We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good suburban restaurant with a great new menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Firehouse

The Firehouse
253-257 Maroondah Hwy, Ringwood, Maroondah, Victoria 3134, Australia
03 9876 8100
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Ringwood
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A very good suburban restaurant with a great new menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We returned to the Firehouse for dinner on a Saturday night to celebrate a friend's birthday. The place was quite busy, - a testament to its popularity as a great place for a good meal. The service was very good, and the bill a reasonable $220 for the three of us (2 courses each, 2 side dishes coffees, mineral waters and five glasses of wine). My spiced lamb ribs were extremely tender and tasty with a healthy amount of zing that wasn't overpowering like some chilli dishes can be. On impulse I had the rabbit rissotto with cauliflower and (?) taleggio cheese for the main. It was made with pearl barley rather than arborio rice and it was delicious with a most wonderful stock infusing the dish. To finish we had a special birthday cake which the restaurant made for us.
From the comments of my companions about their differing choices the new menu is creative and original and very nice.
All-in-all a very good, enjoyable evening's dining and heartily recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    44
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Austalia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pleasant & Unusual surrounds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A converted Fire Station.
We were upstairs and had the Tapas Menu.
Nice food, good service. Pleasant staff.
I have had a girls night there and also an office Christmas party which went well. Will try the downstairs area next time I visit.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Loved the food - just fantastic place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

I tried to go for breakfast but hadn't booked, I couldn't wait for a table but this was a good sign so booked for dinner instead on the Saturday night. Family of 4 including 2 teenage sons and the menu catered for everyone. The tables are placed far apart so you're not listening to others conversations. The service is excellent, food well prepared and presented and with that I would highly recommend this restaurant. Total cost for 4 mains, 4 desserts and drinks $200. I'll be back when in Melbourne.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“great food, really great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

One of the best eating places in the outer eastern suburbs. We had the function room upstairs for a group of us, a lovely room, and we had a pre-chosen menu. We had chosen a 2 course menu for $45/head, plus drinks. The entrees were served on platters - we had lamb koftas, calamari and rocket salad, a veal and pork terrine, bean and garlic dip, and hand cut chips. We had a choice of one of 5 mains. I had salmon, perfectly cooked, with black lentils, and it was simply delish. High quality food, well organised, great venue.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location for a beer and a bite to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The food was good,not great but realized that the business is more suited to drop in drink and eat rather than sit down evening meal. Small selection food but generally covers all types.
Yes will go again but not for restaurant type meal in evening but for brunch!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Firehouse also viewed

Ringwood, Maroondah
Ringwood, Maroondah
 

Been to The Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Firehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.