We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antechamber Bay Retreats

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Antechamber Bay Retreats to your Saves list
Antechamber Bay Retreats
2131A Cape Willoughby rd | Antechamber Bay, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderfully relaxing with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

The accommodation was very relaxing with only the sound of the birds and sheep to be heard. The furniture was very comfortable as were the beds. Great blinds to block out the morning sunlight and a large deck on which to sit and enjoy the view.

Lovely to be able to take the dog.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

The Kona house was well presented and appointed. The location is to die for.
The beds were excellent - better than many expensive hotels we've stayed at.
The outside setting & BBQ was good and conducive to outside living.
The private beach an easy 15 minute walk was a highlight.
Excellent fresh food venues nearby to purchase local produce - seafood, cheeses, wines and of course the property's own SouthRock lamb.
This is a place to relax and enjoy. Even wildlife walks past at a quiet pace.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We have just booked our next holiday to Antechamber Bay. It will be our third visit in as many years. As Tasmanians, we have high expectations of an island holiday by the sea, so the fact that we have made this beautiful place our 'retreat' speaks volumes.

This place is surely as close to paradise as you can get. We have gone in spring, when the Dudley Peninsula is green and the weather mild. We have fallen in love with Kona, but then there are only two of us. The other house, Nats, offers more room, and the charm of being one of the historic houses on the island.

You get a sense of adventure as you leave the Cape Willoughby road and head along the gravel driveway across lush paddocks, escorted by fat sheep as you go. And then the view hits you– the blue of the ocean framed by a rugged shore, the pristine beach just below the house, the verdant paddocks and the blue of the sky, and in the distance, the coast of the mainland, left behind for the length of your stay. The place is a retreat in every way. There is no traffic, no engine noise, no hustle and bustle, and night life consists of some lambs calling for their mums, or the thump thump of a passing kangaroo. We come fully prepared to self-cater, but Penneshaw (about 30 minutes away) offers any additional essentials, and on one occasion, Kate, our hostess, saved us a trip and got us bread and eggs. Andy and Kate also have some of their own lamb for sale as well.

Our first visit was five days, our second for 10; this time we are going for two weeks! The place offers all we want- peace, a view, comfort. We go for walks across the farm to Cape Willoughby, along Antechamber Bay, down to the rugged south coast or to a nearby vineyard. We gaze at the view from the deck, with a glass of KI wine and a book, and plan our next meal and next exploration of the island. Ever the optimists, we go fishing off the rocks (and not without some success!).

By the way, don't be put off by the post about 'black worms'. This is a working farm, complete with sheep, chooks and a friendly dog..., not a resort. South-east Australia gets seasonal plagues of Portuguese Millipedes (a.k.a black worms) but these are easily taken out of doors. It is the countryside, and yes, there may be mouse around, and the road is not sealed. If you want a resort, then maybe this place is not for you; but if you want to taste a large slice of tranquility in paradise, this place is hard to beat.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

If you like great views, isolated beautiful beaches and wildlife at your door Nats and the Kona are the perfect holiday destinations. Nats is an amazing house being one of the earliest houses in South Australia yet it still has all of the things you need to have a great stay. A great open firewith a ready supply of Mallee roots. Great cooling breezes in the summer. Fishing from the rocks, Yabbies in season and great walks along the coast.
The black worms are millipedes, they are all over South Australia and shock horror there are blow flies in summer! Strange place the country sometimes the wildlife get a bit close and personal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Nats is a warm, historic building pirched on the cliff overlooking Antechamber Bay. Our family spent 4 days in this wonderful location that reminded me of family holidays with my parents.
The house had all the requirements for a family and even given its historical beginnings, still has a great layout that allowed the kids and adults plenty of space to relax. The kitchen was well appointed and hosts (located descretely in another house around the hill) ready to help out with last minute provisions and local tips.
The view was simply sensational, overlooking the pristine Bay and back towards the Mainland with daily shows from dolphins and schools of fish...Yes we caught some! The kids loved the beach and extensive farm, so nice after years of city life.
We left reluctantly but determined to return with some friends for a mid- winter reunion.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We are so fortunate to have had such a unique holiday experiece at Nats (and again at The Kona) at Antechamber Bay Retreats Kangaroo Island. The location, the view, the hospitality, our own private beach for swimming and fishing and the afternoon barbecues are memories that stay with us long after we have left Kangaroo Island.
To stay in a spot steeped in so much history but with all the modern amenities is an incredible find.
Thankyou to hosts Kate and Andrew - who ensure the best possible holiday experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Stayed for three nights with adult children & partners for a Kangaroo Island adventure. One bathroom between 7 adults was challenging...Whilst 2 bedrooms had king beds, the other rooms had singles and seemed more suited for smaller children. The house was somewhat clean...however.....there was an infestation of small black worms which required constant watching to make sure our 14month old granddaughter did not eat and a few of these worms had made their way into the bed of one of the single beds...there were lots and lots of mice in the kitchen and lounge area and every time they thought the family had retired for the night they were all over the kitchen so lock up your food really well…...Our 21YO daughter who was sleeping on the lounge (because there were worms in her bed) was very distressed when the mice appeared on the first night and would not be scared away., resulting in very poor sleep for her for the whole stay

Be mindful that the drive to the property is on some part unsealed road, which we drove slow so as not to damage the hire car and we ended up with a 40 minute drive to get back into town and explore….some general provisions are provided but make sure you take milk and bread as these basics were not...did not see the host family at all during the stay so cannot comment on their hospitality…would think that for the money there are better options available on Kangaroo Island and whilst the view was amazing it was most likely the only good thing about the house…would not recommend to friends or stay again…

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilfo, Owner at Antechamber Bay Retreats, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Sorry to hear that the experience did not meet expectations, the "black worms" are Portuguese millipedes which we have controlled with a nematode and the mice we have controlled with a severe baiting program. All we can say is that although we live in an environment where we are dealing with lots of variables sometimes things go wrong and in this case these little critters beat us. the situation will not happen again Regards AndynGilfillan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antechamber Bay Retreats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antechamber Bay Retreats

Address: 2131A Cape Willoughby rd | Antechamber Bay, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5222, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Penneshaw
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Penneshaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kona is a farm house located on the oldest farm in South Australia, the Kona has sweeping coastal and bush views of the North East coast of Kangaroo Island. Meet your farming hosts the Gilfillan family (who have been on Kangaroo Island since 1951) can direct you to the historic and scenic sites, cellar doors and restaurants within ten minutes drive on the Dudley Peninsular. If you want peace, wild life, deserted beaches then the Kona is for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Antechamber Bay Retreats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antechamber Bay Retreats Kangaroo Island/Penneshaw

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antechamber Bay Retreats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.