We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10-14 Centre Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Tullamarine
Sydney
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good value airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Not too many people would really want to stay at a hotel at Melbourne Airport. It is not exactly a holiday destination. However, if you arrive late or need to leave early next day-this hotel is ideal. Just a short walk or free shuttle ride from all terminals,the location is very convenient. The room I was given was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. I did not use any of the restaurant facilities as my stopover was brief-but looking at the other options for Melbourne airport-this is the place I would stay next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for reviewing Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport.

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you thought that Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport was the best option in the Melbourne airport precinct.

I think it is fair to say that Melbourne Airport is not really a holiday destination but our goal is to help you get your holiday started from the moment you arrive by offering a great stay with friendly yet professional service. We are all about taking the stress out of your airport experience. No need to worry about finding parking and getting to the airport on time. We take care of that for you by providing great value park, stay and go packages to meet the needs of the busy traveler.

No need to stress when you can enjoy a seriously comfortable bed and a delicious dinner and breakfast prior to your departure. The 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle is ready when you are.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back before or after your next holiday.

Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    85
    217
    81
    16
    5
See reviews for
75
128
45
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport is worth a look-in, and this was my second time here. The rooms are clean and spacious and the dinner menu impressive. One of the burly waitress staff was called upon to sort out some rowdy guests, so it's good there's some sort of order at the Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport. The only issue was the shuttle bus to the terminal wasn't there at my appointed time, but at least one of the hotel staff promptly drove me to the terminal, so that was good. There isn't a pedestrian walkway to Holiday Inn in the same way there is to ParkRoyal Melbourne Airport, so do note this.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport.
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and that the food and beverage experience was impressive.
For your next stay please allow us to show you where the pedestrian walkway is if you prefer the short walk to the airport, but as always we do offer the 24 hour complimentary airport shuttle service.
The team and I hope to see you in Melbourne again soon.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is so close to Melbourne airport that if you are flying out early in the morning there are no really early wake up calls, it is a five minute walk to the International Terminal. Have family in Melbourne and always stay at the airport the night before departing, this hotel is so so convenient.

Room Tip: Not noticed any significant difference in the room types, all were excellent and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport. It is great to hear you had a pleasant stay and that the location and convenience of the property continues to take the stress out of traveling when you visit Melbourne.

Yes the hotel is a short walk to the airport but the 24 hour shuttle is also available for you if for example you have done a spot of shopping and are returning home with more luggage than you arrived with.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Melbourne.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Arrived here late one evening as I was working nearby the next day. Check in was speedy and friendly and the room was OK although definitely feeling a bit tired and in need of some renovation. Given the price though it was OK. Really only reason you would stay at the airport though are if you are working nearby or have an early flight the next day

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the speedy and friendly service here at check in.

I hope next time you have a little more free time to enjoy our restaurant and bar facilities so you can experience and see that we are much more than a place to sleep that is close to the airport.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne for work.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Yep, good value here.
Stayed one night, which I suppose most people do.
Staff very friendly and accomodation, breakfast far too expensive, rooms quiet adequate and comfortable beds.
It's a bit old, but hey! for 1 night, does that really matter?
Easy shuttle to the International airport too.

Room Tip: Have breakfast at the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your short stay and that you found the team to be very friendly. It is our vision to offer a warm welcome and remove the stress from early morning flights by providing a convenient stay within a short walk or complementary 24 hour shuttle to the airport. Yes the hotel exterior is retro in appearance but the interior has had numerous renovations including the ground floor in 2012.

I note your feedback about breakfast pricing and would like to add that we offer a couple of options to suit our guest needs. We offer Room Service breakfast from $22 and offer a full buffet breakfast in the Vargas Restaurant for $25, this includes cereals, fruits, yogurts, cold cuts, cheese platter, all the usual hot buffet dishes like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes e.t.c. Additionally we offer an omelet station manned by a Chef who can prepare eggs to your liking e.g fresh omelets, eggs benedict, eggs florentine, french toast , pancakes e.t.c. My favourite is the banana pancakes. To finish it off we also have a fresh juice station where guests can design their own juice using fresh fruits and vegetables. Sustainable sourced organic coffee is also included and all this for $25. Please consider what this would cost at your local cafe.

