We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming country Motel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bororen Motel

Bororen Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bororen Motel to your Saves list
Bororen Motel
1 Dougall Street, Bororen, Queensland 4678, Australia   |  
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bororen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and welcoming country Motel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here regularly over the last two years. Have watched as the owners Karen and Geoff have made improvements to the Motel to increase guests comfort. They are always so welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble for their guests. Will return every time and would recommend this small country Motel to any traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen R, Owner at Bororen Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Sharon,

Geoff and I would like to thank-you for your review. We do try our best to cater to each and every guest's needs to make their stay as comfortable as possible. So pleased you enjoyed your time here.

Regards, Karen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Agness, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This small roadside motel offers great value to the weary traveller. Our room was neat and clean, with a comfortable queen bed and two singles, that provided all our needs. The linen was extremely clean and crisp, with super fluffy white towels. Plus there is a fully equiped laundry on site, available for use. The new owners Karen and Geof, were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They provided the little extras that count! Offering scrabble, puzzles and cards to ward off the kids boredom, books for the adults to read, plus unlimited access to their little swimming pool. Not to meantion continuously topping up the tea, coffee and biscuits during our prolonged stay. I highly recommend this establishment, and wish Karen and Geof every success with their new venture. We will be back!

Room Tip: Self service rooms, but management are happy to cater. Weekly rates are availabe on request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Motel facilites have been let run down to the point where the shower runs continually, s/s air con installed but no remote or any way of getting it to work. The bed was comfortable but I would not recommend this motel unless you were stuck on the highway.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Last February, 2011, I wrote a review titled "We will never go back to Hans & Margret Issel's Bororen Motel." We very recently stopped there on the way back from Rockhampton. Iam pleased to say that it is under new management! Karen Rouse, the Manager, made us most welcome....she is a very friendly, obliging and welcoming lady. Karen gave us ample fresh milk and the tariff was less than 13 months ago for the same room. Comfortable queen size bed, clean room. Karen put our continental breakfast in our room the evening before so that we could leave when it suited us. The previous owners, Herr & Frau Issel, apparently were overcharging during the floods when people were stranded. Bororen is better off without them. The swimming pool is in use again as well. It was "out of order" last February.

Room Tip: The motel is on the Bruce Highway so noise is an inherent problem. The Bruce Highway currently has m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Website said 68 to 75 a night for a single room.Got stiffed with 100 bucks! Gouging at its finest!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We booked into the Bororen Motel (not to be confused with the Bororen Hotel/Motel) in February when driving from Rockhampton to Bundaberg. We paid by credit card for our accommodation and breakfast when we booked in. We asked for a jug of milk (we are allergic to Long Life milk) and were told to go to the shop down the road to buy milk. We ate dinner at the Bororen Hotel. Delicious meals, friendly service. The next morning as we waited at the open door for our breakfast to arrive, the owner critcised us for having the door open. (waste of electricity. It being hot, we had the A/C on). When we received our credit card statement $10.00 had been debited the day after we left. When we phoned to ask why, the owner told us he took it (he had our credit card no. from when we paid) to pay for a place mat & coathanger he alleged we stole! We did not steal anything & he took the $10.00 totally illegally.........unbelieveable. Bororen is a small town & we were told at dinner that the Issels have made no effort to join the community. Just the opposite. Strange way to do business!!

Room Tip: Go to the Bororen Hotel Motel, it is cheaper, too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bororen Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bororen Motel

Address: 1 Dougall Street, Bororen, Queensland 4678, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bororen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bororen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bororen Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bororen Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.