We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ellinis Greek Tavern - CLOSED

Ellinis Greek Tavern
66 Portman st, Oakleigh, Monash, Victoria, Australia
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
1 review
“Overpriced disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

$200 dollars for the set menu with 5 people. The couple squashed next to us (in the empty restaurant) got the exact same amount of food as us. Although the service was pretty speedy, I now know why. Calamari resembled tasteless rubber, the white bait was undercooked and tasteless, the fish tasted like no fish should ever taste, gyros was overlooked and (for lack of a better word) also tasteless, the chicken was burnt. Overall the only part of the $40 per person set menu that wasn't an utter disappointment were the meatballs. For me that just does not make it worth it. When expressing our disappointment to the waitress she hushed us up as to not let the other customers (victims) hear and shooed us out the door.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa V, Manager at Ellinis Greek Tavern, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have now changed ownership, and fully renovated the venue, would love to see you here for lunch or dinner one day! please don't hesitate to come in, and ask for Alisa!

thanks, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great venue for a group outing. Food and entertainment very good. Service very good. Clean including toilets. Ample parking closeby.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa V, Manager at Ellinis Greek Tavern, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have now changed ownership, and fully renovated the venue, would love to see you here for lunch or dinner one day! please don't hesitate to come in, and ask for Alisa!

thanks, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ellinis Greek Tavern”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Very poor service and a complete lack of variety of Beer or Wines.
They only had VB or Cascade light on offer for Beers and also a complete lack of variety regarding the Bottled Wines !

There were only two people servicing all the tables in the tavern so the service was terible !
There was a very long wait before the mains finally arrived around 9.30 pm, which was also very ordinary in taste and quality.

The music was excessively loud which made conversation at the table almost impossible.

So overall Service was terrible !

Variety of alcoholic drinks is non existent !

Food was average but came out to the tables very late !

Music was excessively loud but at least mildly entertaining !

If you want to go there for the Greek music and dancing atmosphere then OK but don't go there if you expect quality food and a variety of alcoholic drinks to choose from .....

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa V, Manager at Ellinis Greek Tavern, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have now changed ownership, and fully renovated the venue, would love to see you here for lunch or dinner one day! please don't hesitate to come in, and ask for Alisa!

thanks, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good night out, but music was loud”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Celebrating with family and friends for a 30th Anniversary at the Greek tavern.

The ambiance of the resturant was great and always great to see a resturant that is fully booked for the night. We had the banquet which was brought out in stages during the evening. The food was great and plenty to eat for all on the table. The staff and service was excellent and we were looked after by the staff during the course of the evening.

There was a Greek band playing on the evening along with a beautiful singer that was visiting. It was somewhat dissapointing that the music was so loud that it was impossible to have any conversation on the table for majority of the evening.

Overall the evening was plesant and the food great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa V, Manager at Ellinis Greek Tavern, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have now changed ownership, and fully renovated the venue, would love to see you here for lunch or dinner one day! please don't hesitate to come in, and ask for Alisa!

thanks, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, everything else poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We were a party of 30 celebrating a birthday at the Ellinis Greek Tavern. This is a large restaurant and has been in the area for a long time so we were expecting a well organised evening with great Greek food. Unfortunately, we were disappointed in a number of areas.

Firstly, let me say that the atmosphere was good. There were lots of Greeks there that evening and this, together with our group, helped to rescue the evening but it could have been so much better. Being a large group, we preordered a banquet. The dips were quick to arrive, followed by a number of very salty entrees. After this, there was a long break before the first of the mains, a platter of overcooked meats followed by a seafood mix. There was nothing memorable about any of these dishes, I would say the most disappointing Greek meal I have had in Melbourne. In addition, we were provided with one small plate to consume all these dishes, which was never cleaned or swapped during the entire banquet. The staff serving us looked like they were doing us a favour, never managing a smile.

The worst expect of the evening was the entertainment. It was so loud that conversation effectively stopped at those tables close to the band. It was impossible to hear the person sitting next to you and there was no break in the music to give our poor ears a chance to recover.

There are much better Greek restaurants in Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa V, Manager at Ellinis Greek Tavern, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We have now changed ownership, and fully renovated the venue, would love to see you here for lunch or dinner one day! please don't hesitate to come in, and ask for Alisa!

thanks, hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ellinis Greek Tavern also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellinis Greek Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.