We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sleep in a motel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Mickleham Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3043, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Portland, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best sleep in a motel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Comfortable beds, lovely spa, friendly staff. Disappointing that there was no microwave, but onsite restaurant, supermarkets and takeaway just a short walk away. Nice touch to provide lollies, water, paper and pens at conference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    131
    62
    29
    10
See reviews for
64
90
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mortlake, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed here prior to my daughter flying overseas.
The room was clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The place is feeling a little old and dated however and some of the fittings are also aged. Our television for example was analogue and very crackly.
The restaurant PKs was basic and also felt a little 1980s but the meal was ok although the portions were small for my daughters 22 yr old boyfriend.
The real shock for this place was they insisted on taking a photocopy of a drivers license when we checked in I didn't like this and I'm not convinced its even legal. We had booked and paid with a credit card and now they also have a copy of my drivers licence.
As a result of this I'm not sure I would stay here again unless this policy changes.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have often stayed in this hotel for one night prior to attending meetings/conferences. It is handy to the airport (just need to phone once you have collected your bags and they will send the shuttle bus). The hotel needs a bit of a facelift but the staff are friendly and helpful and if you have a meal there the food is quite good. It is a well priced hotel relatively close to the airport and much cheaper than those right at the airport. The rooms are very large and the beds and pillows are ok. The whole place needs a bit of a makeover but it is clean and safe and you can park your car right at your door which helps when you have luggage. If you don't want to climb the stairs ask for a room on the ground floor.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you don't want to climb stairs. Back of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mortlake, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed in a family room at the Quality Hotel. The room was spacious enough for the 4 of us and being able to park right outside the door was handy for luggage. It's an old fashioned motel style with the usual tea & coffee making facilities.
The staff were very pleasant & we had no trouble booking a shuttle to the airport.
We ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel & it was OK.
I've stayed at the whole range of hotels close to the airport & this is most definitely in the bottom of the range luxury wise so although I was happy enough with it, I wouldn't choose it over a cheaper & closer option like the Ciloms.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well back from the road so noise is not an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Despite fancy pictures on the website it is basically a motel with all rooms having separate entrances and cars parked in front of the rooms. My room was huge, clean and had refrigerator, tea kettle, etc. The lights were cheap CFLs and did not illuminate it well. As other people said, the decor was old fashioned, but that was not something I cared about in an airport motel. Strangely, each room had a little window for accepting deliveries, implying that opening the door at night might not be a good idea.

I arrived at the hotel late in the evening, tired from a long drive and hungry. The lady at the reception was very friendly and told me to go have dinner at the restaurant before it closes. Not having to drive around looking for a place to eat was convenient and the food was decent. I was the only person at the restaurant though. I was flying out early next morning, so I did not have breakfast there - breakfast was an extra charge.

My biggest complaint was Wi-Fi. As many hotels in Australia they had a complicated system of tickets, codes and charges that made it a hassle to use it on more than one device.

In summary, it's a decent place to spend a night near the airport. But don't expect any extra comfort or luxury.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Well checked-in the the note on the 18th and 26th May. The room is pretty decent but it looks old fashioned, just like the 90s but I am fine with it. Staff are pleasant and friendly. Free cookies in the room pantry make sure you grab some! Yeap, the parking lot is just outside your doorstep and a few restaurants along the main road. Pool side is quiet but most important of all is the free shuttle to the airport and that saved us a lot of fuzz. Well, they should revise the price a bit for such room offered. :)

Room Tip: any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport on the 24th of May 2012. First impressions are good from the reception and bar/restaurant area at the front of the premises, however my room at the Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport was old and hardly appealing. I have to agree with other reviewers and comment that the staff were excellent, evidenced at check-in by receiving a complementary upgrade (without asking) to a larger spa room.

The room whilst clean apon arrival, gave me the immediate impression that this establishment had made minimal investment in upgrading the amenity of the rooms. The heater/airconditioner appeared very old, and was very noisy on start up. TV reception was average on some free to air channels, and the overall decor seemed decades old! The highlight of my stay was the standard of the hot buffet breakfast next morning, which was much better than expected.

I don't think that I'll return. I did get a good deal at $125 plus $15 for breakfast, but there is alternative accommodation in proximity to the airport with a better standard of rooms.

Room Tip: If modern style accommodation is your preference - look elsewhere. The buffet breakfast was very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport

Address: 265 Mickleham Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3043, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 68 rooms located only 4 kms from Melbourne Airport. We are a 3.5 star property with a la carte restaurant and cocktail lounge, outdoor swimming pool and spa. All our rooms have french doors overlooking courtyard or the pool. Ask about our Parking package? We offer free off street parking, foxtel & Courtesy Transfers to Melbourne Airport. Our 4 conference rooms catering and conference facilities for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Melbourne Airport
Quality Inn Tullamarine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.