We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip into the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walhalla's Star Hotel

Save Saved
You added Walhalla's Star Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walhalla's Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Road | Walhalla Historic Township, Walhalla, Victoria, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walhalla
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A trip into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights in October. There is a lot to like about this hotel and we really enjoyed our stay. The building is relatively new but has, on the outside at least, replicated what was there previously. The bedrooms are large and well equipped. Our room was upstairs with a balcony overlooking the road but believe me there is no need to worry about road noise in Walhalla. Michael and Russell are great hosts and we appreciated the pick up and drop off from the rail station at Traralgon.

Breakfast is continental only which was a bit of a disappointment, considering both the price of the accommodation and what the competition offers. Dinner was also a bit disappointing. The menu is limited to 3 options each of entrée, mains and desert. Dinner is served between 6 and 7 pm only and we were told to be there for 6.30pm. This was much too early for our preference, especially when there is nothing to do in Walhalla in the evening. We appreciated the fact that tea and instant coffee is freely available from numerous self service points but a cup of genuine coffee at the end of dinner would have been appreciated.

Walhalla is a great place to stay for a couple of days but if it’s during the week make certain you are there on a Wednesday. If you do visit Walhalla, the Star Hotel is a good choice, provided the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback, it is appreciated. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and the high level of service we provided. The provision and style of food service is always open to interpretation and is a challenging balancing act especially in a remote town of just 15 residents. Our continental breakfast buffet [with cereals, fruits, croissants, breads etc.] where you can eat as much as you like ensures we provide our guests with a consistent and high standard everyday. Our evening a la carte menu is limited to 3-4 choices per course so that we can ensure that we use fresh produce...everyday. You would have noted that the menu had changed on the second evening of your stay. The Star Hotel do not use frozen items in our kitchen [this practice has sadly has become the norm in most country hotels...everything is straight off a PFD truck] nor do we use a deep fryer. This self-imposed limitation for better quality does mean that there is a trade off in the volume of choice. We have a fresh coffee machine in our restaurant, we would have been happy to provide you with a fresh coffee after dinner, simply ask and we'll deliver...all coffee/tea at the Star Hotel is a free service too. Once again, glad you enjoyed you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
5
72
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I had 2 nights at the star hotel everything was excellent from the hosts to the meals could not fault it the area is steeped in Australian history very laid back we will certainly be back for longer next time.

Room Tip: all rooms have different views ours was of the band rotunda with the mountains as a back drop very b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, I look forward to you returning. I hope that you are all safe and sound with the bushfires near your home and that you're not under threat. Best wishes, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved our return to Walhalla's Star Hotel. Relaxation began the second we stepped through the door. With a friendly welcome, everything explained and shown all the necessary features we were free to wind down, enjoy each other's company and be happy in the knowledge we had to plan for nothing more than exploring the surrounds, or deciding whether to sit in the sunshine on the balcony or enjoy lounging in the comfy chairs in our room. A perfect way to celebrate our anniversary. Michael and co were the best hosts, and provided a scrumptious dinner, delicious wine and enjoyable conversation. We truly felt we were welcome guests. The other guests were friendly, it was enjoyable to spend a few minutes chatting while making a cuppa or choosing a book. Sadly it was over all too quickly, but the memories remain and we "will" be back again. It took us 8 years between visits last time, but I know we won't be tardy in arranging the next. Walhalla's Star Hotel is truly a jewel in Walhalla's crown. A beautiful place to get away from it all.

