We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort to your Saves list
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
5230 Great Ocean Road, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Beautiful, uninterrupted views of the ocean and was lovely to wake up to the sound of waves crashing on the rocks. The apartment and amenities were lovely - we had everything we needed. Being a 10 min drive out of Apollo Bay meant that it was quiet and just had a relaxing and peaceful time sitting on the balcony. The staff were friendly and took the time to provide us with a map and brochures of surrounding attractions. Agree that phone reception is poor - however I was still able to receive messages. Will definitely go back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    21
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
12
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Good Location, nice views. Very friendly staff. Nice balcony's with BBQ but not very private (
the room we had anyway). Pool and games room were very good, with DVDs you can take back to your room to watch. Cell reception on virgin (optus network) is very week and does not work in some places of the motel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on Whitecrest we were a little hesitant about booking a night here. However the adverse reviews are as far as we are concerned are unfounded. Great view, beaut amenities and everything you could want for to be comfy. Amazing to wake up to the view and the sounds of the waves crashing on the beach. Thank you Whitecrest!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mylissa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our weekend away, were impressed with the Apartment (Apart. 15) and location. Customer service was top rate and they were accommodating of a late arrival. Stunning views.

Only Issues: Power went out on our last night, internet was quite weak and we had to rewash the dishes before we used them.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I arrived at Whitecrest late on a Friday evening after what had seemed like an endless drive from Melbourne, made longer by the nausea-inducing twists and turns of the Great Ocean Road. Happily, the stresses of the journey were quickly soothed as we cranked up the 'log' fire and settled in to our apartment.

Unfortunately the weather was cold and raining during most of our weekend stay, however the apartment (number 12, a studio) made a perfect haven from the wild weather. We spent the day hunkered down, listening to music and being mesmerised away from our reading by the sight of the sea alternating between millpond calm and huge crashing waves.

My only gripes were small ones. Some better quality furniture wouldn't go astray, and a modern sound system (the one supplied catered to cassette/CD only) would add value wihout much of an outlay for the owner.

The well-equipped kitchen was a real boon for my partner and I as we both have awkward dietary needs, so being able to cook our own meals was great.

No complaints about the bathroom which was spotless, however, only one bath towel each was supplied, and I like to have a fresh towel daily when I'm paying upwards of $200 a night for accomodation. However, the towel shortage was quickly and cheerfully resolved by a visit to reception to request replacements.

We're already talking about returning when the weather is warmer.

Room Tip: The website has photos of each apartment. The floor plans are a little misleading though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

The room is beautiful. Room 11. Very clean.
Loved the bbq pit in the verandah. Meat is cheap from the nearby town!
Arrived late at about 6pm from otway light house. Was rather tough to drive in the rain and darkness. Reception was close but we spotted the envelope with our key at the counter.
I may come back again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Whitecrest for a few days last year as a family of four. The location was great...less than 10 minutes by car to Apollo Bay but remote enough so that you feel you have left it all behind. We stayed in apartment 9. Our boys loved the mezzanine bedroom, although if you have very young children, the stairs may be an issue. The apartment was comfortable and had everything we needed. The resort iteself suited us to a tee. We made great use of the tennis court, pool and the games room also came in handy. Our kids loved spotting the rabbits around the property and we even woke up one morning to see dolphins swimming in the ocean. Overall, very nice accomodation, friendly office staff (although the office was not open all day), great views and lovely to fall asleep and wake up to the sound of the ocean. Note: the beach across the road provides lovely views but is not a swimming beach so you do need to travel by car to find a beach that is safe for swimming. This was not an issue for us but just thought you should know :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort

Address: 5230 Great Ocean Road, Wongarra, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay > Wongarra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wongarra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments are spacious and fully self contained. They have private ocean views, balcony, BBQ, gas log fire and spa bath. Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort has a solar heated pool, tennis courts and games room with table tennis, billiards table and equipment for the tennis courts at no extra charge for guests.There are plenty of attractions all around us starting with the beautiful Great Ocean Road right on our doorstep and the natural beauty of the Otway National park behind us. The famous 12 Apostles are 90 minutes and the Otway Fly is a 45 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort Great Ocean Road/Apollo Bay - Wongarra

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.