We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding NIght” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spicers Hidden Vale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Spicers Hidden Vale to your Saves list
Spicers Hidden Vale
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   617 Grandchester Mount Mort Road, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
George Town, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding NIght”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My partner and I very recently spent our wedding night at Peppers Hidden Vale and had a completely perfect night away!

We arrived at Peppers Hidden Vale after dark from our wedding at nearby Marburg and were greeted by a lovely lady at reception, who congratulated us and was very helpful. Our cabin was #24 - the Black Angus and it was perfect in every way (except that there was no cutlery or plates in the room for eating left over wedding cake). We were at the very end of the cabins and it felt like there was no one else around for miles and miles; very quiet and spacious area. The spa was a lifesaver after a long day on our feet and every inch of the room was spotless, cosy and inviting.

Had an excellent sleep on the king sized bed, which is probably the most comfortable bed either of us has ever slept on! The morning air was crisp and views of the coutryside emerging from the fog was an uplifting start to the day. Breakfast was after 8am and the buffet was full of your normal treats - lots of hot food, savoury extras, two toasters, fresh fruit and lots of cereal (which a family near us really enjoyed!). Our table outside overlooking the gardens and rustic infinity pool really set the mood.

Overall our stay was fantastic! We even overheard many other guests (both couples, families with young children and large groups of couples who'd stayed in larger suites) talking about their stay over breakfast and all reports were glowing. If you feel like getting out of the city...waaaaay out...then Hidden Vale is a lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    47
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
55
130
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We arrived late at night and there is no denying - the place is hard to find in the dark. This was more than made up for by the fact that when you open the door fo your room the next morning you are surprised at just how beautiful the area is.

We stayed in one of the Heritage Suites (Highland room) and it was beautiful. We had a lovely deep spa in the bathroom and youc ould tell that it had all been fitted out well. My only small gripe was that it was two king single beds pushed together with King bedding. I know nowadays this is common but whatever happened to a real king? Fantastic balcony to sit out on.

Games room was old and hot. Unfortunately all the faclities in here were not up to scratch with the rest of the property. The darts were blunt, the pool table needed re-covering and some of the balls were chipped. We went Clay target shooting one afternoon and this was very well done and in a beautiful setting.

Dinner was absoluteley superb. Modern Australian food and I could not fault it. Price was not cheap but you didn't bregudge a cent of it. Breakfast on the hand needed some TLC. With so few guests around at any one time you would expect food to be able to made freshly but the buffet was just a bit stagnant.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We chose Peppers Hidden Vale for a birthday getaway weekend. We were disappointed from the moment we first pulled into the driveway. The staff were unhelpful, the room we had was so small that the bed and 1 bedside table only just fitted it in and the worst part about the room was the mould in the bathroom and the general cheapness. While the views were nice the property had a shabby appearance that lacked an attention to detail.
The food was a bit hit and miss- while my entree was great my wifes was lacking and there was nothing special about either of the mains or desserts we had.
Overall we were really let down and left unsatisfied by the whole experience.
We will not be returning to Peppers Hidden Vale and will not recommend it to anybody

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

we pre purchased this accommodation and were a little disappointed to find the room was in a block away from the main hotel area and not what had been indicated to us prior to our visit by friends who had visited previously. The room was Ok but the cleaning left much to be desired with dead bugs left on the floor for the whole duration of our visit of 3 days.
The outside terrace had a wonderful view but was let down by its dirty and un cared for appearance.
To top it off we were advised that there was a corkage charge of $50 per bottle for any BYO wine. In other words if you wanted a drink in your room then you had to buy it from the hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

My wife and I were booked into Peppers Hidden Vale for two nights on a recent trip to Australia. After checking the Peppers Hidden Vale website that describes the accommodation as follows - 31 Deluxe Rooms with Panoramic Views and Large Veranda's.

Imagine our disappointment when we checked into Valley Room no 19 to find ourselves overlooking the access road, car park and front entrance door. No views and no large veranda.

We contacted reception who despite being very polite and helpful were unable to transfer us to a similar room. We were offered an upgraded room for an additional $200.00 but this room had not been cleaned and would have meant a longish wait.

We decided to move on, a real shame as we had been really looking forward to our stay.

Despite this I would recommend Peppers Hidden Vale as the resort looked everything we expected. Just make sure you avoid room no 19 as this clearly does not fit the description of the website and is something Peppers need to urgently address. I understood from a staff member that this was not the first time a guest has been caught out.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

Our small company booked a christmas getaway here and for the cost we expected a bit better. The rooms were old and nothing special (there wasn't even a plug for the bath) while the food was both good and bad. While dinner was lovely, lunch left a bit to be desired - it didn't taste great and there were dead flies in it.

The masseuse was good but the room was a nit 'sterile' and not as relaxing as I would have hoped. The horse riding was also a bit disappointing for someone like me who has ridden before because the horses wouldn't go faster than a walk. We also did archery and clay target shooting which was fun. The problem there was that we had booked 'group activites' which supposedly included tug-o-war and other such things, and all we ended up doing was archery and shooting. To make it worse, most of us had already booked archery and shooting for the next day (at an extra cost) - so we all did it twice.

It was not a horrible holiday, however for the price it was definately not worth it.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

We purchased a three day package for a getaway through Grays online auctions ( value: rack rate $810.au) . On arrival at the B&B we were told that our meals were extra and not included in the price. Their website advertises as a Five Star B&B Resort and doesn't show a bed only price online so one would presume at least breakfast (cooked for $27p/p or buffett $18 p/p) would be included. Wrong. All of their advertised packages included meals of some description on their website. Ours was valued at $810 and on the website in a cottage room it was $835 for the same with 3 breakfasts and one 3 course al-a-carte dinner for two as well as a bottle of wine and high tea for two. We talked to a duty manager to no avail whilst the general manager sat within earshot and did not even look sideways at us.Great on the public relations the pair of them! A steak (wagyu) cost $48.50 in the restaraunt ,we only wanted to eat part of the cow not buy it. A fifty dollar corkage fee per night to top it off if you want to drink your own alcohol in your room.
Five Star Resort that has style, cracks in the ceiling, noisy airconditioning, dead pot plants, ants in the bath, electric jug was faulty, frog and lizard excretement on the patio chairs and the security insect screen was in need of repair.
On the plus side we had 11 tree frogs to keep us amused at night, brilliant sun rise and sunsets and the local hotels are making a killing selling real food.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — over rated
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Address: 617 Grandchester Mount Mort Road, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spicers Hidden Vale, Relaxed Luxury awaits you at our 31 room Country Retreat. Set on a 12,000 acre working Cattle station in beautiful South East Queensland Country, the property is quintessentially Queensland with large open verandahs and sweeping valley views. Just an hour drive from Brisbane CBD or Toowoomba and 1.5 Hours from the Gold Coast, Spicers Hidden Vale offers a large range of activities for all ages from our Shooting Academy to Horse Riding. The property boasts Cotton's Restaurant for all your dining needs. Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, showcasing the freshest local produce on our a la carte and degustation menus. We also offer gourmet picnic hampers for you to enjoy at one of the many beautiful spots on our property. With two pools, a tennis court and mountain bike trails, Spicers Hidden Vale has a vast array of activities to keep you occupied. For a more relaxed environment, why not visit our onsite day spa for a massage or facial (advance bookings are recommended) Spicers Hidden Vale, Relaxed Luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicers Hidden Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.