We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Childers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Childers Gateway Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Childers Gateway Motor Inn to your Saves list
Childers Gateway Motor Inn
2 Butchers Road, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Mackay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overnight in Childers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent a night at the Childers Gateway Motor Inn on the way from Mackay to the Sunshine Coast. We booked online without any problems. The check in person was friendly and helpful. Parking right outside our room was handy. Room was very clean with plenty of room for a family of 4. TV in main room is mounted too far back on top of a cupboard, so it can be difficult to see whole screen(minor problem) The location is on the southern end of town, and we would have rathered a place in town so its closer to walk.(that is the only reason we rated location as average.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
6
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Good accommodation. Was able to cater for a large family (2 adults + 3 kids). Neat and clean rooms. Friendly service. Price was good considering it was also Easter holidays. Only negative was the price of wifi for internet - $6 daily, whereas we received free wifi for a week with a hotel we stayed with in Cairns. Would stay there again - recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Staying for 1 night. Room was clean, but had an odour that reminded me of a fumigation smell.
Aircon worked, curtain shut out the light.
Hard to say much about such a basic place.
Their $6 charge for 24 hour 100 meg wifi internet seemed steep, especially considering their rate of $100 which didn't include breakfast.
Bearable if you're passing through or HAVE to stay in Childers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

I originally booked us in another motel in Childers. After my husband viewed this motel on line he insisted that i change the booking. Glad i did. Staff friendly and very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Bathroom a fair size.
WE are going to be heading up north again at christmas for another family holiday. Will rebook a room here. Would highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Ended up here after a nightmare with staff at the Palace Motel. Staff at the Gateway were very welcoming and friendly. Rooms were large and clean and the pool was a bonus. Excellent breakfast the next morning. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Go for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture Queensland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked the room through an online booking site because we didn't know what motels were out this way.

We took a chance with it and really came up trumps!!

My wife and I were visiting out that way, taking my elderly Mother around the places of her childhood.

From book in to check out the experience was great. It is a great place to stay and very quiet considering the main highway is close by. The room was spacious and the beds were clean and firm. We had dinner in the unit ordering off their menu. The meal was delicious and filling and the desert, a local favourite, Mammino ice cream is truly to die for.
Breakfast was typical country style, HUGE, the eggs were perfectly cooked and the bacon delightful.
We would recommend this motel to anyone staying in Childers.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here on our way to Whitsundays.
Managers lovely and helpful. Our family room was large with a seperate bedroom for kids with a t.v
Best of all it was clean and surprisingly quite for a motel just off the highway. Its not modern and shiny new, but functional and spacious.
It was a great find and would recommend this to families and business travellers alike.
Great value.
Dinner in town a Isis club was basic club food but HUGE size ! Nice little town and bustles in the day time.

Room Tip: family room was great value and last one on end of row of rooms. Shower was enormous. There is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Childers Gateway Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Childers Gateway Motor Inn

Address: 2 Butchers Road, Childers, Queensland 4660, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Childers
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Childers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Motor Inn is a 3.5 star motel situated in the beautiful National Trust Town of Childers, Queensland. Our rooms are modern and spacious and feature reverse cycle air conditioners and wide screen digital TV's with 8 Foxtel channels for your enjoyment. Additionally, all our rooms have a microwave, toaster, fridge and tea & coffee making facilities. One of our best features are our two bedroom units which are designed for families, or groups travelling together. We also have a "Disabled Friendly" room, giving easier access and larger bathroom facilities. Free Wifi is provided throughout the motel. For your entertainment sit and relax in our beautiful landscaped garden or take a swim in our salt water inground pool. We also have a basketball hoop if you would prefer something more active! The Gateway offers home cooked meals, delivered to your door to enjoy in the comfort of your room. Choose from a selection of main & light meals. For our young guests we have a kids menu served with a bowl of icecream. We provide a hot breakfast 7 days a week or we can deliver a continental breakfast the night before for the early leavers. There is also a variety of non alcoholic and alcoholic beverages including soft drinks, wine, beer and premixed drinks. Be sure to check our specials board for our F&B offers. (Please note that the kitchen is closed for dinner on Sunday) All our rooms are on the ground floor with parking outside your room. There is also parking available on our grounds for trailers, small trucks and boats. We welcome the corporate traveller or contract worker and can provide a packed lunch on request. We'll go out of our way to ensure that your needs are accomodated. Childers is the perfect place to stop when you are travelling. It is half way between Brisbane and Rockhampton and 7 hours from Mackay. Childers also offers a diverse range of tourist activities and a beautiful landscape. Late or early check-ins can be arranged ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Childers Gateway Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Childers Gateway Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.