For guests that are in a hurry in the morning and do not have time to sit down to enjoy a full buffet breakfast we can provide you with a take away boxed breakfast for $10 or for a really simple breakfast on the go we offer a coffee and muffin/pastry deal in the Vargas Bar for $5.

I hope this information helps you to avoid the unhealthy options in the airport precinct.
The team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as arrived at airport late at night & did not want to travel home until next morning due to distance.
Suburb – Tullamarine Airport
Date stayed – March 2013 - 1 Nights
No of people – 2 adults
Public Areas/Services
Lobby – Good spacious clean area. Also had a bar & meals area that we did not use.
Concierge/Staff service – Very Good although did not really require any service other than check in & check out. No assistance was offered with bags although it was close to midnight.
Location – Directly opposite Melbourne airport within easy walking distance even with luggage. Most facilities are at airport although there is a McDonalds directly opposite hotel.
Room
Quality – Good and clean
Size – Large double room with kitchenette
Condition – Main Room had been renovated although bathroom was a little dated (albeit clean)
View – Very good as we were on top floor. Could see aircraft landing. No noise experienced.
Facilities – Desk & safe. Good flat screen TV & modern fixtures & fittings except for bathroom.
Transport – Close to airport that provides services that you would expect from an international transport. I believe hotel may offer a shuttle service to airport. Also hotel had details of flight arrivals & departures on a TV monitor.

Overall Conclusion – Reasonable quality hotel that served our needs for short term stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your very comprehensive review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your brief stay. I do hope that on your next visit you are able to make use of our great value food & beverage outlets and avoid the unhealthy options in the airport precinct.
I am glad that you, like many of our guests noticed how quiet the hotel is even though we are so very close to the airport. We get this feedback a lot and is a great feature of the hotel that we are very proud of.
You are right that we do offer airport shuttles even though we are within an easy walk to the airport. The shuttles run 24 hours a day and are complimentary. This is a great option for all guests and works well with our park, stay and go packages that include the best value parking options in the airport precinct.
Thank you again for taking the time to review Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, the team and I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Melbourne.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We arrived at 11am from a long haul flight and was given a room immediately. The Room, king bed suite, was very comfortable, with all the mod cons, and was sound proofed.

Another good aspect is the hotel is only 2 minute walk from the airport. Which made it very handy.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The restaurant has a good menu, was not excessively priced, and the quality of the food was very good.

I recommend the Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport for anyone wanting a base near the airport, or perhaps a 2 day stay to 'get your feet' from a long haul flight. (Buses to the centre of Melbourne are easy to catch from the Airport arrivals area.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHG_Hotel, Ryan South Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback.
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the service and the facilities. Many guests often comment how quiet the rooms are even though we are so very close to the airport. I will be sure to pass your great feedback onto the team.
Hope to see you in Melbourne again soon.
Stay Real,
Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport

Address: 10-14 Centre Road, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located to cater for your travel needs, Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport is convenient for a stopover or for catching an early morning flight. Offering a relaxed atmosphere and stylish amenities, guest rooms have been designed with comfort and functionality in mind.Our friendly staff can easily arrange everything for you, including wake-up calls and arranging an airport shuttle. Recharge your batteries with a quick bite or cocktail in the Vargas Restaurant and Bar. Wifi is available in Vargas Bar free of charge for 1 hour. To make life easier, flight arrival and departure times are displayed on a FIDS monitor in these areas.The Hotel is located only 400m away from the Melbourne Airport on the corner of Melbourne Drive and Centre Road. Free Airport shuttle transfers are available. Driving distance from Airport to Hotel is only 2 minutes, and the hotel is located 20km from Melbourne Central Business District. Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport offers inclusive guest parking while staying in-house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.