We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perhaps the best nosh on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish

Fish
North Terrace, Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island, South Australia, Australia
8553 1378
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 9 Restaurants in Penneshaw
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
south australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best nosh on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Fish is just that, delicious and freshly caught fish. It's funky, unique and the we think the best food we had while on the Island.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    3
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding take away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

What a gourmet treat! Excellent beer battle whiting, couldn't get any fresher and juicer. The fish was a bit small. You can choose half serve of salad and half serve of chips for side. Very good chips too.

Came here for both of my visits. Happy to pay slightly higher price for it's quality.

Tips: Be there early to avoid disappointment. This place is famous, all fish are caught on the day, until sold out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“The Best Fish & Chips ever had, not to mention the salad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We just chanced on this 2 Birds & A Squid fish and chip when visiting Kangaroo Island for the 1st time. We immediately were drawn to it by its rusty, down-to-earth, yet artful decoration, just right for a fish and chip; its sea-facing quiet location. We ordered all local fish with a salad. What a treat! The best fish and chip we can remember! And the salad - not your ordinary, boring 'green', or 'garden' salad, but with chick peas, bean shoots etc and yummy mayonnaise source. Considering most things are expensive on K.I. for a reason -we saw with our own eyes on the ferry out that a double 'train' truck was full of smelly rubbish, we don't think Sue (the owner) charges too much at all!
By the way, we bought the best Chinese green veg (Boy Chai) in the only supermarket on K.I. at Kingscote - fresh, tender, full of flavor at AUD1.00 a bunch! Honestly, have never ever tasted as good Boy Chai since in Australia 25 years! Only wish K.I. is closer to where we live.

Linda L

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“overpriced?! U R on an ISLAND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Yes so this is not a cheap place to eat the simple fish n chips, but the salmon and whiting we got were VERY tasty and cooked perfectly. The chips were not oily, crispy on the outside and soft in the inside. Fish were very juicy and plenty of flavour. I do not know any fish n chips shop that would season their fish, nor do I know any that would have a mayonnaise from scratch and tastes good! The cook works with Neil Perry in winter. You pay for the experience, not just the fish. Not to mention, EVERYTHING on this island is expensive, so it's only relative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuggerah, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It is all that it is said to be.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The food was fantastic and the service was great. Just sitting across the road watching the ocean was great.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish also viewed

Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
 
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
Penneshaw, Kangaroo Island
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.