Room Tip: I've experienced two different rooms and I would say they're all good. Rooms are spacious an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. It's nice to know that we're ticking all the right boxes. Look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Thank you Michael and Russell for your hospitality and an awesome weekend at your gorgeous hotel. We were looking forward to bringing our friends up to Walhalla as we were there 15 years ago and remembered what a charmingly picturesque, quaint, peaceful little town it was. We wanted to stay in Walhalla this time (last time we stayed in Rawson) but we were a little bit nervous on where to stay. We were not disappointed at The Star Hotel. We were made to feel very comfortable on arrival, Michael and Russell answered every question we threw at them about Walhalla etc. The accommodation was fantastic- clean and very comfortable. The balcony room was beautiful. Sitting out on the balcony made us feel like we could have been back in the 1890's but with all the comforts I needed inside my room. Dinner was delicious, we were pleasantly surprised with the standard of food. Full credit to Michael and Russell. We will definitely return to Walhalla and highly recommend staying at The Star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay at the Star and our food in our restaurant. So glad you got over your nerves on where to stay...please don't leave it for another 15 years before you return to the Star. Regards, Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boolarra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My partner and I booked a night at the Star Hotel for $172 on wotif.com. With a self rating of 4 stars we expected much much more. The room was cold and very boring. It wasn't private as our room had windows that looked straight onto the carpark. I thought the hosts to be quite rude and we didn't feel as welcomed - maybe because we are young. Although the room was clean, we ended up just leaving the keys on the desk and leaving a 5pm after checking in at 2pm because we both agreed we didn't want to stay there. I'm asthmatic and the room was much to cold at night for me.
It was a waste of money. And before you reply with some comment about it being a peaceful place to come - I agree, it is peaceful. But I think there should be a TV in the room (because we are now in the 21st century and it is a luxury item to have, even if you don't use it) and better heating and curtains. You could hear the people above us walking around and talking. Definitely not worth 4 stars. For $172 you could get a much nicer hotel room elsewhere. I don't even know if the owners have stayed in a 4 star hotel before? because it wouldn't seem like it.
If you are younger and want to check out such an amazing town, DO NOT stay at Star as you will not feel welcome or enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, but I must say I'm very disappointed as I never actually met you as you did not emerge from your room during your short 3 hour stay. Russell who checked you is also disappointed, he advises that while checking you in and explaining the room and hotel facilities you were both silent. He was under the clear impression you wanted to be left alone...fast! We also note that on the day of your arrival it was 22c...there are two heaters in the room, a reverse cycle air-con and a panel heater. The operation of these heaters was explained to you on check-in. I'm not 100% sure how you can claim the room the be much too cold at night when you departed at 5pm and didn't even stay the night. We ask all other readers to please note the other reviews on TripAdvisor stating how warm the rooms are. Given the warm day, we didn't pre-heat the room, but you were welcome to switch both heaters on if you wanted to. The curtains in all our room are black out...I note that when I inspected the room post your departure that they were drawn closed. You obviously failed to notice the garden between your room and the picket fence.. The beautiful camellia outside you room also escaped your eyes as did the garden seating area.. There is no other room above the room you were in so how you heard people above you is beyond me. Perhaps it was ghosts? Given your stay was for 3 hours between 2pm and 5pm it's possible that you this was the sound to people outside in the street enjoying themselves or walking the corridor. If the noises you heard was between 2am and 5am I'd be concerned...but on a busy Saturday afternoon?. Your review just proves that you can't please everyone and how important it is to check all details carefully when you book. We have people arrive who want to be private and left alone [as was your vibe] while others arrive who want to have a chat.There is much more to life than TV but again as you'll note from other reviews on this site, it's all about how you look at things. We clearly communicate we do not have television at the hotel. If this is an important criteria for you, DO NOT stay with us. This fact is clearly outlined on wotif...I'm at a loss to know why you would book with us knowing this fact...then complain about it? We cannot read minds or do anything about things if people don't communicate want they want or their needs...it has nothing to do with age...it's all about communicating. Just walking out leaving the key on the front desk does leave us wondering. It's amusing to be called rude and unwelcoming by a guest who locks themselves in their room for 3 hours then slinks away without even the courtesy of say they are leaving and therefore giving us the opportunity to even A: meet you, or B: rectify the situation. When I inspected the room after discovering your key on the front desk I