We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only way to walk the GOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Johanna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk
Save
You added Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk to your Saves list
70 Stafford Rd, Johanna, Victoria 3238, Australia (Formerly Bothfeet Walking Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The only way to walk the GOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We did the Great Ocean Walk self guided, based at Bothfeet Walking Lodge. Everything was wonderful. The staff, Belinda, Bea, Ha and Gavin were all great and nothing was too much trouble. The food was fantastic. A yummy breakfast followed by morning tea and lunch prepared for us to take on our daily hike. Then the welcoming afternoon tea when we arrived back at the lodge. Finally a scrumptious three course dinner, no wonder we have put on weight even after walking 104 km!! The rooms are spacious and open out on to bush land, with wrens, kookaburras, and resident wallaby with joey and currawong to keep us entertained. Both the lodge and walk were most enjoyable and I would highly recommend doing the GOW through Bothfeet, either self guided or guided.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have this just returned from completing the Great Ocean Walk with Bothfeet. We had done guided multi-day walks (as had a number of our fellow walkers) in New Zealand and Tasmania which we enjoyed immensely, so expectations were high.

We opted for the 7-day self-guided walk, and Bothfeet didn't disappoint. Gavin, Ha, Belinda and Bee were extremely friendly, knowledgeable, accommodating and, importantly, patient.

The walk is well signed, but the track notes, maps and flora and fauna information provided gave me, at least, an added sense of confidence. The weather was, for the most part, appalling, but the thought of a foot spa, a hot shower, a glass of wine, a delicious 3-course dinner and, finally, a warm room and comfortable bed couldn't help but make all well with the world. The food was amazing, and I'd be tempted to challenge anyone who claimed to have lost weight!

Weather permitting, ask the staff to light a fire in the pit and enjoy the stars.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

we did see two at very close range (literally eyeball-to-eyeball) on the second day of our hike. Keep reading!
First, back to basics-- it is hard to separate Bothfeet Lodge from the Great Ocean Walk--that is the whole reason for its existence, and it provides a great option for walkers who are looking for a touch of luxury at the end of a great hiking day in the form of comfy large room, hot shower, big bathroom and an outstanding dinner cooked by resident Vietnamese chef Ha. My husband and I booked the 4 day, 3 night private tour which was perfect for us. Owner Gavin Ronan picked us up at our Melbourne hotel, got us to the lodge about mid-day, and we started the first walk, which included jumping the mighty Joanna River (ok, only 3 feet wide, but crashing waves did make it a bit tricky). Our guide Belle was excellent, and after hiking all day, helped out with dinner at night. Ha makes great lunches that you eat on the trail, plenty to eat for breakfast, and, if weather permits, hot soaking tubs for your feet at the end of your hiking day. The hikes each day are beautiful, alternating between forests, and cliffs with everything in-between. For my husband and I (both senior citizens) it was quite a good challenge--and really made us appreciate how grand it was to come back to the same clean, modern, spacious lodge every night as opposed to trying a hut-to-hut walk. We unpacked once, were driven to the trailhead, picked up in the afternoon, free time, then great dinner. We did have some rain, so right gear is important. My waterproof boots, waterproof jacket, layers of thermals, Buff scarf--combined with waterproof pants and great Osprey day packs provided by Bothfeet--made all the difference when rain equals passed through. In between, off came the layers for spectacular scenery and great hiking, some trails a little rough, but most very well maintained. Which brings us to wildlife. Because we got some heavy some heavy rain at night, we switched out the second day for better trail conditions--which took us through Great Otway National Park (including the Lighthouse) via the trail nearest Lighthouse Road and this is where we saw above mentioned koala eyeball to eyeball and just five feet off the trail--and second one just a little down the way. Because this is wildlife we are talking about--and not a preserve, don't count on seeing that same koala in the same place if you hike this same trail. However, on the drive to the trailhead we saw many (I think 50--Gavin said he thought about 30) koalas in the eucalyptus trees next to the road. When we left the trail that day, we saw more, including one mother with her joey, that we stopped to photograph (not as close as trail koala, but still very low in the tree and easy to see). I think spotting this many koalas in the wild is amazing--and because they are picky about what they eat (only favorite kind of eucalyptus) there is a good chance of knowing general area if not specific spot where they will be. Also, outside the large dining room window, one night at dinner, we spotted a mother wallaby with her joey in pouch coming to the spring in the lodge's big back yard. So, hiking is great, wildlife on our visit unexpected fab bonus. As a luxury lodge for hikers, Bothfeet is as good as it gets--a five star hiking/hutting experience at its best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything about this trip - the lodge, its staff (with particular appreciation of our guide Lance), their organisation and provision of all of the kit (weather gear - waterproof jacket and pants, gaiters, walking sticks, backpack, etc. etc. etc.) and care of any blisters/injuries sustained, the walk, the scenery, the meals lived up to and exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and room service not applicable. All rooms are surrounded by beautiful bushland - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We did the walk with 5 couples in total, choosing to leave our kids at home. Absolutely magnificent walks over 3 days (including middle day that was long and reasonably challenging... earning our beer / wine and 3 course dinner at the lodge). Accommodation at lodge was first rate. Pre walk I was thinking staying in one place and being bussed to & from the walk each day was cheating... but I 100% came around. Lodge was great (compared to other walkers we met who had to carry tents and food... where's the holiday?). The hosts were fantastic. Fed us well. Right balance of friendliness, but also leaving us a happy group. Big contrast day v night - but that was perfect.

Room Tip: All good. My wife & I had a quite separate lodgings furtherest from dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We walked the GOW (7-day self-guided option) staying at bothfeet walking lodge and were supported in style and comfort! This ecco lodge has a wonderful esthetic beauty yet a simple ambiance, in keeping with a walking holiday. The rooms were spacious and beds very comfortable! The lodge has a drying room which allows for quick turnover of wet or laundered clothing.

Gavin and his staff (Ha and Jason while we were there) provide a level of service and support that can't be faulted. They were genuinely interested in their guests and were warm and welcoming, whether early in the morning or after a long day's walk. The meals were gourmet standard and the lunches packed for us were a treat we looked forward to every day! The foot spa (with a glass of champagne) was a highlight after a 7-8 hour day of walking.

This was one of the best active holidays we've ever had, and will look forward to similar walking experiences in future. But I believe it will be hard for any other walking to experience to beat this for overall pleasure and satisfaction! We would highly recommend bothfeet to anyone wanting to do the GOW!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My husband and I had the best time on the 4 day tour. Almost nothing to complain about, except we had particularly hot weather and so a fan in the room would have been useful. The food was terrific, the rooms lovely but the service and the atmosphere was the highlight. The walk is really the best way to see that part of Australia and the helicopter ride topped it off. Gavan is the best possible host and Jason the guide is very professional and a big spunk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk

Address: 70 Stafford Rd, Johanna, Victoria 3238, Australia (Formerly Bothfeet Walking Lodge)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Johanna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Johanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk brings together only ten like-minded people at a time, peels away the stress, importance and busyness of every day, fills you with clean, lovely air and puts life back on track, one step at a time. Nourished daily with choice morsels prepared by chef and encouraged on trail by our nurturing eco-guides, you will be brave and fearless in the pursuit of adventure. Our many good deeds remind how much you needed this. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk Johanna/Great Ocean Road

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve Apostles Lodge Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.