encounter some unforeseen problems during the installation. Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club are committed to providing the very best of services to the guests here at Yering Gorge, and having hi speed broadband internet in the near future is one of the services we see as a priority for our guests into the future.
I do hope that we will see you back to visit at some time in the future, especially upon completion of the new 27 hole Greg Norman course, as I am sure you will see that “middle of nowhere” feeling will have come back in the idyllic setting, and that the new golf course will be an amazing addition for our guests. Two (2) full golf holes near the cottages are having turf laid in the coming weeks completion construction in this area. Please feel free to contact me personally at any time in the future if you are considering another short break.
Best Regards – Ross Stevens
General Manager, Yering Gorge Cottages by The Eastern Golf Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

All I can say is what a spa! The added details of modern furnishings was a breath of fresh air. Although it is a little way out, having grown up in the Yarra Valley made it a lot easier for my partner And myself to locate the property. The double spa was a delight and the breakfast was scrumptious!! The receptionist helped guide us through the property and we found the stay very pleasurable! Highly recommended

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ross3838, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Zoe K,
Thank you for writing such a great review.It is very pleasing that local people can also enjoy what we provide here at Yering Gorge.Zoe we look forward to seeing back again shortly.
Yours Sincerely
Ross Stevens
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Yering Gorge Cottages is an absolute must if going to the Yarra Valley. We only stayed one night but we so wished we could stay longer after experiencing this wonderful place. Ross and Sharon are so lovely, down to earth and they will do anything to make ur stay more comfortable. There are lots of little lovely touches such as being delivered fresh bread and a newspaper in the morning which make it stand out and extra special. The cottages are divine and the surroundings so blissful. We so look forward to going back for a longer stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EasternGolfClub, General Manager at Yering Gorge Cottages, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you Hayley S. for such a great review.

I know you were really impressed with your wine tour, and I did take your advice and visited that cellar door you mentioned and you were right, another little gem of a winery here in the Valley. It is very pleasing to know you felt relaxed during your stay with us and that we are going to see you back here at Yering Gorge Cottages, hopefully for a little longer next time!

Regards,

Ross Stevens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yering Gorge Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yering Gorge Cottages

Address: 215 Victoria Road, Yering, Victoria 3770, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yering
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Yering
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Yering Gorge Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful Yarra Valley only 40 minutes from Melbourne CBD Yering Gorge Cottages resort is the ultimate Australian nature retreat.12 luxury 4.5 star (1) & (2) bedroom cottages situated on the Yarra River with it's own private 120 acre nature reserve containing numerous species of Australian wildlife including kangaroo, koala, wombat and platypus in the river. Only minutes from over 85 wineries and many attractions such as hot air ballooning, and fruit picking. Escape the city and enjoy nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Yering Gorge Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yering Gorge Cottages Yarra Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yering Gorge Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.