We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprisingly good airport hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Save Saved
You added PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advance Purchase
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tullamarine
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A surprisingly good airport hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Many airport hotels are pretty ordinary but this one is not - it's very good! You reach it by walking across from the airport or use the airbridge. The reception staff were very helpful and our room, though lacking a view - but what would you expect at an airport! - was nicely appointed and the bed was very comfortable. The restaurant and bar area was pleasant and the food was excellent and well priced. We will be back to use it next time we are in transit through Melbourne.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear tas_traveller1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers.
I was pleased to hear you enjoyed our convenient location, comfortable new beds, the food from our restaurant and bar and the helpful service our team provided.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    287
    108
    24
    8
See reviews for
146
209
52
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our trip to Australia. For an airport hotel this is a great choice. The rooms are very good and spacious. You even have a great view on Melbourne. Its quiet and has very good service.

Absolutely worth it if you are on transit or have an early flight out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear amadeu1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay including our great views of Melbourne.
We trust you had a nice trip to Australia and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

we arrived about 1.am in the morning on Saturday the 5th of April once agin the reception was manned and could not have been more helpful. Went into the room and asleep within minutes it is amazing that you are looking at the runway but cannot hear it, The breakfats room is light and open with really great breakfasts served any way you like,weel done .
We will be staying at the property whenever we travell O/s.
The best way is simply saying THANK YOU

Andrew & Rob room 734

Room Tip: Book a Runway room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear obancas,
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, including your runway view, breakfast and helpful service our team provided.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we have been twice to the parkroyal and as I am an avid planespotter, i loved the view i had. You could see all the planes, coming and going on the runways. The restaurant was nice as it had a huge choice of breakfast options. They provided you with a newspaper when asked. The reception people were extremely friendly. We slept ok in the room we had.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the view of the runways, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear hatzina,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with your fellow travellers following your recent stay.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed our runway view room, buffet breakfast options and friendly service our team provided.
I look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed there a night, liked the place. Opposite of the airport, clean and organise. Don't have much to say, as it went great.
If you planing to transit, or stay a night close by airport, highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear kaminoush,
Thank you for sharing your experience and recommending us to the future travellers following your recent stay.
I was glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our convenient location.
I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerang, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Other than the current improvements taking place at the oment it is very easy to get to and from the Parkroyal. Plenty of options for meals....room service, bar menu (same as room service) or restaurant which was nice but a little pricey and probably not as filling as the other options.
Rooms very neat and clean. Would use again and this is my third stay for convenience if flying out wee hours of the morning or getting in late.
Be wary of the room bar fridge.....remove items and they are charged to your account. This is an automatic sensor system which I removed an item to look at because I did not have my specs on........
Staff very friendly and informative. Enjoyed the stay and would recommend if you need some rest and cannot be bothered going into the city.

Room Tip: Beware the Bar fridge auto sensor............remove and you are charged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear JennyP59,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, especially our convenient location.
Our minibars are weight activated to charge each item automatically. On check out any corrections can be done if some items were not used.
Once again, thank you for recommending us to future travellers and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Good service with friendly front desk staff,

Great location just a tired old property that needs work

Rooms well appointed and functional although asked for Airport view and got low room Floor with limited views

Would normally stay at IHG property but they were wanting to charge a transport fee.

Would stay again but property does need work

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMPRMLA, General Manager at PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Kiwiholidays,
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay.
I was pleased to read you enjoyed our convenience location and friendly service our team provided.
Our ongoing refurbishment program continues following our bed & TV replacement, new carpet on the 5th floor Meeting & Events area and guest corridors completed in June last year. We have also scheduled furniture and equipment replacement in our Airo Restaurant and Bar for 2013.
Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and highlighting your concerns. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Michael Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport

Also Known As:
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel
Parkroyal Melbourne Airport Hotel Melbourne
Address: Arrival Drive, Melbourne Airport, Tullamarine, Victoria 3045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Tullamarine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Tullamarine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport hotel Feel connected at a hotel linked directly to the Melbourne Tullamarine Airport PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport offers an unrivaled connection to Melbourne Tullamarine Airport. Rest before a flight or refresh yourself before heading home at our hotel, conveniently located adjacent to the airport with 276 spacious guest rooms. Enjoy city skyline and Runway views then walk directly to the terminal via skybridge from the PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport hotel. Our friendly PARKROYAL People are on hand to help you discover the area’s best kept secrets. You’re just minutes away from Melbourne’s top sights and attractions. Explore the local neighbourhood or take a 10 minute drive to discover the popular Sunbury Wine Region. Or venture a little further to experience the hustle and bustle of Melbourne city centre, a haven of secret cafes, fashion finds and lush parklands just 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PARKROYAL Melbourne Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.