We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kelly's Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kelly's Beach Resort to your Saves list
Kelly's Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6-10 Trevors Rd | near Bundaberg, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Hervey Bay, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

This is the second time we have been there in the past 2.5 years. If you are looking for an ok accommodation with children this is fine. Some of the accommodations are a bit run down but realistically all you need is a place to sleep, shower, make a coffee etc when you travel. The restaurant has good food and the pool is fine.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thanks for the review and choosing to come back to Kellys for the second time

We do love to look after families...and kids! We figure if the kids and having a good time and not bouncing off the walls them 'maybe' mum and dad will get a bit of a holiday too!

We did want to let you know that over the next 12 - 18 months the villas will be getting new kitchens, as well as new couches, dining tables and stools! Which we hope will make them feel a little more modernised, but still 'Kellys Comfortable'

Glad you enjoyed the restaurant and the pool! If you’re ever our way again don’t forget to mention the name you stayed under previously and you will receive awesome repeat guest prices.

Happy Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    27
    19
    9
    1
See reviews for
48
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Caloundra, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 3 days, the unit had a funny smell about it that disappeared after a day or so. The villa was very old and needed renovation, tiles were broken on the floor and the kitchen bench was stained and worn. The shower was just a cubicle 0.5m in width which made it difficult for my 6ft 2 son, the door just had room to open. The loft was unusable as the heat was unbearable up there even with the air-con and fan on all day and night. There was no internet access. The creek running through the property was loaded with tadpoles I have never seen anything like it in my life. I am not sure if they were cane toads. I realize this isn't a 5 star property, but I feel it could be managed more professionally and it is definately over priced for the accommodation provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We hope that we can offer some information about your feedback and hopefully demonstrate that your comments are important and that we have got plans in place to help meet the expectations of our guests

We have found that if the units are closed up during certain times of year the humidity does give the villas a funny smell; with airing it usually dissipates. We are also looking at installing dehumidifiers in the units to help combat this problem.We are also pleased to announce that over the next 12 - 18 months the villas will be getting new kitchens, as well as new couches, dining tables and stools! We are sorry that you found the heat uncomfortable in the loft, what we have found is that our ceiling fans have a summer and winter switch that can be switched to the wrong setting either with cleaning or by guests. It is now part of the housekeeping procedures to check the fans are on the correct setting for the right time of year.

Approximately 40% of our villas have wireless internet access and we also have wireless hot spots, in the reception and restaurant building, by the pool and the pond as well as an internet kiosk in the Souvenir Shop of the resort. We are sorry if you weren't made aware of this access.

We have been talking to the Land Care Group that is responsible for the Creek and Nature Reserve that borders the resort on looking into managing the cane toad population in our area. As you can appreciate there is only so much we can do to combat these guys, but we are working closely with Land Care to see if there is more we can do!!!

We are also sorry that you feel we didn’t provide value for money. Like most properties we have different seasons. During the holiday season we provide things like movies by moon light, face painting, star gazing and happy hour to add value to the additional cost of taking a holiday to a resort, we also offer a discounted rate when you stay 3 or more nights.

We have definitely taken all your feedback on board and appreciate the opportunity to learn a little more about our guests expectations. Thanks again for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Both my financee and boys stayed in villa 26.The villa was very dirty upon arrival and very dusty as well. The bed we sleeped in, We shared with little black ants and also it appeared to also have dust mites as both my financee & I have bites all over us.
The turtle watching was a disaster and would recommand to think twice about going if you haven't been before, Very poorly organised there.
New Years was very poorly organised and wouldn't recommaned it to anyone that is looking for a good time to celebrate New Years.
The managers didn't have a clue about how to throw a proper New Years party as there was no mixing with guest people and set up under a sheltered BBQ area with only a stereo playing and a cartoon of mixed light beer avaiable and cheap wine. It wasn't a good nite at all.
The set up for this place and calling it a Resort , Certainly leaves alot to be desired and isn't worth $204 a nite in peak season.
As it states in brochures $55 for off peak season and that is how much it is worth.
Very disappointing stay and won't be back.
Needs proper Mangers that know what they are doing and ideally how to run the show.

Room Tip: there is better places to stay than Kelly Beach Resort and cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We are sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your experience with us, even more sorry that you didnt enjoy the turtles!

We are working hard on imporving the housekeeping function of our business. Our houskeepers have only been with us a short while and we are slowly making progress with improving thier standards. We certainly dont mean to pass the blame we are responsible for the end result of our guests experiance and will continue to monitor, measure and manage the houskeeping function of the resort.

We are sorry about the ants in your villa! Being on 5.5 acres of gardens that border a nature reserve is a ideal environment for all kinds of critters. We are committed to using envirnmentally friendly herbacides and have also recently installed 6 insect lights around the resort to further manage the critters responsibly. We treat for ants and cockroaches every 3 months. However in our resort environment plus with the rain coming and going during this time of year ants are the trickiest critters!

So sad to hear that you didnt enjoy the turtles :( We have a great relationship with the volunteers, rangers and staff both at the Visitor information Centre who manage the bookings and at The Mon Repos Conservation Park. As the turtles are super popular unfortunately cancelations are not permitted and as the tours are 100% focused on the turtles and raising awareness of the conservation efforts at Mon Repos, there can be a wait sometimes...it is locally known as Turtle Time!

