We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spicers Hidden Vale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Spicers Hidden Vale to your Saves list
Spicers Hidden Vale
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   617 Grandchester Mount Mort Road, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
North Rockhampton
1 review
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a top place to unwind and relax. The food was just to die for. My favorites was the spatchcock and sticky date pudding. You will go a long way to find a better place and I will be returning for another stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Mark & Jann H

Thank you for posting your review of your experience at Spicers Hidden Vale on Tripadvisor.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your dining experience! Our Head Chef, Ash Martin, enjoys creating seasonal menus for our guests using local produce wherever possible.

That you enjoyed the relaxation and tranquility here is perfect! We are always delighted when our guests feel completely relaxed due to their stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you both on a future occasion,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    59
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
78
179
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Luxuriate in the isolation, peace and tranquility of the country! I've stayed here a number of times and am heading back tomorrow in fact! I've stayed with my children on some occasions and my husband on another. It's quite a surprise to drive out of town and find such a beautiful place. The country gardens and long driveway, herald ones arrival at Spicers Hidden Vale. The main building is heritage listed and is where you check in upon arrival. There is a range of accommodation to suit most budgets. One of the benefits I treasure most in this 5 star resort, is that being more expensive, allows one to relax and enjoy, safe in the knowledge your stay will be among a like minded, more civilised, decent, respectful class of people. You won't expect to see unruly, undisciplined children running around this resort. The people who come here, come to enjoy the peace and quite, so you'll find no disruption to your stay, caused by others! There are no restaurants nearby, for those wanting to dine out.. so your only option, is fine dining at the resorts 'Cottons Restaurant', located in the main building and the service and food cannot be faulted. Dine indoors or out on the beautiful covered verandah, with stunning views out over the valley. Breakfast is served in the same dining room. As far as activities go, you can relax in your private accommodation, snooze, watch movie and enjoy a spa bath, or head out to partake in some free activities, like outdoor spa or swimming in one of two pools, play a round of tennis, visit the properties donkies and baby animal farm. I love to take a good book, order a coffee from the restaurant and relax by the pool. If peace... true peace and quite, in luxury, is what you're seeking... Spicers Hidden Vale won't disappoint.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear ket72,

I really appreciate the time you have taken to write and post your review on Trip Advisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed the retreat to its full extent and that you really have managed to find your relaxation with us.

Many thanks for your wonderful comments and I am pleased to be able to share your review with our dedicated team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone,
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Gourmet luxury farm stay . Great place to do as much or as little as you like with lots of activities on offer .
Excellent food and the staff attention to detail really made our stay .
The Spicers Dollars promotion was great value for a short stay . Recommend the infinity pool as a great post breakfast or pre dinner ritual .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Garrick C

Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. I am pleased that you managed to experience the activities, Restaurant and the relaxation that is on offer here at the Retreat.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
GM
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

First time visitors to this property - stayed last night. Wonderful staff and lunch and breakfast were excellent. The setting is lovely and the pool was the right place to be on a very hot afternoon.
We stayed in the Chinese cottage which was lovely but a couple of minor disappointments - the TV was so small - surely there could be one put on the wall above the couch. The verandah was nice but no view - next time would get something that overlooked the valley.
We ordered a picnic basket for later in the evening to eat out on the verandah and it was lovely and great value. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Something with a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear HappygirlBrisbane

Many thanks for posting your review on Trip advisor. I am delighted that as first time visitors to the property you were pleased with your stay and the services you experienced.

With regards to the television in the Chinese Cottage we are in the process of upgrading our televisions and this one will be done very soon.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Hidden Vale is a scenic property where you have a well run farm on one side and open grasslands where wild kangaroos are hopping away, on the other side. This is a great property to visit with kids as there are lots of fun activities while the adults can enjoy the scenic beauty or the pool!

Room Tip: Rooms that open to the large rolling grounds are nicer (they are all names by cattle types)...than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear RoyRl

Many thanks for posting your review on Trip advisor. I am so glad that you enjoyed our location, farm and wildlife during your recent stay here and that you managed to get some time by the pool to relax!

We do have something for everyone here, so I am pleased that you were able to experience all the Retreat has to offer!

