We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drunk on coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drunk Bean

The Drunk Bean
Bruce Highway | Childers Shopping Center, Childers, Queensland 4660 , Australia
(07) 4126 1118
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Childers
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Childers Queensland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Drunk on coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We have coffee here at least once a week. The staff know my order by heart. I even have a special cup. The date muffins with butterscotch sauce and cream are to die for. In fact, everything is made by the staff on the premises and is all amazing. They do takeaway as we'll go there and enjoy.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    14
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best little cafe around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have stopped at The Drunk Bean on quite a few occasions travelling from Brisbane up North. Best bacon and eggs, toasted sambos to kill for and being a bit of a coffee freak, my mouth waters thinking of it. Great going to a coffee shop and getting a decent strength coffee without having to ask for it. Will be making a detour on a trip to Hervey Bay just for coffee. This place is well worth it

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Larcom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

You will not find better food or service anywhere along the Bruce highway, at any price. The Drunk Bean has now been included as a compulsory stop in our travels between Brisbane and Mt Larcom. The service was quick and courteous and the food and drinks superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“p preston”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

the food was excellent and well presented would go again. the bistro stands close to Woolworths in. the precinct .a great place to stop on a long journey

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great stop if your in the area or just passing through traveling the highway! :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I drive up and down the Bruce highway a few times a year, spending 5 hrs on the road traveling from A to B. But rather than pack a flask & sandwich, I love looking for little stops along the way to see if there is anything special in the towns passing by. The Drunk Bean is one of those great finds. :)

Today I arrived right in the middle of the lunch rush. With a family of 6 ordering in front of us, I was slightly worried about a possible wait. It was a pleasant surprise when our 2 meals came out in what felt like less than 10 minutes.

I had the Canadian Stack which was 2 pancakes served with bacon & maple syrup, and my partner had a Bush man's toasted long roll which was a fresh roll with cheese, tomato, roast beef & chunky relish.

The meals were fresh & well portioned, with a high bacon to pancake ratio & enough syrup to drown every bite. :) Price for the two was $26.50, which was good value for lunch.

The cafe itself is very clean & nicely decorated, creating a very warm and inviting atmosphere. This paired with genuinely friendly & lovely fast service makes for a great stop to rest & refresh. Much better than stopping at a servo.

So, if you are traveling the Bruce and find yourself in Childers, take a look at the Drunk Bean for a lovely cafe experience. :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Drunk Bean also viewed

Childers, Queensland
Childers, Queensland
 

Been to The Drunk Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drunk Bean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.