We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Mickleham Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3043, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
yorkshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We chose this hotel as it was close to the airport. Checking in was quick and the receptionist was courteous, friendly and helpful. The room allocated was spacious but we had problems with the heating and television.Our request for assistance regarding the problems saw a friendly staff member arrive within minutes.The heating was rectified but the television was not. So we were given another room which was larger. There is a restaurant in the hotel. Quite a number of food outlets are with a minutes walk away. A shuttle bus is available for transfers to and from the airport. A convenient place to stay for easy access to the airport,would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    102
    48
    26
    10
See reviews for
49
76
31
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed 1 night after a late night international arrival- midnight.
Courtesy bus was quick to arrive after the phone call. Driver was very courteous. Definately upselling the prepay $15 breakfast.
Given an "upgrade" to a room with a spa in the bedroom as opposed to the courtyard access room originally booked and requested. Told that all courtyard rooms had been taken.
So we haul our luggage upstairs (no lift) to find that there's only a walkway outside- no suitable smoking area. Room was spotless but had dated decor.
Back to reception to find we'd been locked out, receptionist had gone to the airport with the courtesy bus and had to wait for him to return. Other ppl/guests were sitting around the bar and the original driver eventually answered the front door.
Found to have a courtyard room after all so the long haul of heavy cases back to reception and then to new room.
Room appeared to have been recently refurbished with modern fittings/fixtures including bathroom.
All this for AUD195 without breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor to avoid a long flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, VIC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here for 1 night following a long haul flight from Dublin. Once I arrived I phoned the hotel and although it was late at night the free shuttle was with me within 15mins.
The driver could not have been nicer, the staff on reception were all very friendly and professional.
I was given a complimentary upgrade to an executive room due to luggage issues, a welcome surprise after 36 hrs of travelling!
Checking in/out was easy and swift, the room was clean and very comfortable.
The next morning I needed to take the bus from Melbourne airport to the train and the shuttle driver dropped me right at the skybus kiosk.
Overall I could not have been happier with my stay here, ignore the negative reviews, the hotel may not be 5 star but the staff most certainly are.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rostrevor
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It has been years since I have seen the "breakfast slide" in any establishment in Australia. It used to be standard in all cheaper motels,for the ones who don't know what I am talking about, it is a small door, like a cat flap,that gets unlocked in the morning, and your breakfast tray with your per-ordered breakfast is unceremoniously shoved through it. According to the room compendium you can either have it in the "Dinning" room,or order it from the 'Dinning" room for delivery through the hatch I suppose. Apart from this the room was OK, but why put a spa bath in the same room as your bed is a mystery - another motel selling point of years gone by. The worst thing however, there is a large glass panel above the door, which can not be blocked out, so the sunlight streams through there just after 6.30, and there goes the rest of the mornings sleep. Best thing about it is its closeness to the airport and an efficient shuttle bus, but to advertise this old and tired motel as 4 star is a bit of a joke.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Couldnt be cleaner, great staff, excellent site, lovely big rooms. Close to many services and facilities and quick easy run to Tullamarine. Easy access into the site, just a little difficult to to pick up from Mickelham Rd, which can be manic ! Happily stay here again. One of the better with excellent value for money and experience.

Room Tip: Only downside l believe is the family rooms are upstairs (didnt see any signs of lifts) and if you n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Comfortable beds, lovely spa, friendly staff. Disappointing that there was no microwave, but onsite restaurant, supermarkets and takeaway just a short walk away. Nice touch to provide lollies, water, paper and pens at conference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here prior to my daughter flying overseas.
The room was clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The place is feeling a little old and dated however and some of the fittings are also aged. Our television for example was analogue and very crackly.
The restaurant PKs was basic and also felt a little 1980s but the meal was ok although the portions were small for my daughters 22 yr old boyfriend.
The real shock for this place was they insisted on taking a photocopy of a drivers license when we checked in I didn't like this and I'm not convinced its even legal. We had booked and paid with a credit card and now they also have a copy of my drivers licence.
As a result of this I'm not sure I would stay here again unless this policy changes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport

Address: 265 Mickleham Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3043, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 68 rooms located only 4 kms from Melbourne Airport. We are a 3.5 star property with a la carte restaurant and cocktail lounge, outdoor swimming pool and spa. All our rooms have french doors overlooking courtyard or the pool. Ask about our Parking package? We offer free off street parking, foxtel & Courtesy Transfers to Melbourne Airport. Our 4 conference rooms catering and conference facilities for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melbourne Airport
Quality Inn Tullamarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.