We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peking Duck -yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plume Chinese Restaurant

Plume Chinese Restaurant
546 Doncaster Road, Doncaster, Manningham, Victoria 3108, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 40 Restaurants in Doncaster
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Peking Duck -yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Monday lunch is always very quiet and it was here too. The service was professional yet not over powering, a change from the flower drum. Three for lunch and the Peking duck for $70 was more than enough for all of us. The service was a treat with the waiter carving the duck in front of us wearing white gloves.

Added a few vegetables and rice, perfect meal.

Overall high end Chinese and worthwhile, will be back again thank you

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    18
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice food...when it arrived”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Waiter obviously forgot to put our order into the kitchen. After waiting 45 mins for the first course of our banquet, we called over a server. It wasn't long before we were bombarded with too much food all at once. The food was of a good standard. Service average. Also a little pricey

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Turned right off and cant recommend now”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We foolishly went on Mothers Day when they have 3 sittings for lunch. They were not ready at the appointed time and we had to stand toe to toe inside or freeze outside for half an hour! People were pushing to get out - it was a real bunfight! Thank goodness we did not take our elderly mother. My daughter aged 32 almost had a panic attack. When we were finally seated the service was slow and the food was cold. We have been at least 10 times before with good food but this was a disgrace. The waiter forgot to get my kids their lemonades...could go on and on.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We attended with a group of 5 adults and 2 children for a Friday lunch. Service was great, we were never out of food, food quality was great. They took our birthday cake and bought it out for us. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This place used to be an an absolute favourite, for many years, BUT ....now you always feel like you are getting ignored and being offered a different menu because we are not Asian. Average yum-cha choices and cold offerings

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plume Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Doncaster, Manningham
Doncaster, Manningham
 

Been to Plume Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plume Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.