We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't do it to yourself!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Scenic Drive, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in American River
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Don't do it to yourself!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I waited till I had gone off the boil before I wrote this review. Give it the benefit of hindsight, I thought! But really, you deserve better ... choose somewhere else.

One of the reasons that I delayed writing my review was because the desk & restaurant staff tried so hard ... but this was a nightmare ... the holiday you don't want to have. Really, by the end, I suggested that the staff just wear badges that said "I'm sorry" to save them time. And as good as the staff were, the management level was useless.

Perhaps our problem was that we stayed 6 nights so the problems were very apparent. if you only stay a couple of nights you might just think it is a mis-step, a passing glitch, an unforeseen problem. But if you are stuck there for 6 nights, it is like a recurring nightmare.

On our first morning we woke up to fine we had no water at all. None. So no flushing, no coffee, no cleaning. We went out for the day and returned at 3 in the afternoon to find buckets of effluent still sitting outside rooms. Water was back on that afternoon but cold water only.

During our 6 nights we only managed to have hot water for showers twice. Twice! Not because others had used up the hot water but because there was none. None.

Meals were mainly fine but very inconsistent. And there is no choice in American River. If you don't eat there you will need to watch out for roos when driving (to Kingscote or Penneshaw) elsewhere for a meal. I notice that the Accor site now shows that a breakfast discount is not part of the Advantage Plus, but it was when we were there but they refused to honour it until I made a fuss.

Before our stay I had emailed to ask for a room that was accessible without stairs as my husband has mobility issues. According to the manger we were given an upgraded room (torn curtain and dingy bathroom) .... right above the rooms that were being renovated. So far from being relaxing, it was necessary to get away during the day to avoid the builder's boombox and noise. The strategy recommended by his doctor is for my husband to rest each afternoon. We would go out for the day and return at around 3pm ... to find each time that our room had not been made up. It seems that they make up the rooms that are getting new guests. During our stay our bed was made twice (I don't mean the sheets changed but the room actually cleaned and the bed made)

Accor have been good about acknowledging the problems. Not so much the manager who saw the above as "inconvenience".

Room Tip: Choose a room that is not here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    82
    50
    17
    8
See reviews for
41
120
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I was overall very pleased with my 2-nights stay at this hotel!
I was upgraded to a very spacious room overlooking the water, with a nice balcony and huge windows to enjoy it! The room in itself was quite simply furnished, but very comfortable. The walls were a little thin though, as we heard a baby crying in an adjacent room.
The restaurant was really good, the food excellent and the service friendly. The breakfast was very tasty.
The staff of the hotel was also very nice and helpful!
The hotel is located a little far away (35 min) from the main towns of the island, and there is not much to eat or buy in American River itself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, there was enough room but none to spare. It has a pleasant view over the lagoon. However it is starting to show its age. Other than the bed (which was comfortable) everything in the room should be replaced as it it is worn and old fashioned. We ate only 1 meal there on steak special night. We got a huge porterhouse with a lot of fries for $20. The steaks were a bit too rare for us but this maybe just the way Aussies like their meat since we had similar experiences in other places. Some of the staff seemed inexperienced while others were very helpful. American River is out of the way and there are hardly any services for tourists.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Our room overlooked the river and was nicely appointed,we stayed in a non standard room for two nights and found everthing satisfactory.FreeWiFi in the lobby area was helpful and after a full day sightseeing we were happy to sit on the balcony and watch the birds. Staff were friendly , and a nice pool area and seating area for the summer .

Room Tip: It would appear by the reviews that non standard rooms are a better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Can't say anymore than disgusted.Ruined our whole weekend.No hot water.Food was raw.Pool was filthy.Poor service ,rude waitress.bed was two singles pushed together one higher than the other no spa which is still advertised.will not be returning again

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

American River is a quiet and isolated area of Kangaroo Island. Excellent river, estuary location for fishing, walking and kayaking. The hotel has a bit of a monopoly in American River, where there isnt much in amenities like shopping, cafes, restaurants or bars. The hotel has a bar and restaurant but a dinner set for 6pm to 9pm. The food and drinks menu is not very extensive but well cooked and served.
I say the hotel is 'tired' as it is not very modern, there is a bit of history in the old place and is a series of these aging buildings meshed together. It could do with a spruce up.
The room is clean and comfortable.
Superior suites are not exactly superior, walls thin and can hear conversations and personal noises and the lower level is noisier due to thin floor above. Dont waste the extra $.

Room Tip: If you have a superior suite ensure its on the top level. Rooms are very noisy below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: Scenic Drive, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. The Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, the Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.