We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Island Seafront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kangaroo Island Seafront to your Saves list
Kangaroo Island Seafront
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 North Terrace, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penneshaw
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is on the esplanade overlooking the beautiful ocean a and greenery of KI.
Greeted by a lovely lady who gave us a full run down of the hotel and penneshaw..
Due to previous tripadvisor posts about the seafront room I was expecting it to be small, but was happily surprised. Very comfortable size for a couple with a lovely balcony overlooking the ocean.
Cafes, hotels and take away all within walking distance. Glad we chose penneshaw to stay and not kingscote

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear B0bla

Thankyou for choosing to stay at the Kangaroo Island Seafront and taking the time to share your thoughts. It was pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and enjoyed the town of Penneshaw. We hope to welcome you to the Kangaroo Island Seafront again.

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    88
    47
    22
    7
See reviews for
29
112
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently stayed for our last night on KI. It was a shame it rained as we would have loved to have used the pool and the putt putt golf. We stayed in the older garden cottages but you really would not know they are older. Modern inside with lovely decor. Friendly staff and a lovely hot and cold buffet breakfast the following morning. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This accommodation was on a lovely part of Kangaroo island, we had a very comfortable room right on the end of the block which was very very windy. The shower facilities were better than most and there was a lovely cooked breakfast included in our package which was brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

It seems the days we tried to book on the island were quite busy and the very last room available was the Budget 2 Bedroom cottage so we took it.
As we knew this was the budget room for where we were staying, we knew not to expect anything amazing. This cottage was very cute and very large. There were 2 good sized bedrooms and a small bathroom which just had a shower and a toilet.
We were completely satisfied with the accommodation for the purposes we needed it for.
The breakfast was not included in our package and seeing as we had to catch the 7.30am ferry, we didn't have much choice but to purchase the buffet breakfast as there was not an a la carte option available. The food was nice but it seemed expensive for the place we were staying in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The room smells a strong paint that makes us sick. I was outside the room for 2 hours with door and balcony door open but still. I checked with reception for possibility of moving to another she said nothing, i asked if there is anything to refresh the room she does not have. Terrible! Getting sick during vacation is not good at all especially if because of your motel!!!they care for your money and credit card only. If you want to enjoy your vacation find some place to stay not here in kangaroo island seafront.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seafront49, Manager at Kangaroo Island Seafront, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear 210mae,

Thank you for your comment in the leading traveler website tripadvisor.com. I regret that our hotel has failed to cope with your standards. All our seafront rooms have just been freshly painted a week before your arrival. The rooms were aired for a long time and previous guests had stayed in your room without complaint. We did acknowledge your concern, however the property was at 100% occupancy on the night of your arrival which we explained to you. Our receptionist offered you a 4 star garden villa room the next morning, which you declined. Also placed an air freshner in your room within half an hour to make it more comfortable. We do appreciate and acknowledge all positive and negative feedback
Kind regards
Seafront Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I stayed in one of the Garden Villas over August - and it was nothing but an extra special addition to my incredible Kangaroo Island experience. The Seafront has several types of rooms - including gorgeous ones overlooking the water - however I loved my villa as it was a bit of a "retreat" at the end of the day. Quieter, freestanding and set amongst beautiful gardens of course.

The villa itself comes with your standard inclusions but also has a few bonuses - unlimited wifi access, Foxtel and a fold out sofa which you can use as a bed after an exhausting day's exploring. Everything was clean and finished to a high standard. The staff also are lovely - the owner helped me with my troubled campervan's engine on my departure, and the wonderful receptionist helped me change ferry times at the last minute. Nothing was too much trouble.

Penneshaw is my favourite part of Kangaroo Island, and the relaxed yet professional and friendly approach of the Seafront really did make my time there even more special. I would not hesitate in recommending this property and am already planning my next stay :)

Room Tip: If you want privacy and quiet, get a Villa. If you're not often by the sea, perhaps choose a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kangaroo Island Seafront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Island Seafront

Address: 49 North Terrace, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Penneshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Island Seafront 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seafront is perfectly situated in Penneshaw - Gateway to Kangaroo Island, and overlooks the magnificent Backstairs Passage. Kangaroo Island is totally unspoilt with white beaches, stunning coastlines and home to an abundance of wildlife. If you're looking for four-star accommodation in an idyllic setting, this is surely the place, located on the Esplanade just 500 meters from the Sealink Ferry Terminal. The Seafront Kangaroo Island has 4 star rooms ... Choose from the Seafront Rooms with spectacular views and private balcony, the sanctuary of our Garden Villa's or the historic Sorrento's rooms. The property includes FREE WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kangaroo Island Seafront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Island Seafront Hotel Penneshaw
Kangaroo Island Seafront Penneshaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Island Seafront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.