We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC VIEW - FRIENDLY STAFF - 5 STAR FOOD - PEACEFUL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spicers Hidden Vale

Save Saved
You added Spicers Hidden Vale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spicers Hidden Vale
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   617 Grandchester Mount Mort Road, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Qld, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VIEW - FRIENDLY STAFF - 5 STAR FOOD - PEACEFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We have 3 nights at Hidden Vale, and it was superb. We were in a luxury cabin that housed 3 double rooms with ensuites. They are like little country cottages with a shared sitting room complete with fire place, interesting books, Grandfather Chair, Arm Chair, and 2-person window seat. Decor was cottage country. Our room was air-conditions with private ensuire and private balcony overlooking picture perfect rolling hills and countryside. The bed and furnishings were very comfy and the pillow were divine. From your bed you have the view of the countryside through your french doors.
There is a refrigerator stocked with expensive goodies. I.e. the white wine (not very nice) was a 375ml bottle and was priced at $30. There is a $50 corkage if you take your own. If I were you I would pack a bottle or 2 in my bag, and pay the corkage. There are 2 pools, one is a rock pool with postcard views from the edge of the pool, and the other newer pool is a 20m lap pool for those who want to keep fit. Both were fantastic although the rockpool could have done with cleaning on the bottom.
The games rooms has a pool table, self-use bar, table-tennis table, and darts board. Adequate and fun.
We did not try the archery or the clay target shooting, tennis, only because we happened to be there on 3 very hot 38 degree days.
We did go riding on the mountain bikes for a picnic lunch (my husband's idea) but it was so hot that we did not eat. The bikes were in excellent condition, and well maintained. We order a picnic lunch each (so we ordered 2). One was $16.95 (vegetarian) and it was packed with 3 cheeses (huge portions), freshly made quiche, savoury biccys, home-made bread, potato salad & greek salad. It was huge. The other had delicous slices of ham and turkey with dijon mustard and cranberry sauce to replac the quiche. I think it was $19.95. It was all way too much for us. We should have order only 1 between us. We put one whole picnic in the fridge prior to setting off on the bikes and ate it the next day. We had some of the cheese and biccys on our verandah with a wine at sunset. My advice would be to only order 1 picnic (comes in a backpack) between 2 people. Essentially, that makes if quite cheap considering the food is all made by the execllent Restaurant staff, headed up by Jack (head-chef, and damn good at it). If the weather wasn't so hot the ride would have been lots of fun.
We also went on a 1/2 day horse ride with Carole. Although it is a trail ride (boring, usually) the horses were kept in excellent health and were not over-ridden so they were energetic and engaging. Carol is a local who has a wealth of knowledge being a local all her life. We stopped for morning tea and boiled the billy and had home-made banana cake, again prepared by the kitchen. It was lots of fun (except too hot, again) and we chatted with Carol all the way.
THE RESTAURANT MEALS: expensive but EXCELLENT and worth EVERY CENT. Remember this is a remote area, they pay a highly qualifed, passionate, outstanding Chef and have to have the food delivered in fresh (they only use the freshest ingredients) which would cost a pretty penny (Having a business ourselves we understand the overheads involved, in some capacity).
Jack is English, Jack is passionate about cooking and English Football. Jack is happy to speak with you personally, and on night 2 & 3 he prepared an individual menu for us. On the 2nd night we had sea scallops seared in butter with baby corn kernels wrapped in a light omlette with fennel. This was followed by their 'steak tasing plate' which you can order for 1, 2 or more people ($70 for one, then $60 for 2nd person = $130) as the main meal. Expensive, I know, but worth every bit we paid. The plate consisted of probably 100gm steaks of sirloin, rib fillet, eye fillet, Grade 4 Wagys, & Grade 10 Wagyu. You start at the sirloin and work your way up. It is accompanined with fresh cauliflower. Sounds boring but don't order extra, you won't be able to fit dessert in. For dessert we have fresh berry trifle. Jack is a 'Gordon Ramsay' without the mouth! the Restaurant Manager (name escapes me) is a great host and should be a Semillior, as he knew so much about wines. NOt sure what to buy, ask him. By the way, the restaurant allowed us to purchase a nice wine there and take it back to our room.
You have have a quiet time or try lots of activities. It's a great get-away for families, on your own, or couples. Don't delay, just do it. We were in room 1, by the way.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
88
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed here in December 2009. We had a beautiful cottage with amazing views. The service and facilities were excellent and the food was just fantastic. Would love to go back and spend more time. All the staff were so helpful - couldn't have been better. Thank you

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George Town, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My partner and I very recently spent our wedding night at Peppers Hidden Vale and had a completely perfect night away!

