We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short walk from the terminal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Canberra
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A short walk from the terminal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Qantas changed our overseas flight booking, so to enable we weren't 'fogged in' leaving Canberra we decided to fly to Melbourne the night before. We booked in to the Parkroyal, which is about a 2 minute walk across a walkway from the terminal. It was modern and clean and exceptionally quiet considering it is so close to the air traffic. We did not hear any planes. The beds were really comfortable, and the restaurant was good. The Parkroyal is not cheap, but for the convenience and savings on taxis etc, it is to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear AnnabelCanberra,
Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us to the future travelers.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed our great location to the airport and the Hotel facilities.
We sincerely hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back when you next visit Melbourne.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    424
    132
    37
    17
See reviews for
225
331
87
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night between flights on business trip. Easy walk from terminal. First impression great - classy and very professional service. Check in and out was super efficient. Hotel restaurant was top notch, 5 star menu and great service. Room service was efficient and professional. Great bed, very comfy. I'll be looking for an excuse to come back! Not cheap but you get what you pay for...and work was paying :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear JuliaAus,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I was so glad to read you had great experience in our hotel, in particular the professional service our team provided and our great location to the airport. I will certainly pass the great feedback onto our team.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The accommodation facilities are good - comfortable beds, good amenities, and it's exceptionally quiet given its location is so close to the airport.

The restaurant really lets this place down. You are better off going across the road to one of the pubs or food court restaurants at the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear queenbee1981,
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
I was pleased to read you appreciated our great location and good facilities.
I was however disappointed to hear your experience in our restaurant did not meet you expectation; I will certainly be following this up with our Food & Beverage Manager.
Thanks again for your feedback; I can assure you that your experience is not of our usual standard.
We trust we can welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nhill, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It was my second time staying here prior to going overseas. I was a little apprehensive; on my previous stay our rooms’ bathroom was filthy. This time the room was perfectly clean and my stay was much more enjoyable, great way to start my holiday off. We were given an upgrade to a higher floor with a run way view. My 3 year old daughter loved watching the planes take off and land, kept her amused for a good hour! I like booking a Park and Stay Twin Room, we parked for 10 nights. You arrive home after a long flight walk across to the hotel, pay for parking, get in your car and head home. Very easy. Thanks Parkroyal, we will be back on our next trip O/S in 2014.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Ashjay40,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.
As a return guest, I was so glad to read you were well looked after by our team and enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
Thanks for the positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our rooms; I will certainly pass your comments onto the team.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korumburra, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were catching a flight to Bangkok which left late am and as we live in the country it was far easier to stay somewhere over night. We had stayed at the PARKROYAL last year so we decided that we would do it again. We weren't sorry!!!. We got upgraded to a higher room with a view of the runways. Our check in was so easy and efficient. As we hadnt had dinner we choose to have a few snacks in the bar. They were very good and the price was right. The room had all the trimmings minibar, snacks and also free WiFi.
The bed was very comfortable while the room was very quiet. The buffet breakfast in the morning had everything and more, while the staff were very friendly & efficient.

Room Tip: If you want to see planes taking off and landing get a runway view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Michael93George,
Thank for taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.
I am so glad you decided to stay with us again, and am pleased you enjoyed your stay.
I will certainly pass your positive feedback onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed one night in a Family Room before our flight to the US the next day. Check in was quick and at this time we asked for the mini bar to be removed from the fridge in our room as we had our own water and drinks. The Parkroyal has one of those systems that if you move any mini bar item it is charged to your room.

Our room was large and looked back towards Melbourne. There was a king size bed on one side of the room and two single beds on the other. The bathroom had a bath and a separate shower. There was also a desk and chair. One thing we thought was strange was the two-seater couch positioned in front of the TV in the middle of the room. There was no way four people could fit on it! It was a family room, but some of the furniture did not really suit the intended occupants.

We had to call down twice to have ice delivered to the room as the mini fridge had no freezer section. We had ice packs that needed to be frozen for our flight in order to keep medication cold, so a freezer would have been very handy.

We also had to chase up the kid’s activity packs that were part of the room rate. They were nothing too exciting when we did eventually get them, but they kept the kids amused for awhile.

The beds were very comfortable and the room was quiet. We could hear muted sounds of aircraft taking off and landing, but it wasn’t a problem.

The kids had a swim in the hotel pool. The area around the pool needed a good clean or a bit of an upgrade. The floor surface looked dirty. The adjacent gym area was small but looked clean and well maintained.

We ate in the Airo Bar for dinner. There were tasty and well priced options available for both adults and kids.

Checkout the next morning was relatively quick, but we did have to wait until every single item from the mini bar was removed from our bill. So even though a member of staff had come to our room and removed everything from the fridge, it was still all charged to us. Once that was rectified, it was a quick five minute walk undercover to the terminals. Trolleys in the hotel foyer were handy in moving our considerable amount of luggage.

We stayed here for the convenience to the airport and overall the hotel was good. It was let down by a lack of communication between different staff areas and poor procedures.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Familyfun0509,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers.
I was pleased to read you appreciated our convenient location to the airport and hotel facilities. I was however disappointed to hear that some of your experience did not meet your expectation. Please accept my sincere apologies, rest assured I have noted your comments and will pass your feedback onto the team.
Once again, please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused and we trust we can welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here pre an international trip with an early morning flight.
Is a very short walk across the airbridge to the terminals (100m maybe?) Easy, even with luggage.
Nice and new feel to it still , even though its been there awhile now.
Had a runway view room, loved it, sat and ate my room service dinner and watched the planes coming and going. Could not hear the planes at all - great sound proofing here.
Room service food was good quality, and promptly delivered.
Lovely modern room, spacious, well fitted out.
Would recommend, but it is quite pricey ($250 per night)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig S, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear msjedsy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers.
I was glad you enjoyed our great location and hotel facilities, in particular the runway view and room service food. I will certainly pass your great feedback onto the team.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next traveling.
Kind Regards,
Craig Syphers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Address: Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport hotel Feel connected at a hotel linked directly to the Melbourne Tullamarine Airport PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport offers an unrivaled connection to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. Rest before a flight or refresh yourself before heading home at our hotel, conveniently located adjacent to the airport with 276 spacious guest rooms. Enjoy city skyline and Runway views then walk directly to the terminal via skybridge from the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport hotel. Our friendly PARKROYAL People are on hand to help you discover the area’s best kept secrets. You’re just minutes away from Melbourne’s top sights and attractions. Explore the local neighbourhood or take a 10 minute drive to discover the popular Sunbury Wine Region. Or venture a little further to experience the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city centre, a haven of secret cafes, fashion finds and lush parklands just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.