We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge to your Saves list
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scenic Drive, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in American River
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great escape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is older, but very clean and nicely appointed. Dinner was great, but we didn't utilise the breakfast or lunch options. Parking isn't at your door, so be prepared to carry the bags - not far though.
Staff were very helpful with lots of information.
The ferry to and from the Island is more expensive than anticipated - book online for a discount

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. Parking is located at reception, just a short distance from our Poolside and Bayview rooms. If staying in a Waterview room, parking is available at your door. Our staff are very knowledgeable about what there is to see and do on the Island and are more than happy to assist our guests with their travel arrangements. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again one day.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    98
    53
    18
    8
See reviews for
45
137
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Kangaroo Island is one of those places that takes a bit of getting to but is well worth it. The All Seasons Kangaroo Island Resort is the perfect place to stay. It is within easy walk to some wonderful scenery and a manageable driving distance to everything else. The staff are extremely accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean. The meals at the restaurant while limited in variety are exceptional in quality. Yes it is a little outdated but well kept and very economical. A great place to enjoy a great place!!

Room Tip: Try ordering a picnic hamper from the restaurant before you head out to have lunch with the Sea lion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your glowing review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginevra
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

We have been travelling in Australia for 10 days and I knew that value for money was particularly bad in Kangaroo Island, however this hotel was really far below the average see so far.
We are used to simple accommodations, however this one was dirty and definitely old fashioned, in need for refurbishment.
Specifically, the carpet on the floors seemed soak, dusty and with many small worms on the perimeter of the room, nested between the wall and the carpet. I have been travelling extensively and I do appreciate that in nature there might be insects etc getting in the room - as long as the basic cleaning is there ok, however the small worms were dead, so a sign of poor cleaning. I kindly mentioned this to the hotel service showing understanding and they committed to get everything cleaned upon my return. Big disappointment - the room had been indeed tided up, yet the small dead worms were still there. Very poor cleaning and overall maintenance, a shame as the staff itself was very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We were disappointed to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured our rooms are cleaned thoroughly every day and apologise if any small bugs managed to make their way into your room after it had been cleaned.
Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We enjoyed the whole time we had at Kangaroo Island All Seasons Lodge. We had a large comfortable room with water views. The breakfasts were fresh and varied. The restaurant meals were good potions, delicious and good value featuring local produce and complemented with local wines. The staff exceeded all expectations and went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and meet our needs.I would highly recommendthis lodge

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. Our restaurant produces some of the best meals on the Island and is such great value for money. We are happy you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Location is Beautiful. Comfortable beds, Clean linen, Quick Service, Very Nice Staff. Recommended for a peaceful romantic stay. Enjoyed my stay with my family. American river is the beginning point of KI so you have Kingscote very close to it and all other attractions are close as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. American River is such a tranquil place to stay and is great for getting away from it all. All with the convenience of being half way between Kingscote and Penneshaw.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a friendly lot at this heavenly peaceful Retreat. Great accommodation with all the right mods and cons. The food is excellent, prices are fair and service is warm and friendly. A truly beautiful and pristine environment is Kangaroo Island; a touch of NZ in Aussie.
We will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Upstairs overlooking the Bay - try room 33.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KI_Lodge_Marketing, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to tell your friends and family about this unknown gem on Kangaroo Island. We hope to see you again one day.
Kind regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge

Address: Scenic Drive, American River, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5221, Australia (Formerly All Seasons Kangaroo Island Lodge)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > American River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in American River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kangaroo Island, one of Australia's great wilderness destinations, is best known for its magnificent coastal views, unique landscapes, uncrowded beaches and fascinating wildlife, including kangaroos, wallabies, koalas, Australian sea-lions, New Zealand fur seals and Little penguins. Kangaroo Island is a place of natural beauty and a place to escape. The Kangaroo Island Lodge is situated on the banks of Eastern Cove in American River, with all rooms perfectly perched offering exceptional water views over the bay. Amid lush coastal vegetation, the Kangaroo Island Lodge blends in with its natural surroundings. There is no better place to unwind and to enjoy the peace and tranquility. The seclusion of this area allows for the abundance of wildlife to roam free. Tammar wallabies, brush tailed possums, black swans, Cape Barren geese, Australian pelicans and the rare and endangered glossy black cockatoos can all be found in here. The outer bay of Eastern Cove offers excellent sailing and fishing in protected waters. The Kangaroo Island oyster industry is also located in American River, with the Oyster Shed located just down the road from the Kangaroo Island Lodge. If you are a keen walker, there are two main walking tracks, the Independence Trail and the Fish Cannery walk. Both walks meander through the natural coastal scrub where numerous species of wildlife and birdlife can be seen. So why not come and escape to the Kangaroo Island Lodge? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel All Seasons Kangaroo Island American River
Kangaroo Island Hotel
Kangaroo Island American River
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge American River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.