We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   Caldwell Drive | Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Karratha, Australia
1 review
“Budget”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I needed to stay overnight to wait for connecting flight, cheap and cheerful hotel, room small but very clean, service was great, good for a no frills stay and was walking distance to airport. Very close to motorway,but still quite, 50 meters to McDonalds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    243
    302
    132
    81
See reviews for
162
289
215
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here when i was staying overnight in Melbourne, and catching the first flight out in the morning. Rang about a week in advance hoping to book an accessible room and got it. They only have one but i found it to be pretty good. I am a fairly active paraplegic, and if you are looking for somewhere to sleep and a bathroom where you can get your chair in the door and have a great shower without having to lug a shower chair then its great. Bathroom looked freshly renovated in the wheelchair accessible room, grab bars in the right spot and lots of room to move, not as much room in the bedroom area but if you were only aiming to sleep and shower there, like i was it was great.

Room Tip: Accessible room was good, same lay out as other rooms just different bathroom. No lifts though and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

To date in my extensive travels, I have never felt such unhappiness with any of my accommodation. To sum up my stay at Ibis budget Melb, 'Disgust' is the only word that comes to mind. The following are the reasons why:
1) First and foremost there is no LIFT in this accommodation. As far as I can recall this not mentioned in the website. I had to carry two huge suitcases and carry on bags to the third floor
2) We had asked for an accommodation for three. I believe we were charged extra but that is fine. Imagine my surprise when I discover the single mattress to be old, dirty and uncomfortable. To make matters worse, the bedsheet and pillow case was not put at all and it was left up to me to do it.. sigh

* Only go here if you have ABSOLUTELY no choice. You are alone and are carrying a light bag. Anything else, it just aint worth it :)
3) Internet. Gosh! I paid $2 for it. I would have been happy if it was just slow. In my case, it hung and I could not use it all!! Whom do i revert this to? Well no one is around
4) The hotel isnt really near the airport. It might seem like it but trust me. It just isnt possible for walk to the international airport with luggages

Honestly, DISGUST is the appropriate word. Budget hotels in many other parts of the world exceed that of this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The room is basic, really basic. No kettle in the room, no coffee or tea, the glasses for water are foam cups, the bed is hard, and the bathroom is more like an outside porta toilet! Horrid! The walls are paper thin, I could hear the bed banging on the wall loudly from the couple next door and unfortunately all the "other"noises that came with it! YUK! The corriders also carry the noise and when you need to get sleep because of a 24 hour flight early the next day sleep is what you need, but sleep was not what i nor my husband got when we stayed.

Room Tip: choose anther motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Very basic, but clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The proximity to the airport is very good. However, despite all these attributes I beleieve it is too expensive. It probaby should be about half what is currently charged simply bexcause it is a very basic hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport

Address: Caldwell Drive | Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia (Formerly Hotel Formule 1)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport 1*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Formule 1 Melbourne
Melbourne Hotel Formule 1

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.