We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Penguin Stop Cafe

Penguin Stop Cafe
Lot 111 Nat Thomas Street, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
+61 8 8553 1348
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Penneshaw
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $12
Cuisines: International, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were recommended to go here by a local, unfortunately the staff seemed rude and the food was very poor value for money. This was the only disappointing experience of our 10 days on KI.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hungry travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

On arrival, we need to find a nice little place for lunch. Penguin Stop Cafe was recommended to us and as we hadn't sen any of the island, we drove around to find this little place. Service was very friendly, a bit slow but the food enjoyable. The whiting two of us ordered wasn't as fresh and exciting as we anticipated but that was the only negative comment.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penneshaw, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
“Good food and Best Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The staff are very friendly.The egg and bacon burger was unreal and the coffee is the best on Kangaroo Island.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice coffee & deserts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My partner and I stopped here for coffee twice during our stay. The coffee was of good quality and the deserts we ordered were also quite nice.. Would stop by again :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely divine melting moment and chili chocolate brownie AND gigantic beef burger and lamb gyros, both soo tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Anyone looking for great food and atmosphere in Penneshaw - this is a must stop! Everything we ate was so carefully prepared and presented lovely. I am a foodie and it was a great dining experience. Not well advertised to me even though small town so make your way there. In door and outdoor seating.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penguin Stop Cafe also viewed

Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
 
Willoughby, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Penguin Stop Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penguin Stop Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.