We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I expect it's odd for people to spend more than one night in this hotel, given its main clientele are probably in-between flights or waiting for one. But I have now, twice for work, for 3 nights at a time. On each of these occasions I have been very impressed by the reception staff and pleased with the comfort of the rooms. The bathrooms are also a good size, including a separate shower and bath (which is unusual these days) and good quality ammenities, making the stay a little more luxurious. There are only two minor things to really comment on, one being the damaged blinds (as another reviewer has commented on). Both rooms I stayed in suffered from this, and it just seems a shame when everything else is immaculate. Also, unsurprisingly, everything 'in house' is very expensive. My advice would be to avoid room service and be prepared to take the short walk across the road (there's a covered walkway) into the International Terminal for meals. The cafe, 'Hightide', does excellent healthy food at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear flexitime23,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay.
As a return guest, I was so pleased to hear overall you enjoyed your stay, in particular our comfortable rooms, good quality amenities and the great service our team provided.
I was however disappointed to hear the blinds were damaged in your room. Please accept my sincere apologies, rest assured I have noted your comments and will pass your feedback onto our Engineering Department to review and follow up.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    395
    126
    34
    16
See reviews for
211
310
82
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here one night before doing the long trek to Boston.
We had paid for a runway view but when we got to out room we had a nice view of the car park.
It was late by this stage so we just went with it.
Apart from this the service was good.
Breakfast wasn't included so we ordered off the menu instead of the buffet which ended up costing the same amount
For both our breakfast as it would have for one buffet meal.
The breakfast was faultless. Our stay was short but overall we had a Very good expierence on our second return to this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear sparkles2,
Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.
I was terribly disappointed to read some of your experience did not meet your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies regarding you’ve been assigned a different room type upon check in. Rest assured I have noted your comments and will certainly pass you feedback onto our team to review and discuss further. I can assure you that your experience is not of our usual standard.
We trust we can welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is truly amazing, not only is it as close to the airport as you can get without actually sleeping in the airport, the staff I give 12/10.... Every single staff member was so helpful and courteous....went out of their way to help. I hope the CEO is giving them all regular bonuses. I had one little problem with one of my rooms, I reported it, that room was shut down immediately for maintenance and I was contacted by management.
Seriously, anyone that stays here will have an amazing experience....and I haven't even said how divine the food was yet.
Don't let the price of the rooms put you off, yes, it is on the higher end of pricing, however you get what you pay for. I will certainly be staying again, every time I fly I plan to go up the night before just so I can sty.
Thank you ParkRoyal staff, you all are amazing.

Room Tip: I had the king room with runway views on my first stay. Then I had a king room with city views on my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Tracey B,
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay.
I was so glad to read you had an amazing experience in our hotel, in particular the helpful and courteous service our staff provided.
I will certainly pass your positive feedback onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again when you next flight out.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in the evening after a long flight the room service menu was very limited. The staff on the phone did not no what the specials where and very unhelpful. It was to hard! We did not eat we where to tried to walk to mc Donald's.

The front of counter staff where great and checkout was easy and hassle free. The rooms where large and comfortable but the cost was expensive considering the room.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Andy W,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.
I was glad to hear you appreciated our large comfortable rooms and the service our Front Office team provided. I was however disappointed to read your room service experience did not meet your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies, rest assured I have noted your comments and will pass your feedback onto our Food and Beverage team.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we trust we can welcome you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, very well kept, apart from a broken blind. Our room was opposite the lift and i wish people would be more considerate by not talking so loudly during the night...the doors are actually hard to close quietly.
Bathrooms are large and very nice and very clean.
I went to reception to ask for a book of instructions for the hotel as ours was missing, the receptionist wouldn't give me one (she was convinced we already had one) as a result i had to keep calling them to ask questions which was annoying.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Meredith4,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to read you appreciated nice clean bathroom and our well-kept facilities. I was however disappointed to hear some of your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies, rest assured I have noted your comments and will pass your feedback onto our Front Office Department to review and discuss further.
Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having stayed here once before under a different hotel name I knew what to expect. The room I had was near identical to the previous stay.
A "superior" room was well fitted for the business traveller. Free access to wifi, a good working space and plenty of power outlets to charge phones and laptops.
Bathroom adequately equipped with high quality amenities, including good towels and a shower that functioned as showers should.
Bed was comfortable with an array of pillows to choose from.
Room service was ordered at 5pm when the menu stated dinner was at 6pm, no push back from them and meal was here promptly in 20 mins. The quality of the food was good.
Service manager called me to offer his ear should I have any requirements, this as a result of my agent contacting them. Nonetheless a professional approach to an obvious desire to provide an excellent service.
If I were picky, I'd point out the extreme dust on the mirror in the room ( picture below ) however I'm not, but worth mentioning for customer service development.
Obviously this is an airport hotel so you will hear planes, but the sound abatement attempts are excellent and a 2 min walk to the terminal without being exposed to the weather is great.
Having stayed in many airport hotels around the world this one offers a "superior" experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear David H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and you’ve been well looked after by our team. Rest assured I have noted your comments and will certainly pass your feedback onto our team.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giffard
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Excellent service, helpful staff, great position at airport, car park behind or half a block away, comfy room, great bed, sooo quiet, excellent shower and quality hygiene products. Very pleased I stayed here as hate that early morning rush to airport/parking/ etc etc. Just sleep well and walk over to departure lounge. Highly recommended !!!!

Room Tip: ask for room on East side, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear rarehols,
Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us with your fellow travelers.
I was so glad to read you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, in particular our great location, hotel facilities and the helpful service our team provided. I will certainly be passing on your positive comments to the team here at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Address: Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport hotel Feel connected at a hotel linked directly to the Melbourne Tullamarine Airport PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport offers an unrivaled connection to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. Rest before a flight or refresh yourself before heading home at our hotel, conveniently located adjacent to the airport with 276 spacious guest rooms. Enjoy city skyline and Runway views then walk directly to the terminal via skybridge from the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport hotel. Our friendly PARKROYAL People are on hand to help you discover the area’s best kept secrets. You’re just minutes away from Melbourne’s top sights and attractions. Explore the local neighbourhood or take a 10 minute drive to discover the popular Sunbury Wine Region. Or venture a little further to experience the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city centre, a haven of secret cafes, fashion finds and lush parklands just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.