We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed staying here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lamplighter Apartments

Lamplighter Apartments
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakleigh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lamplighter Apartments
Save
You added Lamplighter Apartments to your Saves list
810 Warrigal Road, Oakleigh, Monash, Victoria 3166, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Oakleigh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“enjoyed staying here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

The earlier reviews 4 to 5 years ago don't really reflect what this place is now. We stayed in apartment 7 & it was good, comfortable, clean vacation stay. 2 bedrooms downstairs, 2 upstairs (one queen-sized bed, one with twin beds, on each level), a bathroom each upstairs & downstairs, full kitchen, washing machine & dryer made our holiday very relaxing.

The internet doesn't work & the TV channels are basic but these took nothing away from an enjoyable stay. The apartment is near the junction of Dandenong & Warrigal roads so you can hear the traffic early in the morning.

Chadstone shopping mall is nearby (10-minute brisk walk or a very quick drive around the corner) & the highway/freeway is 1 km away. Many places to eat all around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
7
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

I'm laid up with an injury at the moment so have the time to ewrite a few reviews of my travels over the last few months.

This was our first port of call on a month long motor vacation to Victoria and south Australia. We booked one of the serviced apartments for 4 days for our family of 4 in order to get over the jetlag and explore Melbourne. The apartment was well equipped, furnished and spacious but could have been a bit cleaner. The outside area was littered with old cigarette ends.

The location on the Dandenong Road is excellent. Great road links to the City centre and airport and down to the Mornington peninsula. Oakleigh Station with fast frequent trains into the City centre is about 10 mins walk.

The reception staff are superb. Very good advice given about local transport and eateries. I took up their recommendation to have a Golden Cahin discount card, which saved us several hundred dollars over the course of our trip at other Golden Chain Motels.

The Lamplighter was good enough to book again for our last few days in Melbourne before our journey back to the UK. We will be return in November and will book the Lamplighter for the start of that trip too.

Good points - value, location, facilities, reception staff
Bad points - poor external cleanliness. Wireless internet not working.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeppoon, Queensland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2009

As a person who travels for a living, my expectation for accommodation has a base standard, and while this was personal travel, it was at the lower end of my standards. Don’t get me wrong, I have stayed at some horrible places - and this place was not horrible, just in need of some attention.

We had an extended family event with 8 adults (from 3 differing part of the country) and we ended up in two apartments which worked well for us. The complex was nice and quiet and we never ran out of hot water, however little things like light bulbs not working, taps dripping, broken blinds etc, all suggests not much attention is paid to management of these apartments. Bathrooms and kitchens needed a bit of elbow work to bring them up to standards, mould on window sills; surfaces and windows in general suggest more attention is needed when it comes cleaning.

However, the heating worked well (some of use had come from tropical Queensland) and we were all very amused when we looked at the coffee table book on Melbourne and found remains of Cannabis in the pages.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthstation, Owner at Lamplighter Apartments, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
Our apartments have a high occupancy with large groups and as they have four bedrooms and often have eight persons staying. This causes heavy maintenance and when a group leaves who has stayed with us for a week or more cleaning and maintenance can take more than three hours. In some instances like this where a change over is in the same day all repairs and detail clean cannot be attended.Items mentioned in this instance could have been fixed if we were notified at reception and we would of organized to come back at a suitable time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakleigh hotels

China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

We stayed in Apartment 6 with our small children and found the apartment filthy. Carpets, curtains, venetian blinds, kitchen chairs, the ironing board cover, the iron and the mop were all very dirty. The fridge was not cold as it needed to be defrosted (it is an old fridge) and the freezer door handle is broken and dangerous for small children.
They claim the apartment has airconditioning and heating however the unit is in the downstairs kitchen and does not reach the 2 upstairs bedrooms.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthstation, Owner at Lamplighter Apartments, responded to this review, March 29, 2009
This Review does not reflect the true standard of our accommodation. We are a family operated business and will respond to any problem immediately. We are proud of apartments having built and operated them for fifteen years. Many of our cleaning staff have been with us for this time and have pride in their work This year all the apartments have been painted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamplighter Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamplighter Apartments

Address: 810 Warrigal Road, Oakleigh, Monash, Victoria 3166, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Monash > Oakleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Oakleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lamplighter Apartments Oakleigh, Australia - Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamplighter Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.