We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grumpy and expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Village

Jade Village
602a Whitehorse Rd, Mitcham, Whitehorse, Victoria 3132, Australia
(03) 9873 5238
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 Restaurants in Mitcham
Restaurant details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Grumpy and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a large group of people for a Tuesday night. Unfortunately the person who was supposed to book didn't and as more people arrived, the waiter became more and more grumpy as tables had to be moved (not an ideal situation, but our fault). They seemed grumpy for the rest of the night (which was understandable) but we very much felt unwelcome. The food was very expensive and we considered leaving but we didn't feel we could. I shared an entree with a friend because of the cost and another friend felt a ill after having a seafood dish. Will never go back again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice service average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Easy access & parking. Service quick and pleasant. Food is pretty average. If you are ordering rice just order plain rice. Special fried rice is pitiful. I've been to so many Chinese restaurants and never had special fried rice with just few bits of pork and bit of diced shallots, It was pretty much fried plain rice.Lamb and chicken dishes, prawn appetizers and desert were pretty average. Fried spicy squid was exceptionally good. They have almost $25 price limit per person on Friday and Saturdays and all prices on the menu we realised excluding GST!!! That was the first for us too.We went there for my husbands b'day after reading all the reviews and bitterly disappointed. There are so many better Chinese restaurants around Doncaster for more value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Chinese Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Once a visit to a Chinese restaurant was an everyday event, or at least it was a good standby. Not having been to the Jade Village we ventured out on a cold rainy night to be greeted with honest old fashioned service. The atmosphere and patronage soon attested to a very enjoyable night with some of the best Chinese food had for some years. A visit that will not be our last. Reasonay priced with a great range of courses. Fully licensed and BYO.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Chinese Food doesn't get better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the most divine chinese food I have ever tasted. A family owned restaurant, always welcoming, they cook the best food as freshly as possible, cater for intolerances ie coeliac disease, and I can't eat onion, so they don't put onion in anything. They are so helpful, welcoming and the quality of the food, service and price is fantastic.
Highly, highly recommend. Take away also available.
Love the jigsaws framed on the walls, but love the owners for the caring and happy personalities. Good on you William and Mabel - don't ever retire! Pleeeaaseeeee..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Victoria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We have been visiting this restaurant for the past 25 years. The food is second to none (especially the Peking duck!). The owners William and Mabel are absolutely lovely people and treat you like family. They could easily be god parents to my daughter! By far the best quality food and always fresh

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Village also viewed

 
Mitcham, Whitehorse
 

Been to Jade Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.