We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Camping Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bestbrook Mountain Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bestbrook Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Bestbrook Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   9790 Cunningham Hwy, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Winter Camping Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Had a wonderful time at Bestbrook camping with the family. Our daughter had a lovely time riding her bike and playing with Matty the farm dog. Really enjoyed the horse riding and trail ride. Our daughter loved feeding the farm animals and free activities such as the wagon ride and damper cooking. Friendly staff and clean amenities. Camp site was spacious and affordable. Would definitely go back agian!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburnsprints, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Kelli N Danny W,
Great that you enjoyed our campground, activities and staff. Hope to see you back soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    48
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
138
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Suzi and I meet 7 families at Bestbrook over the weekend for our first stay, pour friends have been before but our first time. As much as it rained the first day of set up the weather was un real for the rest of the 2 days.

The owners and staff and so much fun and really everyone from new born to grandparents could enjoy Bestbrook in some way. We all camped for the weekend in our own group, it was really easy to get too, set up and close to every thing without being in anyone else's way. The showers and toilets even though they wont close to us were very clean and easy to get to also. We had porta loos close by for the midnight dash which were clean and easy to get to and use.
If i had to find something wrong with Bestbrook, I would have to say the bloody interstate transport trucks going past on the highway up above us all night but really a very minor issue when you consider what else there is to do at Bestbrook
Our 8 yr old boy love to room most of the weekend along the river with his mates, ride his bike and just be a kid with no hassles that was a concern. We didn't have time to do the farm activities but will sure be back and have a go at them all next time. Heaps to see and do at Bestbrook. Thanks again we will be back

Room Tip: Relax and enjoy the tranquility of the country leave all the electronics at home and ride a horse, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburnsprints, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hi Trent C,
Great to hear your group had a great time and enjoyed the open spaces and campgrounds where your children could be kids. Looking forward to you returning and taking part in all of our activities. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was the second time our Girl Guide district had visited Bestbrook. This time we stayed in the bunkhouse, which was a perfect set up for groups. The staff at Bestbrook were accommodating to the many changes we continued to make. With a group of young children (aged 7 to 10) the free activities were a great way for the girls to learn about life on a farm and learn new skills. We appreciated the time taken to talk to the children, explaining details about how grain production on the farm works and the importance of keeping the animals happy and healthy. The only downside to being in the bunkhouses was the noise from the road, however we were all so exhausted the second night that it went unnoticed. We participated in activities including animal feeding, the wagon ride including whip cracking and boomerang throwing, damper and butter making, and walking around the extensive property. The girls especially liked the walk to Gnomes Gully. The Brownies had heaps of fun and we would defiantly take the girls back for another camp. Thank you for an educational and fun weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestbrook, Owner at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi jess d,
We love to have groups at Bestbrook and its great to hear your group enjoyed their stay and the activities. Looking forward to you returning. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

With three boys, a farm stay was a great way to burn off some energy. They loved the horse-riding, animal feeding, whip cracking and boomerang throwing. The cabins could do with a bit of an update, but the linen was fresh and clean, and the beds were warm. It's not a cheap weekend, however it's definitely worth doing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburnsprints, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Bobeaumontswife,
Great that you enjoyed the activities and the farm and we hope to see you back sometime. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We've spent a lovely weekend - Adults around the campsite, chatting and enjoying great conversation - Kids roaming the property feral and filthy and loving it!
Admittedly the loos required some 'blind eye' strategy but the regular cleaning was reassuring. The children really enjoyed the free activities and we all really loved the 4wd adventure up the mountain. Easy check in and out, very warm hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburnsprints, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Debbie W,
Great that the old kids as well as the young kids enjoyed themselves. Hope to see you back. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The children had the best time. There were so many things for the children to explore and do. The staff really cared about the families and engaged with the children. Awesome and brilliant. Highly recommended. Showers and toilets were clean. Pizzas were amazing. The butter and damper that the children made was the best.

Room Tip: Get there early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburnsprints, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi Traceyp74,
Good to hear your children enjoyed the activities and our great staff and you all enjoyed the pizza and damper and our facilities where clean. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We camped over the long weekend and our kids loved it. Lots of space for campers. Unfortunately we picked a campsite at the wrong end of the property not realizing there was a dirt bike park next door which was quite noisy during the day. Truck noise from the highway was loud at night. The bathrooms could do with some better signage because it's a bit confusing finding which door is the bathrooms the first time you go there and it was frustrating having to walk around all 4 buildings to check if any of the showers were free. Otherwise the stay was fantastic. All the staff were extremely friendly and there are great activities to do with the kids. We loved the parent led horse riding, animal feeding, boomerangs and whip cracking, damper cooking, wagon rides and play equipment. Need to be very careful driving or walking around the property because roads are generally not wide enough to share and there seemed to be an awful lot of unsupervised children walking or riding bikes down the roads without any road sense.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburnsprints, Manager at Bestbrook Mountain Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hi kathlon79,
Sorry about the noise from the bikes next door but its out of our control, that's the reason we do not allow bike at Bestbrook anymore. Thanks for your comment on signage at bathrooms we are putting new signs on doors. Great that you enjoyed the activities and our great staff. Due to all the kids riding on the property we have a 20km speed limit that will hopefully keep all safe. Hope to see you again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bestbrook Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bestbrook Mountain Resort

Address: 9790 Cunningham Hwy, Maryvale, Queensland 4370, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Maryvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Maryvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bestbrook Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bestbrook offers you a unique weekend escape or holiday package in self contained farm stay cabins, bunkhouse back packer style rooms or camping by Gap Creek. Bestbrook is an Australian owned and operated farmstay property where everyone joins in the fun. Only 90 minutes from Brisbane or 126 minutes from the Gold Coast, Bestbrook offers a perfect break from the city to enjoy relaxed country living. Horse riding for all levels from parent led rides, lessons or trail rides. We have regular free demonstrations of milking cows, making butter, boomerang throwing, Australia stock whip cracking, billy tea & damper & a brief presentation of local history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bestbrook Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bestbrook Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.