We arrived at Peppers Hidden Vale after dark from our wedding at nearby Marburg and were greeted by a lovely lady at reception, who congratulated us and was very helpful. Our cabin was #24 - the Black Angus and it was perfect in every way (except that there was no cutlery or plates in the room for eating left over wedding cake). We were at the very end of the cabins and it felt like there was no one else around for miles and miles; very quiet and spacious area. The spa was a lifesaver after a long day on our feet and every inch of the room was spotless, cosy and inviting.

Had an excellent sleep on the king sized bed, which is probably the most comfortable bed either of us has ever slept on! The morning air was crisp and views of the coutryside emerging from the fog was an uplifting start to the day. Breakfast was after 8am and the buffet was full of your normal treats - lots of hot food, savoury extras, two toasters, fresh fruit and lots of cereal (which a family near us really enjoyed!). Our table outside overlooking the gardens and rustic infinity pool really set the mood.

Overall our stay was fantastic! We even overheard many other guests (both couples, families with young children and large groups of couples who'd stayed in larger suites) talking about their stay over breakfast and all reports were glowing. If you feel like getting out of the city...waaaaay out...then Hidden Vale is a lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We arrived late at night and there is no denying - the place is hard to find in the dark. This was more than made up for by the fact that when you open the door fo your room the next morning you are surprised at just how beautiful the area is.

We stayed in one of the Heritage Suites (Highland room) and it was beautiful. We had a lovely deep spa in the bathroom and youc ould tell that it had all been fitted out well. My only small gripe was that it was two king single beds pushed together with King bedding. I know nowadays this is common but whatever happened to a real king? Fantastic balcony to sit out on.

Games room was old and hot. Unfortunately all the faclities in here were not up to scratch with the rest of the property. The darts were blunt, the pool table needed re-covering and some of the balls were chipped. We went Clay target shooting one afternoon and this was very well done and in a beautiful setting.

Dinner was absoluteley superb. Modern Australian food and I could not fault it. Price was not cheap but you didn't bregudge a cent of it. Breakfast on the hand needed some TLC. With so few guests around at any one time you would expect food to be able to made freshly but the buffet was just a bit stagnant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We chose Peppers Hidden Vale for a birthday getaway weekend. We were disappointed from the moment we first pulled into the driveway. The staff were unhelpful, the room we had was so small that the bed and 1 bedside table only just fitted it in and the worst part about the room was the mould in the bathroom and the general cheapness. While the views were nice the property had a shabby appearance that lacked an attention to detail.
The food was a bit hit and miss- while my entree was great my wifes was lacking and there was nothing special about either of the mains or desserts we had.
Overall we were really let down and left unsatisfied by the whole experience.
We will not be returning to Peppers Hidden Vale and will not recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

we pre purchased this accommodation and were a little disappointed to find the room was in a block away from the main hotel area and not what had been indicated to us prior to our visit by friends who had visited previously. The room was Ok but the cleaning left much to be desired with dead bugs left on the floor for the whole duration of our visit of 3 days.
The outside terrace had a wonderful view but was let down by its dirty and un cared for appearance.
To top it off we were advised that there was a corkage charge of $50 per bottle for any BYO wine. In other words if you wanted a drink in your room then you had to buy it from the hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I were booked into Peppers Hidden Vale for two nights on a recent trip to Australia. After checking the Peppers Hidden Vale website that describes the accommodation as follows - 31 Deluxe Rooms with Panoramic Views and Large Veranda's.

Imagine our disappointment when we checked into Valley Room no 19 to find ourselves overlooking the access road, car park and front entrance door. No views and no large veranda.

We contacted reception who despite being very polite and helpful were unable to transfer us to a similar room. We were offered an upgraded room for an additional $200.00 but this room had not been cleaned and would have meant a longish wait.

We decided to move on, a real shame as we had been really looking forward to our stay.

Despite this I would recommend Peppers Hidden Vale as the resort looked everything we expected. Just make sure you avoid room no 19 as this clearly does not fit the description of the website and is something Peppers need to urgently address. I understood from a staff member that this was not the first time a guest has been caught out.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Address: 617 Grandchester Mount Mort Road, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 12,000 acre working cattle station in the Scenic Rim of South East Queensland country just an hour's drive from Brisbane and the Gold Coast, Spicers Hidden Vale offers an exclusive Outback Australian accommodation getaway. Spicers Hidden Vale offers boutique hotel accommodation in quintessential country cottages and is centred around a historic homestead. Spicers Hidden Vale is a complete getaway with everything from bushwalking, horseback riding and archery, to spa treatments and gourmet fine dining in Cotton's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicers Hidden Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.