We are really disappointed that you didnt enjoy your New Years Eve celebrations. The resort puts on a New Years Eve BBQ in the restaurant after which the staff and family who manage the resort offer guests to join us by the pool for a few drinks and some music to see the new year in. As responsible mangers we do not provide alcohol for this let alone free of charge, guests are to bring thier own. The alcohol you are refering to was our own or other guests for our own consumption.

We feel that we offer real value especially during school holidays, with free activites like, face painting, movies by moon light, and star gazing. We are sorry that we did not meet your value expectations.

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. All the best for 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We have returned to Kellys 3 times in 12 months. Best place I have stayed with kids in Australian.
The accommodation though not the fanciest is more than adequate and the grounds are a treasure trove for the kids. Movies under the stars too!!
Food was lovely and at no time did we ever feel crowded by other guests.
I have stayed in far more expensive places on the Gold Coast and Sunshine Coast and they have failed to capture the holiday atmosphere. Bali in Aus!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
We are so happy that you and your family had a great time here!! Thanks so much for the great review!!

Hopefully you opted to be apart of our Loyal Guest program so you can take advantage of the awesome incentives we offer to our Repeat Guests!

Thanks again and we hope to look after you again one day!!

May 2012 bring you and your family lots of love and happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We went there on business and I was booked into Cabon 30. It had not been cleaned. They changed me to Cabin 13 - the bed had not been made up. I refused to carry my luggage again until they found a properly prepared cabin for me - # 10 it was, and they moved my stuff. Next morning, another member on our team told that she had to make her bed from the sheets off the bed in the loft. The pond/creek was in a shocking state as it had not rained. They were clearnly not interested in providing water for it. Weeds everywhere and hundread of toad tadpoles - they weren't interested in eradicating them. Saw the manager walk past the breakfast buffet and help himself to a hash brown by hand, and eating it as he left the dining.room. Our one evening meal provided by them was great - good kitchen at night. Even though the breakfast was buffet, they handed out the food!! I came in later one morning, and what was left was cold. Needs new managers!

Room Tip: Don't take your bags out of your car until you check your cabin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are deeply sorry that you didn't have a positive experiance while here for the business conference.

We would like to take this opportunity to apologise again for the terrible mix up with your cabins. As stated while you were here we were having real difficulty with our new houskeepers, which please know this is not an excuse, no matter what trouble we were having this should not affect our guests experiance with us. We are now having weekly meetings with the housekeepers and communite daily on all discrepancies, no matter how small, in an attempt to intill high quality standards into the houskepping function of the resort. We are committed to ensuring this very important function of our business continues to improve.

Our pond and creek is part of a classified nature reserve that we as resort managers are not to interfer with. The landcare group that manage the area ask us not to interfer with the reserve to ensure nature takes its course. Landcare also ask us not to remove the grass weed from the pond as it creates homes and nests for the varierty of birds, fish and reptiles who live in the resort and the reserve. With help from landcare we erradicate toads at the larve stage of the reproductive cycle, however we never get all the little critters.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed the evening meal. We are sorry that your breakfast experience was less than desired. Please be assured the manager is aware of his ill manners and is more than embarresed!

We hope you enjoyed your time in Bargara and thanks again for taking the time to provide feedback on your experiance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Stayed here for a weekend and found it accessible to everything, doable walk to cafe's etc in Bargara. When checking in they said the restaurant was the best in the area, they were right for a much bigger area than they were thinking, food was sensational and was infinitely higher quality than the decor suggest fit would be (restaurant was clean, petite, and didn't look flash, but OMG!) Price was very reasonable and was well resourced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YourSay, Manager at Kelly's Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
G'day Mick

Just wanted to say thanks for taking the time to review Kellys Beach Resort on Trip Advisor! Super glad you loved our food...we are quite proud of how satisfied everyone is when they dine with us!

Thanks again and hope to look after you again one day!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We have stayed here on a few occasions as a family of 6. The units are comfortable, plenty of room for beds (a loft is available for sleeping, plus a separate bedroom and fold out couch). The kitchen is small but has everything you need, and the resort itself is in a great location, close to everything. The grounds are lovel for the children to walk or ride around in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelly's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelly's Beach Resort

Address: 6-10 Trevors Rd | near Bundaberg, Bargara, Queensland 4670, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bargara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bargara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kelly's Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award Winning & Eco-Certified Resort in Bargara, Queensland with self-contained and standalone villas on 5.5 acres of gardens a block back from the beach, Kelly’s Beach Resort really is Naturally, the place to stay for families visiting the Bundaberg Region! A creek and natural forest protect the resort and its guests from the rest of the world offering a peaceful and relaxing experience. With shady path ways and large lawns areas the young and old will appreciate the spaciousness and privacy the resort offers. The 2 bedroom air-conditioned villas are spacious with sleeping for up to 5 and have the modern conveniences’ of cable television, DVD/CD player, ironing facilities, hair dryer, full kitchen and large living area plus their own private verandas and under cover parking. The resort facilities include a heated pool and beached children’s pool, spa, sauna, games room with pin ball machines, pool table, air hockey and a huge chalk board, tennis court, licensed restaurant, function and conference facilities, kiosk and tours desk. Kids will have a great holiday with services such as kids club, movies by moon light, star gazing & face painting during holiday periods; they have such a good time Mum & Dad might get a holiday too! Other services include an in-house masseuse, yoga classes, bike, snorkel and boogie board hire, wireless and broadband internet access, and transfers around Bundaberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kelly's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kellys Beach Hotel
Kelly's Beach Resort Bargara, Australia - Queensland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelly's Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.