Warm Regards,
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have just returned from a night at Spicers Hidden Vale. We went there for an annual end of year celebration for the staff my husband works with, and partners. There were 6 couples in all and we chose to stay in the 6 bedroom cottage (a renovated Queenslander) with 6 double en-suited rooms and a large central living room with fireplace. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely decorated, as were the bathrooms. The cottage had a fabulous verandah overlooking one of the pools at the farm, with some of the Scenic Rim mountains as a beautiful backdrop.

We had dinner at Cottons restaurant. We were seated in 'The Boardroon' which was elegantly decorated in Christmas style. The food was delicious and the staff, it has to be said, were exceptional! No request was denied. The following morning, we all awoke to a beautiful Queensland morning, with kangaroos hopping around the resort. Different members of our group enjoyed some of the facilities the farm has to offer (swimming, mountain bikes, tennis, games room) and then we all headed down to Cottons for breakfast. They had set up a table for us on one of the verandahs overlooking the horizon pool this time. Spectacular! The food was, once again, exceptional. We were treated to amazing fruit, Bircher muesli, fresh pastries then a fabulous hot breakfast. Wow! Very impressive.

There are many things to praise about this place! Firstly, the staff are brilliant - probably the most efficient and friendly I have encountered in Australia! They really make the stay that little bit better. The food was of a very high standard. The grounds of the farm and its buildings are all very well kept and maintained. We didn't want to leave and will certainly return again, with our children, in the near future!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear 7musketeers_10,

Thank you very much for posting your review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay here at Spicers Hidden Vale.

It was fantastic to hear that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation in our 6 bed 'Simmental' cottage to meet your expectations. It certainly is a popular cottage with groups of friends and the views are quite lovely from the verandah.

I was absolutely delighted to hear that our Team exceeded your expectations and that the true service standard of our property shone through for you and your group. We are extremely lucky to have a Team here who love looking after our guests and making their stay the best possible.

I was also really pleased to hear that you experienced Dining in Cottons restaurant. Our new Chef, Ash Martin and his wife Andrea our F&B manager and their Team are constantly refreshing the menu and they will be delighted to receive such lovely feedback.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back, next time with your families

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I would never do a farm stay but spicers is the perfect mix of luxury food and accom with farm stay features.

Good restaurant and rooms are quite well done and clean. Great activities including target shooting, archery, tennis, horse riding and pony ride for our 5 year old.

4wd tour took us around most of the property and even spotted a koala.

Would recommend to family's or overseas visitors.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiddenVale, General Manager at Spicers Hidden Vale, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear GrantWaus

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed experiencing all that Spicers Hidden Vale has to offer!

Fantastic that you spotted a Koala on your 4WD tour of the property. There is certainly an abundance of wildlife around at the moment so the trips can be quite fulfilling!


Thank again

Warm Regards
Catherine Bone
General Manager
Spicers Hidden Vale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Spicers Hidden Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicers Hidden Vale

Address: 617 Grandchester Mount Mort Road, Grandchester, Ipswich, Queensland 4340, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Greater Brisbane > Ipswich > Grandchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Grandchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Spicers Hidden Vale 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Spicers Hidden Vale, Relaxed Luxury awaits you at our 31 room Country Retreat. Set on a 12,000 acre working Cattle station in beautiful South East Queensland Country, the property is quintessentially Queensland with large open verandahs and sweeping valley views. Just an hour drive from Brisbane CBD or Toowoomba and 1.5 Hours from the Gold Coast, Spicers Hidden Vale offers a large range of activities for all ages from our Shooting Academy to Horse Riding. The property boasts Cotton's Restaurant for all your dining needs. Open for Breakfast Lunch and Dinner, showcasing the freshest local produce on our a la carte and degustation menus. We also offer gourmet picnic hampers for you to enjoy at one of the many beautiful spots on our property. With two pools, a tennis court and mountain bike trails, Spicers Hidden Vale has a vast array of activities to keep you occupied. For a more relaxed environment, why not visit our onsite day spa for a massage or facial (advance bookings are recommended) Spicers Hidden Vale, Relaxed Luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Spicers Hidden Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spicers Hidden Vale Hotel Grandchester
Peppers Hidden Vale Grandchester
Spicers Hidden Vale Grandchester, Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicers Hidden Vale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.