We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in the 80's” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel on Canterbury to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel on Canterbury
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road and Canterbury Road, Forest Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3131, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest Hill
Buderim, QLD
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Back in the 80's”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 1 night at the Clarion on Canterbury, as it was handy to the meeting the next day. It reminds me of something out of the 80's. The bed was fine; it was clean. The breakfast was ok, but with the baked beans and the hashbrown straight from Aldi, it was a bit dated. The TV must have been from 1995 (or earlier), but they had the original room info / program selection. Looked like the bathroom might have had space for a washer and dryer. Room on Canterbury Road, so fortunately I am an early riser or the car noise from accelerating away from the lights would have really annoyed me. But it was handy to work.
So if you just need a bed, and don't mind paying hotel prices for a motel standard. Fine.

Room Tip: Get a room facing off the street frontage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
12
6
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and shared with some friends. The room was situation over two floors with two bedrooms and two full bathrooms. Although the decor was outdated, the hotel served its purpose well. There was a fully equipped kitchen in the room as well.
The only gripe I had was that the tv was small, old and and difficult to use. Appeared that the batteries were getting old...
Nice hotel that needs a face left soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Staff were friendly at desk and in restaurant. Rooms need updating couldn't believe all rooms didn't have flat screen TV's and bed had seen better days. stayed in executive spa suite so expected more for the rate. it was convenient location based on facilities alone would not return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo_Bisogno, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Craftboy,

Thankyou for your review on our Hotel, as it is greatly appreciated. We apologise that your stay with us was not up to your standard, but we are in the process of upgrading all our facilities. If you decided to stay with us in the future you will find that our upgrade may suite all your needs.
Hope to see you in the coming future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed here on three occasions and have never experienced anything but excellent friendly service from all the staff that I have been in contact with from front desk to housekeeping and the restaurant as well as the hotel manager" think his name is Ugo "also must mention the other staff as they do make the place run smooth, such as Laura from front desk and Cheree from housekeeping making sure my room was always serviced and always greeting you when she passed you in the hallways,also must mention the young happy restaurant supervisor Yanto for making the early morning breakfast start worth getting up for. Breakfast is fantastic ,great selection of food.
The rooms are quite and the beds are comfy . The hotel is in a good location to public transport and shopping centres.
Would recommend staying here for a quite get away from Melbourne city.
A big thank you to everyone!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Will stay here next time we holiday in Melbourne.
Didn't know about the hotel, found it on this site. Love using Tripadvisor most reviews were generally good.
Service was great. Really enjoyed our stay. Good location out of CBD.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night at Clarion on Canterbury when we were in Melbourne for a wedding, our rooms were wonderful and the staff very friendly and helpful. Daniella on Reception is an absolute gem, I had previous phone conversations with her prior to our arrival regarding local hairdressers and amenities and I must say she was so helpful and it was lovely to meet her and put a face to the name. Thanks Daniella!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo_Bisogno, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear CMF Australia,
Thankyou for your time, as your comments are invaluable to the running of our business in the most efficient and effective way.
We are pleased your stay with us has been a memorable one, and with the help of our friendly customer orientated staff, we will ensure that all your future stays with us will be just as memorable. Your special thanks will be forwarded to Daniella.

Kind Regards
Ugo Bisogno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane QLD
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights this month for business. It is on the corner of two major arterial roads and even though my room was facing one of them, I didn't hear that much noise. The check-in staff were friendly and the Asian Gentleman that runs breakfast is a bit of character. He is a real gentleman. The room was quite nice and I would definitely stay there again. It has a nicer feel than some of the other hotels close by.

It did have a free Minibus as well which would drive you to local amenities. It is only roughly 2kms from Nunawading station. and there are plenty of buses nearby as well. Major shopping centre is also only about 400 metres roughly up the road.

I never had diner there but it looked a nice atmosphere from what I could see.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the back and that way you won't be facing either of the main roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ugo_Bisogno, Manager at Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Good Afternoon Camviv
We are pleased to hear that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We pride ourselves in ensuring that all our patrons are well looked after and we are able to service them in the best manner possible.
We look forward to seeing you once again in any future travel.
Kind Regards
Ugo Bisogno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel on Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel on Canterbury

Address: 326 - 330 Canterbury Road | Corner Springvale Road and Canterbury Road, Forest Hill, Whitehorse, Victoria 3131, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Whitehorse > Forest Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Forest Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Clarion Hotel on Canterbury 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old World Charm, 21st Century Outlook. Elegant and sophisticated. Dramatic and memorable. Enjoy the luxury of our 72 rooms and suites, dine in the distinctive Oliver's Restaurant, or the relaxed Atrium. Our 6 innovative and flexible function rooms provide the perfect environment for any event from 2 to 200 guests. We are here to provide you, our special guests, with a truly memorable and authentic hospitality experience. DINING Oliver's Restaurant offers unparalleled dining in Melbourne's eastern suburbs. Imaginative cuisine prepared by our International chef's, impeccable service and a classic charm. The Atrium - modern fare in a relaxed, casual atmosphere. Perfect for pre - function cocktails or a more casual approch to dining and functions WEDDINGS Intimate setting, unique decor, extravagant and luxurious personal touches. Let us host your most special day. Our Wedding Consultant will personalise your day and oversee every detail, to give you a truly 5 star Wedding experience. MEETINGS AND EVENTS Classic elegance meets 21st. Century business accumen. The Clarion Hotel on Canterbury is only 20 minutes from Melbourne's CBD and the ideal venue for Executive conferences, meetings, Training days, workshops, Product launches and more. Our experienced Conference team will assist you in presenting a first rate event in a professional environment fitted with todays technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel on Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion On Canterbury
Clarion Melbourne
Melbourne Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel on Canterbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.