We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Re "filthy rip-off" post of December 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bargara Blue Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bargara Blue Resort to your Saves list
Bargara Blue Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   4 Baxter Street, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Re "filthy rip-off" post of December 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

While all comments are quite accurate, the post was made the day after we arrived when we were feeling very let down and disappointed. I would like to add some more information that might help balance the books a little. After being contacted a couple of times by management about our dissatisfaction regarding the cleanliness of the accommodation, we were finally offered one free night which was appreciated and welcomed. Also, after cleaning the place up to our own satisfaction, we really enjoyed the fabulous location, the beautiful views and spacious apartment and what I think was a good price. I would stay again if cleanliness was guaranteed.

Room Tip: Every room (not just bedrooms) in our 3 bedroom apartment on the 2nd floor, had a view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
7
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good place, good price.

Stayed with friends over a 10 day period. Found the self contained rooms to be large and open. Facilities were great, nice little pool area. Found the manager to always approachable. The location is great being right across the road from the beach and gold course.....both got a work out in the ten days.

The rooms were clean and well presented and I thought we got great value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Similar to the other reviews, this place is overpriced and my three bedroom unit was filthy.

The floors are mostly tiled and I had to resort to wearing socks to stop my feet getting too dirty.

When I went to make a sandwich I could see most of the cutlery wasn't really clean and they had food smears still on. Not very impressed.

If they actually had a manager on site after 5pm I would of complained directly and have them do something about it.

I was staying for work but if it was a personal stay I would of certainly had something direct to say.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Booked a quick 2 night stay hoping to relax on the balcony and enjoy the view. Ended up in a ground floor room with a view of the carpark and housing commission units across the paddock. The unit was in poor condition a homemade sponge rubber top on the master bed held in place by a fitted sheet, holes in walls and mould on curtains which were too small for the windows. Parking was poor and at no time did I see the managers in 2 days.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed with the 3 bedroom apartment that I booked for my family for the week between Christmas and New Years. The apartment had clearly not been cleaned properly AT ALL. Key things of note included hairs in draws, used razor blade cover in bathroom, someone else's spit in toothbrush holders, unplumped/unvacuumed couches (you could see where the last person sat!), dirt/lint in washing machine, dirty windows & curtains, dirty/unmopped floors etc, etc, etc. Upon complaint a cleaning team was dispatched to reclean however it is impossible to clean such long term grime & built up dirt! Disgusted. Would leave if could. Avoid at all costs!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We booked this apartment as a place to celebrate my 60th birthday. We needed somewhere to accommodate 5 adults and 2 children. Bargara Blue certainly did that. A spacious, clean, attractive unit with 3 bedrooms, two bathrooms, large living area including a full kitchen with stainless steel European appliances, and granite benchtops. There were two TVs, and a DVD player as well as Foxtel. The swimming pool area is very nice with a good size pool and spa, but it is also a very quick stroll to "The Basin" rock pool for safe family swimming. The resort is within walking distance to a variety of shops and eateries. A larger shopping centre is a short drive away. We would definitely recommend this resort, and will probably be back some day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had booked another location, but on arrival found the resort was not safe for children, yet it was promoted as such. I contacted Bargara Blue Resort and they had availabilty. Due to our experience elsewhere the new management (wonderful people), not only gave me a discount on a room, but upgraded me from a 2 bedroom to a ground floor 3 bedroom apartment. An amazing experience, extremely friendly staff, very clean and great location. They accomodated my 2 young grandsons, veary helpful in every way. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bargara Blue Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bargara Blue Resort

Address: 4 Baxter Street, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bargara Blue Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bargara Blue is one of Bargara's favourite resorts offering energy and lifestyle, as well as family living in large fully furnished self contained units. Guests have a choice of 1, 2 or 3 bedroom apartments to relax in, with spacious layouts making it perfect for both couples and families. With casual living in mind, the apartments at Bargara Blue Resort are extremely spacious and comfortably furnished. Relax on your balcony whilst soaking up the serenity of this natural haven. Just a few hours drive from Brisbane, Bargara Blue Resort offers guests the ideal environment to unwind, relax and enjoy some of the finer facilities on offer. Step out our front door and you are just 30 seconds away from beautiful Kelly's Beach. Turn the other way and you're faced with Bargara's championship 18 hole golf course. Kelly's Beach offers protected waters where the whole family can swim and snorkel in safety, as well as an open surf beach with a patrolled area just 500 metres south of our Resort. Bargara Blue is just a short moon-lit stroll from fine restaurants and cafes. Unwind while lazing around the heated pool (not heated in summer), work out in the gymnasium, or rejuvenate your body in the spa and sauna. Other facilities include a tennis court, bbq entertainment area, car parking, elevators and wireless internet is available (charges apply). Use Bargara Blue as your base while exploring the Coral Coast, including the Bundaberg region where you can visit the Mon Repos turtle rookery, the Rum Distillery and Cooperage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bargara Blue Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bargara Blue Resort Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bargara Blue Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.