We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting awayt from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lemonthyme Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lemonthyme Lodge to your Saves list
Lemonthyme Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   770 Dolcoath Rd | off Cradle Mountain Road, Moina, Tasmania 7306, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canberra
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Getting awayt from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed at Lemonthyme is a luxury spa suite for two nights including breakfast and dinner. Reaching the lodge is a bit of a chore as it is 8km down a dirt road, but the trip is worth it. It is a lovely secluded spot with bushwalks and fine food at both dinner and breakfast. In addition, you can watch the local possums and pademelons being fed each night.

The lodge is closebyish to the delights of Cradle mountain, but be aware there is a bit of a drive to get there.

The luxury spa suites are gigantic and lovely, very pleasant place to chill out. A few minor housekeeping issues did not detract from what was a fantastic stay, thoroughly enjoyable in all respects.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    69
    30
    15
    9
See reviews for
25
127
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed for two nights with my 12 year old son who wanted to explore the area and see some of the wildlife. We had a cosy two bedroomed lodge. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome. Enjoyed the food and surroundings. After a long day out it felt like returning home. The long drive is difficult and needs care but adds to the feeling of seclusion.
Seeing the animals around and watching them being fed in the evening was a real treat. My son was delighted to be allowed to help with the feeding. A big 'thank you ' to the staff for making this such a memorable trip, this hotel is thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Loved this place - certainly not the cheapest place on earth but if you would like a little luxury whilst around Cradle Mountain I would highly recommend Lemonthyme lodge.

We stayed in a tree-top Villa and took out their winter fireside special including a 3 course dinner for two and a buffet breakfast. Loved the fact there were no Tv's in the lodge and they accomodation is very spacious and homely - loved the warm in wintery feel. Very romantic.

The staff were very friendly and our dinner was beautiful although our original piece of Wallaby was overcooked the staff were very friendly and brought back a better dish the second time around after we drew it to their attention. Desserts are amazing.

I also loved the fact you could feed the animals just outside at around 8.

After dinner we retreated to the fireplace in the large log cabin to finish our beautiful bottle of Tasmanian red.

There are also bushwalking tracks around this place that I would have loved to explored but we ran out of time.

As we left the staff gave us a complimentary package of water and apples for our trip south - a small touch but so friendly and unexpected. Great that its very peaceful and surrounded by nature but I did feel a little bit car sick coming around that long windy gravel road in both directions - its a bit dangerous too so take it easy!

When I come back to cradle mountain I will come here again!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

We stayed at Lemonthyme Lodge for 1 night recently and could not fault a thing.
We booked a luxury cabin that included a bed, breakfast and dinner package. The luxury cabins are very spacious and furnished and fitted out very nicely. The bathrooms are huge and have a spa bath looking out onto the bush and are very private.

The food, dinner and breakfast was extremely good and all staff are very friendly. After dinner you can sit by the huge log fire and sip port and coffee before retiring for the night.
The drive in is along a dirt road for 8klms and does add to the isolation of LL .You do need to take care around the bends and drive to the conditions.
There are some wonderful walks that you can do ranging from easy to very hard all add to the experience of being in the beautiful bush in Tasmania.
After breakie you can meet “Sniffy” the local pademelon that will greet you at the front door while waiting for his breakie.
Our only regret of our stay is that we could not stay longer, It’s a beautiful lodge. Well run by the owners and worth the effort of getting there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, NSW Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights prior to conference in Hobart. Excellent choice. Easy check-in great rooms, wonderful food. Only short drive to Dove Lake for glorious walk. Next G mobile did work - bummer!!. Do yourself a favour and visit this place before too long.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

We stayed on a package deal that included evening meal and fully cooked breakfast in a tree top cabin for $255.00. On arrival, our gas fire was going, the bed lamps were on, little touches that were appreciated. Room quality exceeded our expectations, meals were lovely. Only minor criticism was that the wine list was a little on the expensive side. Walks to waterfalls were beautiful, service was fantastic for our entire stay. It isnt at Cradle mountain if thats what you want but it is only about 35 minutes away and it is a beautiful, secluded location in its own right. We cant recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2009

My wife and myself had a booking 13th and 14th January.
we stayed upstairs in the lodge. The tempeture was 33 deg all night and very noisy.
Spoke to the front desk about getting a room change or some sort of cooling, could not help us. Next day we left losing our extra days payment. everybody we talk to we let know what a pittaful place it was. one of there staff staff told me that it is always really hot uptairs due to the shape of your building. also to add salt to our wounds while we were booking out, the front desk manager told us that she could have move us into a outside room but didnt want to interupt us during dinner the night before as we looked so happy.
most of rhe staff were very nice and helpful.
Never Again

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemonthyme Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemonthyme Lodge

Address: 770 Dolcoath Rd | off Cradle Mountain Road, Moina, Tasmania 7306, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Moina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Moina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemonthyme Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lemonthyme Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemonthyme Hotel Moina
Lemonthyme Lodge Tasmania/Moina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemonthyme Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.