noted that room was "well used" so I just presumed that the purpose of your stay had been satisfied and thought it best not to make contact to ask why you had departed so early. It's a pity you didn't stay and enjoy the lounge, read a magazine, enjoy a CD, have some conversation with other guests [and ourselves], dine in our restaurant, have a nice glass of wine and relax beyond your comfort zone of having a television. What is one person's "bore" is clearly another's "bliss" if you look at the various reviews on this site...we just ask that people inform themselves prior to making a booking and then if they are not happy say something as this gives us the opportunity to suggest alternatives or solutions. Everyone should note we have people of all ages stay at the hotel. It is certainly not that case that "younger" people are not welcome at the Star Hotel...we have numerous "young" people stay who have a great time, but I would say that the difference between them and this reviewer is that they were prepared to step outside their normal routine and enjoy something different.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I very much valued our stay at the Star Hotel. Michael has done a wonderful job in rebuilding the hotel. He looked after us well to ensure we enjoyed our Walhalla visit. The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. The guest lounge, although small was cosy with comfortable lounges and a fantastic assortment of books, mags, CDs and board games. As there are no TVs in the hotel, this was a great place to relax, especially in front of the wood heater. Dinner in the hotel restaurant on Saturday night was well-cooked and satisfying. Breakfast is continental but with plenty to choose including fresh fruit, yoghurt and very good coffee. I like the way Michael has set up areas where guests can help themselves to all day tea/coffee and biscuits. There's even an 'honour' system for purchasing bottles of wine. When booking guests should check opening times and be aware there are limited places to eat In Walhalla.
Walhalla is a gem of a place and worth a visit if you value our history, enjoy the natural environment, or just want to 'slow down' and relax. We were there during the Vinter Ljusfest where several buildings in the township were lit up or vision of early life was displayed. It added to the charm of the place. There are a few interesting shops open on weekends and Wednesdays if you want a coffee, something sweet, gifts etc. The scenery in the area is beautiful and there are plenty of walks. We enjoyed the walk along the old tramway to Thomson railway station, as suggested by Russell. The train journey on the Walhalla Goldfield's Railway was excellent, passing through rocky gorges, fern gullies and over historic wooden bridges. This service is a credit to the volunteers who run it. The Long Tunnel Gold mine tour is fascinating and worth doing. We definitely want to return and we would recommend staying at the Star Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WalhallaVictoria, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm so pleased you had a wonderful time at the Star Hotel. Having been living in Walhalla for over 15 years, I take it's beauty and attractions for granted...it's a nice reminder to me to have someone highlight the area with new eyes. Glad you enjoyed the Walhalla Vinter Ljusfest too...it was a huge success. We look forward to seeing you back at the Star Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to Walhalla for 1 night with friends and stayed at the Star Hotel. The owner was very friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and well set-up. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening playing board games in the shared lounge. I would recommend Star Hotel for a quiet escape.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelLeaney, Owner at Walhalla's Star Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Star an your evening in our lounge. In today's busy electronic word, simple and enjoyable pleasures such as playing a board game with others is too often forgotten. Look forward to seeing you back in Walhalla and at the Star soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walhalla's Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walhalla's Star Hotel

Address: Main Road | Walhalla Historic Township, Walhalla, Victoria, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Gippsland > Walhalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Walhalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Walhalla's Star Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the LCBTA "People's Choice" Award for 2012 and 2013. Located in the heart of Walhalla opposite the famous band rotunda, the Star Hotel provides boutique accommodation with large modern rooms all with ensuite, king beds [twins available], CD player and air-conditioning. A visit to Walhalla and the Star is about stepping back in time to relax and enjoy the unique atmosphere of this hidden mountain village. Leave your mobile phone at home as they don't work here...if you can't miss your favourite TV program Walhalla probably isn't a good choice as TVs don't work in the deep valley either! A trip to Walhalla and a stay at Walhalla's Star Hotel provides a chance unwind and explore the amazing gold-era history of the township including the mountain railway, daily gold mine tours, heritage walks and fascinating hillside cemetery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Walhalla's Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Walhallas Star
Walhalla's Star Hotel Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walhalla's Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.