We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need accommodation in the Eastern Suburbs - this will do the trick.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Hotel Manor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Hotel Manor to your Saves list
Quality Hotel Manor
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   669 Maroondah Highway | (Whitehorse Road), Mitcham, Whitehorse, Victoria 3132, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitcham
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“If you need accommodation in the Eastern Suburbs - this will do the trick.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

This review is based upon a one night stay only in which we needed to stay in the suburbs. The accommodation is in the Eastern Suburbs of Melbourne about 20 kms from the city. It is well placed to visit the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Valley wine district (need a car). It is within walking distance of the train to Melbourne (MCG Football and other sports venues, galleries and museums, Yarra Bank) but the train trip is about 30 mins. The accommodation is clean and all was serviceable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The building is about 30 years old and, in places, shows its age. This does NOT mean it is run down. Far from it - the paint looks fresh and the building well presented. There is no lift and most accommodation is on level 2. There is an accessible room at ground level. Covered car park. Quiet location. A full buffet b/fast is offered at w/ends. No yoghurt but otherwise standard fare. Many locals use the restaurant for dinner and b/fast. We will book again if the need arises.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    14
    9
    9
See reviews for
8
19
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Constant Traveller
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
315 helpful votes 315 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel delivers good value and service. It’s plain and far from glamorous, maybe even a little bit dowdy, but certainly more than acceptable for normal business travel.

If you are working on the east side of Melbourne, this hotel is very conveniently located. It’s in the suburb of Mitcham, near Ringwood, Croydon, Lilydale, Kilsyth, Bayswater and Mooroolbark. That puts it at least 20 miles outside of Melbourne, and about a $100 taxi ride from the Melbourne airport.

I’m guessing the building is thirty years old at least. It’s a two-story facility without any elevators, so pack light! The colors are classic seventies, but the paint is fresh, the carpets clean and the public areas very suitable.

My room was of generous size, with a comfy bed and both a good desk AND a seating area around a table. (I was able to do my stretching exercises and push-ups without moving any furniture, which is unusual.) The plumbing is old but certainly serviceable. The bathroom door had been damaged and only partially repainted -- see photo below -- somewhat irritating. The windows open (a big plus in my mind) and traffic noise is minimal.

Breakfast was a little bit expensive, to my mind, but they had a modest buffet and served cooked-to-order eggs as well. The serving staff was VERY pleasant, which makes a nice start to the day.

The best part of the day was Mullen Mullen Park, newly built as part of the Eastlink highway tunnel construction. To get there, walk out the front door of the hotel, turn right and walk up hill about 200 steps. Turn right and go down the hill 700 steps. The park is at the bottom of the hill. Turn left, go under the freeway and enjoy. The park features running trails, bike trails and a fabulous stream with all sorts of flowers and plants. I went there three days in a row and enjoyed it every day. The trails are clearly marked, bridges span the stream, and I went probably 3 km into the park and still don’t know where it ends. A great find!

All in all, this is a very acceptable hotel for business traveler who doesn’t need to be in the Melbourne central business district. It ain’t fancy, but the price was fair, so it’s an acceptable value.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This was billed as 4 star which it definitely is not! After booking in, we were advised that there is no elevator. The stairwell from the carpark was dirty and certainly did not create a good first impression. There were many maintenance issues, particularly in the bathroom. On the first night, we placed our breakfast menu under the door around midnight (we had been advised we had until 2am to do this). The following morning, it was still there. The hotel then collected it but on arrival, 2 out of the 3 breakfasts were inedible. After many other minor issues, on the morning we left, the front desk initially declined to bring our luggage down saying they were "too busy". Definitely not a good experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Couldn't find too much wrong during our one-night stay at Quality Manor in Mitcham. The location is not really suitable for visiting central Melbourne (20-odd kilometres away) but if you need to visit the eastern suburbs, as we did, then you can't go wrong here. The rooms are clean, reasonably modern and well equipped. The staff are not overly friendly but are courteous and businesslike. Our $160 room included three buffet breakfasts, with plentiful food. There's an underground carpark, though no lift, so you've got to lug cases up stairs. Other than breakfast we didn't try the restaurant, though it looks to be quite popular. I'd definitely stay at this hotel again if the need arose.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

This is an okay hotel however it is about 22kms from melbourne city centre so you'd definitely need a car and to avoid the eastlink need to get out at Springvale road. We only ended up here cause our trip clashed with the F1 GP and the hotel prices going through the roof for that weekend in and near the city
The positives are
*Undercover car park
*Decent size rooms
*Relatively quiet
*okay restaurant
*24 hour reception
The negatives are
*no information about cot prices anywhere on their own or booking websites. It is expensive at $20 a night when you can find other hotels with better cots at $10 or even sometimes free. I found out too late about this charge and the booking was not refundable
*Too far away from the city
*Asking price is sometimes expensive. It is definitely worth more than $80 -$100 motels, probably fair price if you pay $110 to $120 a night but anything 130 or over means you are overpaying for the stay unless you're the business type who could not care less
* Apparently you do not qualify for choice privileges points if your night rate is $120

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

I've stayed here a few times (my family lives in the area) and I am more than happy to keep coming back. They have been virtually incident free stays; the hotel is really clean, staff are friendly and its usually ultra-quiet. The restaurant isn't overly cheap, but it's popular. I think if you get a shopper docket from a supermarket in the area you might find it becomes much better value. Free parking always helps. There's no pool, but that doesn't concern me at all. No gym, but there is free access to an offsite gym up the road. The biggest downside is getting into the one-way service lane off the Maroondah highway. If you are a first-timer it can be tricky coming from any direction other than the west.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

I am regularly in the Eastern Suburbs of Melbourne on business but this was the first time I stayed at this hotel and i was more than happy with my stay. The staff where very warm and welcoming and the room was quiet, clean and very spacious. The restaurant was great with some very nice steaks, the only downside was the gym was off site but it was a very large fully equipped genesis gym with free access from the hotel so that made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Hotel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Manor

Address: 669 Maroondah Highway | (Whitehorse Road), Mitcham, Whitehorse, Victoria 3132, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Mitcham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mitcham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Manor offers boutique accommodation just 20 mins from Melbourne, a short drive from the Dandenong Ranges and Yarra Valley. We provide a 24-hour Reception, 24-hour room service and complimentary undercover parking. We boast 34 spacious suites and 2 executive spa suites, with contemporary decor and a variety of added features. We have a fully licensed Restaurant open 7 nights a week, conference facilities, as well as a 24 hour business centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Quality Hotel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Manor Mitcham, Greater Melbourne, Australia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Hotel Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.