We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Ringwood Chinese Restaurant

The Ringwood Chinese Restaurant
Shop 5, 68 Maroondah Hwy, Ringwood, Maroondah, Victoria 3134, Australia
(03) 9879 2277
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 72 Restaurants in Ringwood
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

We struggled to get food at our table all afternoon, drinks were ordered but never came and the food was very ordinary by any standard.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Chinese to drool for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Ringwood Chinese will offer you the regular options of any other Chinese restaurant but look past the usual menu options and try something different. The sizzling plates are great and care is taken to ensure the customer is happy. Our group of 10 ate for $200 with desserts included. Give them a try. You won't be disappointed !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not good for take away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Got chicken and veggies and mushrooms as well as honey chicken. Both dishes were not good.
The vegetables were basically lettuce pieces and the mushrooms were gross. The honey chicken is chicken with the sauce on the side for dipping and was beyond greasy.
This is the second time I've gotten take away so I will not be giving it another chance.
The decor inside looked quite nice, however it appeared as if the staff was slow and under age.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“What a great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Knew it was going to good from the moment we walked in....Lots of friendly Australian/chinese staff and guests...Indeed we were on of few Aussie tables which was very pleasing as always believe if that the local chinese like it it must be good. Staff were fabulous and meal was sumptous...car parking was easy...will definetaly go back again

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Yum Cha in Eastern Suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food in a hidden location. Very fresh and made in house,well presented. although staff did not speak English.Our order arrived beautifully served. We think it was the best Yum Cha we have ever had.Roast duck was a stand out. Squid tentacles were delicious.We eat Yum Cha on a regular basis.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ringwood Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Ringwood, Maroondah
Ringwood, Maroondah
 
Ringwood, Maroondah
Ringwood, Maroondah
 

Been to The Ringwood Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ringwood Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.